Jesse Lishchuk

Canoe/Kayak

jesse

Jesse Lishchuk

Age: 18
Event: K1/K2 1000m
Height: 6'1''
Hometown: Philadelphia, PA
Club: Keystone Kayaks
High School: Council Rock North
College/University: Bucks County Community College
Area of Study/Major: Pre-Med

2013 U.S. Marathon Team Member

Results:

  • 2013 Lake Placid International: 2nd in Jr. K1 1000m

At what age did you start paddling and how did you become involved in the sport? 

I started paddling at age of 8 in recreational kayaks with father and began competitive Olympic Kayaking at the age of thirteen.

Where and when was your first competition, and how did you do? 

My first race was the Philadelphia Regatta, a 12k course on the Schuylkill River as a first year bantam. I came in 6th racing against all senior/master paddlers and being the youngest on the water.

What has inspired you to train and compete at an International level? 

The strive to make something out of myself, sticking to something that I like and doing it well.

What is your preference - individual or team boats, and why? 

I prefer to paddle individual because that is how I have always trained. There is only myself that can stop me in a single, and that is the biggest challenge to overcome.

What race distance do you prefer, and why? 

I especially enjoy doing 5000m races. They are both high-paced, cruising speed races and technically challenging with wash riding and turns.

What has been your biggest accomplishment(s) in the sport? 

My biggest accomplishment was winning the USCA Barton Cup three years in a row as a first and second year Juvenile and first year Junior.

What is the best advice you have been given and who offered it to you? 

The best advice I have been given is by Holm Schmidt: to put quality above quantity, but at the same time keep it all in balance, not obsessing over something when it does not go right.

Tell us about your current training schedule? Describe an average day for you? 

In the summer I typically do two to three sessions a day with one day rest during the week. I try to spread the sessions out as much as possible by getting up early and resting in the day.

What do you do for fun and relaxation? 

For leisure, I enjoy fishing lakes and rivers for countless hours, in addition to relaxing at a pool or lake house.

What would you like to do after your Canoe/Kayak career is over? 

I do not plan to ever stop paddling. I feel that I am somehow connected to the water and cannot go away from it. Once my competitive career is over I still plan to go out on the water whether it be recreationally or racing locally.

What is your favorite thing about the sport of Canoe/Kayak? Do you have any special memory that you would like to share? 

Being out on a lake or river, alone in nature, gliding through the calm water and untouched by problems back on land is something that I cannot describe in words. Any time when the lake is completely flat, no wind, no others boats on the water, it is a special memory every time.

What is your goal for the 2013 season? 

For the 2013 season I only plan to get stronger, faster, and better in paddling. I think of this year as a stepping stone in which nothing can go wrong as long as I set myself up for the future Senior paddling years to come.

What is your dream goal? 

My dream is to have finished my paddling career without regrets. Knowing that I have aspired to accomplish what I wanted to do and done everything that I possibly could have done, and most importantly had a good time doing it.