National Coach of the Year

Established in 1996, the National Coach of the Year is presented to a coach of an elite-level club, collegiate or national-level team, or the coach of an elite athlete who competes at the highest level of his/her sport. In 2017, this award was added to the Team USA Awards program and renamed the Olympic Coach of the Year award. 

1996       Tara VanDerveer, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Coach
1997       Frank Carroll, Olympic Figure Skating Coach, Coach of Michelle Kwan
1998       Ben Smith, U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Coach
1999       Chris Carmichael, Cycling Coach, Coach of Lance Armstrong
2000       Richard Quick, U.S. Olympic Women’s Swimming Coach
2001-02  Pete del’Giudice, U.S. Snowboarding Coach
2003       Lloyd Woodhouse, USA Shooting National Team Coach
2004       Mike Candrea, USA Softball Women’s National Team Coach
2005       Eddie Reese, USA Swimming Men’s National Team Coach
2006       Bud Keene, U.S. Snowboarding Coach
2007       Guy Baker, USA Water Polo National Team Coach
2008       Hugh McCutcheon, USA Men’s Volleyball National Team Coach
2009       Bob Bradley, U.S. Men’s National Soccer Team Coach
2010       Brian Shimer, U.S. Men’s Bobsled Head Coach
2011       Rick Bower, U.S. Snowboarding Halfpipe Coach
2012       Adam Krikorian, U.S. Women’s National Water Polo Team Coach
2013       Erik Flora, Alaska Pacific University Nordic Ski Club head coach
2014       Skogen Sprang, U.S. Slopestyle Skiing Team head coach
2015       Craig Parnham, U.S. Women’s National Field Hockey Team head coach
2016       Geno Auriemma, U.S. Olympic Women’s Basketball Team head coach
               Aimee Boorman, U.S. Olympic Women’s Artistic Gymnastics Team coach
2017       Bill Zadick, U.S. Men’s Freestyle World Wrestling Team coach