Olympic Coach of the Year

Established in 1996, the Olympic Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of their sport. Previously titled the National Coach of the Year award, this was added to the Team USA Awards program in 2017 and renamed the Olympic Coach of the Year award. In years in which the Olympic and Paralympic Games are contested, an Olympic coach is honored as part of the Team USA Awards presented by Dow, Best of Games. 

  • 1996 Tara VanDerveer, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Coach
  • 1997 Frank Carroll, Olympic Figure Skating Coach, Coach of Michelle Kwan
  • 1998 Ben Smith, U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Coach
  • 1999 Chris Carmichael, Cycling Coach, Coach of Lance Armstrong
  • 2000 Richard Quick, U.S. Olympic Women’s Swimming Coach
  • 2001-02   Pete del’Giudice, U.S. Snowboarding Coach
  • 2003        Lloyd Woodhouse, USA Shooting National Team Coach
  • 2004        Mike Candrea, USA Softball Women’s National Team Coach
  • 2005        Eddie Reese, USA Swimming Men’s National Team Coach
  • 2006        Bud Keene, U.S. Snowboarding Coach
  • 2007        Guy Baker, USA Water Polo National Team Coach
  • 2008        Hugh McCutcheon, USA Men’s Volleyball National Team Coach
  • 2009        Bob Bradley, U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team Coach
  • 2010        Brian Shimer, U.S. Men’s Bobsled Head Coach
  • 2011        Rick Bower, U.S. Snowboarding Halfpipe Coach
  • 2012       Adam Krikorian, U.S. Women’s National Water Polo Team Coach
  • 2013       Erik Flora, Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Club head coach
  • 2014       Skogen Sprang, U.S. Slopestyle Skiing Team head coach
  • 2015        Craig Parnham, U.S. Women’s National Field Hockey Team head coach
  • 2016        Geno Auriemma, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team head coach
                    Aimee Boorman, U.S. Olympic Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Team coach
  • 2017        Bill Zadick, U.S. Men’s Freestyle World Wrestling Team coach
  • 2018 Jason Cork, U.S. National Cross-Country Ski Team coach
  • 2019 KiSik Lee, U.S. Olympic Archery coach
  • 2020 Greg Massialas, USA Fencing
  • 2021 Karch Kiraly, USA Volleyball