Announcing the 2014 U.S. Junior and Under-23 Slalom Team

March 25, 2014, 6:54 p.m. (ET)


(Under 14 paddler Sage Donnelly at the US Open. Credit: Bradley Burgess)

USA Canoe/Kayak is proud to nominate the following athletes to the 2014 U.S. Junior and Under-23 Slalom World Championship Team:


Men’s K-1: Michal Smolen (Gastonia, N.C.), Simon Ranagan

Men’s C-1: Zach Lokken (Durango, Colo.), Tyler Hinton (Denver, Colo.), Smolen


Men’s K-1: Tyler Uthus (Darneston, Md.), Tyler Smith (Huntersville, N.C.), Jordan Sherman

Men’s C-1: Gabe Machado (Louisville, Colo.), Smith, Will Coggan (Boulder, Colo.)

Women’s K-1: Evelyn Van Horn (Bellefonte, Pa.), Teagan Johnson-Moore (Lyons, Colo.)

Men’s C-2: Will Coggan/Gabe Machado

The above athletes will compete at the ICF Canoe Slalom Jr. and U-23 World Championships in Penrith, Australia, April 23-27, 2014.

The selection of the 2014 Jr. and U-23 National Teams concluded this past weekend at the US Open and USA Canoe/Kayak Jr. and U-23 National Team Trials at the Nantahala Outdoor Center in Bryson City, N.C. A number of athletes had already qualified for the team based on performances in 2013.

LINKS: Results and Photos from the US Open/Jr Team Trials.

Many of the top Sr. American athletes competed in the U.S. Open in preparation for Sr. Team Trials, which begin later this week at the US National Whitewater Center in Charlotte. Winners turned in the best combined time when adding one’s best run from Saturday with one’s best run from Sunday.

Two-time Olympian Casey Eichfeld (Drums, Penn.) finished first among men’s singles canoe by turning in a two-run combined time of 197.03. Lokken, Tad Dennis (Peachtree City, Ga.), Hinton and Smolen rounded out the Top 5.

In women’s kayak, Dana Mann (Washington, D.C.) finished first with a combined time of 209.03, including the weekend’s top time of 99.74. Ashley Nee (Bethesda, Md.) and Anna Ifarraguerri (McLean, Va.) placed second and third.

In men’s kayak, Smolen finished first in his most comfortable boat of kayak with a combined time of 181.17. Beijing Olympian Rick Powell (Parkesburg, Penn.), Spencer Huff (Lyons, Colo.), and 2012 Olympian Eric Hurd (Woodstock, Ga.) rounded out the Top 4.

In women’s canoe, Micki Reeves (Grand Junction, Colo.) finished first with a combined time of 249.39, while Colleen Hickey (Okawville, Ill.) and Sage Donnelly placed second and third. Donnelly finished first among women’s junior kayaks, but is under 14 and not eligible for the 2014 Junior/U-23 World Championships.

Headquartered in Oklahoma City, USA Canoe/Kayak is a member of the U.S. Olympic Committee and the International Canoe Federation. It governs the Olympic disciplines of Flatwater Sprint, Whitewater Slalom, the Paralympic discipline of Paracanoe and sanctions Freestyle, Marathon, Outrigger, Wildwater, Stand Up Paddle Board, Kayak Polo, Dragon Boat and Canoe Sailing in the United States. For more information about USA Canoe/Kayak, please visit us on the web at, on Twitter at @usacanoekayak and Like us on Facebook at