USRowing announces Para-Rowing High Performance Committee

By Allison Fredrick | Feb. 21, 2013, 2:30 p.m. (ET)
PRINCETON, N.J. – Five individuals have been selected to serve a four-year term on USRowing’s Para-Rowing High Performance Committee, the organization announced on Thursday. The committee is made up of five members including two Paralympians.

The recently elected committee members include 1984 and 1988 Olympian Tom Darling, 2008 and 2012 Paralympian Ron Harvey, 2008 Paralympian Jesse Karmazin, Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation Executive Director Mike Knopp and FISA Para-Rowing Commissioner and Classifier Judy Morrison.

“The committee has been named and is moving forward in building the structure of para-rowing in the United States,” said USRowing High Performance Director Curtis Jordan. “We’re excited about the future of para-rowing and building a structure which will become an integral part of our national team carrying us into the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio.”

The primary task of the Para-Rowing High Performance Committee will be to develop plans and programs for the development, identification and selection of para-rowing athletes, formerly referred to as adaptive athletes, to represent the United States in international competition.