The Merton H. Kennedy - Elmer L. Johnson Heritage Award was established in 1997 to recognize individuals and organizations for their significant contribution to the planning, collection, storage, retrieving and management of volleyball archives.

1997 Dr. Harold T. Friermood
1998 Merton H. Kennedy
1999 Dr. Elmer J. Johnson
2000 Arthur "Bud" Fields
2001 Glen G. Davies
2002 Dr. James E. Coleman
2003 Volleyball Hall of Fame
2004 David Hirose
2005 Russell J. Sherman
2006 Gary J. Colberg
2010 Joseph Sharpless
2014 Cindy Slater, Dagmar Getz