Breske, Moore earn Triple Crowns after winning Cadet Nationals freestyle titles

By Craig Sesker USA Wrestling | July 25, 2014, 7:05 p.m. (ET)

USA Wrestling Triple Crown winners Beau Breske of Wisconsin (right) and Keegan Moore of Minnesota. John Sachs photo.

FARGO, N.D. – Two wrestlers from neighboring northern states earned back-to-back USA Wrestling Cadet Triple Crowns. 

Wisconsin’s Beau Breske (170 pounds) and Minnesota’s Keegan Moore (182) won coveted Triple Crowns after they captured Cadet Nationals freestyle championships on Friday afternoon at the Fargo Dome.

The powerful Breske downed explosive Kamal Bey of Illinois 9-6 in the finals in a rematch of the Cadet Nationals Greco finals. 

Breske bolted to a 6-0 lead in the match’s first 20 second with a takedown and two gut wrenches. Bey responded with a takedown and exposure to quickly get back into the match. Breske then added a late takedown to earn his third Cadet Nationals title of the year to complete the Triple Crown.

“I really haven’t had a battle like that in a long time,” said Breske, who won a Schoolboy Triple Crown in 2011. “It really means a lot when you have to work for something rather than have it handed to you. The Triple Crown means a lot to me.” 

Moore took charge early in earning a 7-0 win over Utah’s Wyatt Koelling in another rematch of the Cadet Nationals Greco finals. Moore used his superior strength en route to the historic victory.

Moore outscored his five Cadet Nationals freestyle opponents by a combined 52-0 in Fargo. 

“This gives me great confidence, knowing the best guys in the country can’t score on me,” Moore said. “Now I want to take the next step and make a World Team.”

Breske and Moore captured Cadet Nationals titles in Folkstyle and Greco-Roman earlier this year before adding their Cadet freestyle crowns on Friday in Fargo. 

Indiana’s Nick Lee earned a quick 11-0 technical fall over Jaime Hernandez of Illinois in the 132 finals. Lee was second at the FILA Cadet Nationals in freestyle in 2013 and 2014.

Lee was named Outstanding Wrestler of the Cadet Nationals freestyle tournament. 

Indiana’s Chad Red scored two-second period takedowns and then held off California’s Jaden Enriquez in the final seconds to prevail 4-3 in the 126-pound finals. Enriquez was bidding to win a Cadet Triple Crown after winning Cadet Nationals Folkstyle and Greco titles this year.

2014 Cadet Folkstyle Nationals champion Paul Konrath of Indiana topped 2014 Cadet Nationals Greco champion Ian Timmins of Nevada 8-2 in the 106 finals. 

Illinois repeated as Cadet Nationals freestyle team champions with 88 points. Pennsylvania was second with 58 points and Ohio third with 51 points.

2014 Cadet Nationals Greco-Roman champion Austin Gomez of Illinois powered past 2014 Cadet Folkstyle Nationals champion Ben Freeman of Michigan 11-0 in the 113 finals. Gomez, a 2013 Cadet World Team member, won by technical fall in the first period. 

Dylan Duncan of Illinois started strong en route to a 12-4 win over Yianni Diakomihallis of New York in the 120 finals. Duncan placed second at the 2013 Cadet Nationals in Greco.

California’s Nicolas Aguilar became a double Fargo champion after downing Ohio’s Dylan D’Emillo by a 13-0 technical fall in the 94-pound finals. Aguilar won a Cadet Nationals Greco title here on Monday. 

Arizona’s Roman Bravo-Young will fly back home with a pair of stop-sign shaped plaques after defeating Pennsylvania’s Max Murin 9-0 in the 100-pound finals. Bravo-Young won freestyle and Greco titles here in North Dakota.

Missouri’s Ethan Karsten also completed a Fargo double by cruising past Shayne Oster of Illinois 10-0 in the 138 finals. 

New Jersey’s Brandon Dallavia, who has spent time at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, defeated 2014 Cadet Nationals Greco champion Owen Webster of Minnesota 11-7 in the 160 finals.

2014 Cadet Nationals Greco champion Matt Stencel of Ohio added a Cadet Nationals freestyle crown by downing 2014 Cadet Folkstyle Nationals champion Kobe Woods of Indiana 13-4 in the 195 finals. 

2014 Cadet World Team member Jared Verkleeren of Pennsylvania won by a quick 10-0 technical fall over 2014 Cadet Nationals Greco champion Matthew Park of Idaho in the 145 finals.

Iowa’s Gannon Gremmel broke a 6-6 tie late in the match to edge Michigan’s Luke Ready 8-7 in the 220 finals. Gremmel won Cadet Folkstyle Nationals titles in 2013 and 2014. 

Oregon’s Osawaru Odighizuwa held off Hunter Mullins of Washington 3-2 in the heavyweight finals. Odighizuwa was second in Cadet Greco here in Fargo.

Colorado’s Malik Heinselman (88 pounds) came on strong in the second period, scoring the final 10 points in a 16-6 technical fall over Cadet Folkstyle Nationals champion Jason Holmes of Arizona. Heinselman won Schoolboy Nationals titles in freestyle and Greco last year. 

Washington’s Trey Meyer pulled out an exciting 9-7 victory over Missouri’s Johnny Blankenship in the 152 finals.

There were 979 entries in the Cadet Nationals freestyle tournament, an increase of more than 100 athletes from last year. There were 46 states represented in the Cadet freestyle field.

Cadet Nationals Freestyle
Fargo Dome, Fargo, N.D.

Finals matchups

88 pounds
Malik Heinselman (Colorado) won by tech. fall over Jason Holmes (Arizona), 16-6

94 pounds
Nicolas Aguilar (California) won by tech. fall over Dylan D’Emillo (Ohio), 13-0

100 pounds
Roman Bravo-Young (Arizona) dec. Max Murin (Pennsylvania), 9-0

106 pounds
Paul Konrath (Indiana) dec. Ian Timmins (Nevada), 8-2

113 pounds
Austin Gomez (Illinois) won by tech. fall over Ben Freeman (Michigan), 11-0

120 pounds
Dylan Duncan (Illinois) dec. Yianni Diakomihallis (New York), 12-4

126 pounds
Chad Red (Indiana) dec. Jaden Enriquez (California), 4-3

132 pounds
Nick Lee (Indiana) won by tech. fall over Jaime Hernandez (Illinois), 11-0

138 pounds
Ethan Karsten (Missouri) won by tech. fall over Shayne Oster (Illinois), 10-0

145 pounds
Jared Verkleeren (Pennsylvania) won by tech. fall over Matthew Park (Idaho), 10-0

152 pounds
Trey Meyer (Washington) dec. Johnny Blankenship (Missouri), 9-7

160 pounds
Brandon Dallavia (New Jersey) dec. Owen Webster (Minnesota), 11-7

170 pounds
Beau Breske (Wisconsin) dec. Kamal Bey (Illinois), 9-6

182 pounds
Keegan Moore (Minnesota) dec. Wyatt Koelling (Utah), 7-0

195 pounds
Matt Stencel (Ohio) dec. Kobe Woods (Indiana), 13-4

220 pounds
Gannon Gremmel (Iowa) dec. Luke Ready (Michigan), 8-7

285 pounds
Osawaru Odighizuwa (Oregon) dec. Hunter Mullins (Washington), 3-2