The U.S. Olympic Committee has presented annual awards to the top overall male and female athletes from USOC member organizations since 1974. In 1996, a team category was added to recognize the outstanding achievements of team members who might not otherwise have been eligible for individual awards.

In 2015, the names of the awards were modified to recognize standout performances in non-Olympic and Paralympic Games years, honoring the Female Olympic Athlete, Male Olympic Athlete and Olympic Team of the Year. The Olympic Coach of the Year award was added to the program in 2017. 

Female Olympic Athlete of the Year
2015 Simone Biles, Artistic Gymnastics
2017 Katie Ledecky, Swimming
2019 Simone Biles, Artistic Gymnastics

Male Olympic Athlete of the Year
2015 Jordan Burroughs, Wrestling
2017 Kyle Snyder, Wrestling
2019 Nathan Chen, Figure Skating

Olympic Team of the Year, presented by Dow
2015 U.S. Women’s World Cup Team, Soccer
2017 U.S. Women's National Team, Ice Hockey
2019 U.S. Women's National Team, Soccer

Olympic Coach of the Year
2017 Bill Zadick, Wrestling
2019 KiSik Lee, Archery

USOC SportsMan of the Year
1974          Jim Bolding, Track and Field
1975          Clinton Jackson, Boxing 
1976          John Naber, Swimming 
1977          Eric Heiden, Long Track Speedskating   
1978         Bruce Davidson, Equestrian 
1979          Eric Heiden, Long Track Speedskating 
1980          Eric Heiden, Long Track Speedskating
1981          Scott Hamilton, Figure Skating   
1982          Greg Louganis, Diving   
1983          Rick McKinney, Archery   
1984          Edwin Moses, Track and Field  
1985          Willie Banks, Track and Field  
1986          Matt Biondi, Swimming   
1987          Greg Louganis, Diving   
1988          Matt Biondi, Swimming   
1989          Roger Kingdom, Track and Field 
1990          John Smith, Wrestling   
1991          Carl Lewis, Track and Field  
1992          Pablo Morales, Swimming   
1993          Michael Johnson, Track and Field 
1994          Dan Jansen, Long Track Speedskating
1995          Michael Johnson, Track and Field 
1996          Michael Johnson, Track and Field 
1997          Pete Sampras, Tennis   
1998          Jonny Moseley, Freestyle Skiing   
1999          Lance Armstrong, Cycling   
2000          Rulon Gardner, Wrestling   
2001          Lance Armstrong, Cycling   
2002          Lance Armstrong, Cycling   
2003          Lance Armstrong, Cycling   
2004          Michael Phelps, Swimming   
2005          Hunter Kemper, Triathlon   
2006          Joey Cheek, Long Track Speedskating  
2007          Tyson Gay, Track and Field 
2008          Michael Phelps, Swimming
2009          Todd Lodwick, Nordic Combined 
2010          Evan Lysacek, Figure Skating 
2011-12     Michael Phelps, Swimming
2012-13     Ted Ligety, Alpine Skiing

USOC SportsWoman of the Year
1974          Shirley Babashoff, Swimming
1975          Kathy Heddy, Swimming
1976          Sheila Young, Long Track Speedskating
1977          Linda Fratianne, Figure Skating
1978          Tracy Caulkins, Swimming
1979          Cynthia "Sippy" Woodhead, Swimming
1980          Beth Heiden, Long Track Speedskating
1981          Sheila Young Ochowicz, Cycling/Long Track Speedskating
1982          Melanie Smith, Equestrian
1983          Tamara McKinney, Alpine Skiing
1984          Tracy Caulkins, Swimming
1985          Mary Decker Slaney, Track and Field
1986          Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Track and Field
1987          Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Track and Field
1988          Florence Griffith Joyner, Track and Field
1989          Janet Evans, Swimming
1990          Lynn Jennings, Track and Field
1991          Kim Zmeskal, Artistic Gymnastics
1992          Bonnie Blair, Long Track Speedskating
1993          Gail Devers, Track and Field
1994          Bonnie Blair, Long Track Speedskating
1995          Picabo Street, Alpine Skiing
1996          Amy Van Dyken, Swimming
1997          Tara Lipinski, Figure Skating
1998          Picabo Street, Alpine Skiing
1999          Jenny Thompson, Swimming
2000          Marion Jones, Track and Field
2001          Jennifer Capriati, Tennis
2002          Sarah Hughes, Figure Skating
2003          Michelle Kwan, Figure Skating
2004          Carly Patterson, Artistic Gymnastics
2005          Katie Hoff, Swimming
2006          Hannah Teter, Snowboarding
2007          Katie Hoff, Swimming
2008          Natalie Coughlin, Swimming; Nastia Liukin, Artistic Gymnastics
2009          Lindsey Vonn, Alpine Skiing
2010          Lindsey Vonn, Alpine Skiing
2011-12     Allyson Felix, Track and Field
2012-13     Katie Ledecky, Swimming

USOC Olympic Team of the Year
1996          Women's National/Olympic Basketball Team   
1997          Women’s National Soccer Team 
1998          Women’s Olympic Ice Hockey Team 
1999          Women’s National Soccer Team 
2000          Baseball Olympic Team
2001          Postal Service Cycling Team 
2002          Women’s Bobsled Team 
2003          Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Team
2004          Olympic Softball Team
2005          Howard Bach and Tony Gunawan, Badminton
2006          Men’s Olympic Curling Team
2007          Women’s World Championships Artistic Gymnastics Team
2008          Men’s National Volleyball Team
2009          Steven Holcomb's Four-Man Bobsled Team
2010          USA I Four-Man Bobsled Team
2011-12     Women’s Eight Rowing Team
2012-13     Bob and Mike Bryan, Tennis
Female Olympic Athlete of the Year, presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods
Simone Biles, Gymnastics
Female Olympic Athlete of the Year, presented by DICK’S Sporting Goods
Simone Biles, Gymnastics