UPDATE: Oklahoma State puts seven wrestlers into Southern Scuffle finals to retain big lead in team race

By USA Wrestling | Jan. 02, 2017, 2:20 p.m. (ET)
Kaid Brock of Oklahoma State controls Mitchell McKee of Minnesota in the 133-pound semifinals at the 2017 Southern Scuffle. Photo by Mark Lundy, LutteLens

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. – Oklahoma State, ranked as the nation’s No. 1 team in all the college rankings, placed seven wrestlers in the gold-medal finals of the Southern Scuffle at the Univ. of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Cowboys who advanced to the finals with victories in Monday’s semifinals include Kaid Brock (133), 2016 NCAA champion Dean Heil (141), Anthony Collica (149), Joe Smith (157), Chandler Rogers (165), Kyle Crutchmer (174) and Nolan Boyd (184). Oklahoma State had 10 semifinalists, one in each weight class.

Heading into the medal matches, Oklahoma State had 176 points, ahead of second place Lehigh with 116.5 points. Rounding out the top five were Missouri with 116 points, Minnesota with 111 and Northern Iowa with 83.5.

Also advancing to the championship finals are two-time NCAA champions Gabe Dean of Cornell (184) and J’den Cox of Missouri (197). Dean will battle No. 2 seed Nolan Boyd of Oklahoma State in the finals, while Cox has drawn No. 2 seed Brett Pfarr of Minnesota in his championship bout.

2016 Junior World champion Mark Hall of Penn State, a freshman who is taking a redshirt at Penn State and was not seeded in the tournament, continued his march through the 174 pound bracket with a pin of No. 5 seed Ryan Preisch of Lehigh in the semifinals. Hall will battle No. 2 seeded Crutchmer in the finals. Hall defeated the No. 1, No. 5 and No. 8 seeds so far during the Scuffle.

The evening session, which features the championship finals and the medal matches, begins at 7:00 p.m. Eastern time. Flowrestling is providing a live webcast and live brackets on FloArena.

Tonight, TheMat.com will get a special update from Roger Moore, who is reporting onsite from Chattanooga.

At Chattanooga, Tenn., January 2

Finals pairings (with seeds listed)

125 - No. 5 Jack Mueller (Virginia) vs. No. 7 Ethan Lizak (Minnesota)
133 - No. 1 Kaid Brock (Oklahoma State) vs. No. 2 Scott Parker (Lehigh)
141 - No. 1 Dean Heil (Oklahoma State) vs. No. 3 Joey Ward (North Carolina)
149 - No. 1 Lavion Mayes (Missouri) vs. No. 2 Anthony Collica (Oklahoma State)
157 - No. 1 Joe Smith (Oklahoma State) vs. No. 3 Jordan Kutler (Lehigh)
165 - No. 1 Daniel Lewis (Missouri) vs. No. 3 Chandler Rogers (Oklahoma State)
174 - No. 2 Kyle Crutchmer (Oklahoma State) vs. unseeded Mark Hall (Penn State)
184 - No. 1 Gabe Dean (Cornell) vs. No. 2 Nolan Boyd (Oklahoma State)
197 - No. 1 J'den Cox (Missouri) vs. No. 2 Brett Pfarr (Minnesota)
285 - No. 2 Michael Kroells (Minnesota) vs. No. 5 Jacob Kasper (Duke)

Other Medal Match pairings

3rd - Darian Cruz (Lehigh) vs. Sean Russell (Edinboro)
5th - Gabe Townsell (Stanford) vs. Nick Piccininni (Oklahoma State)
7th - Barlow McGhee (Missouri) vs. Nathan Kraisser (Campbell)

3rd - Josh Alber (Northern Iowa) vs. Kevin Devoy (Drexel)
5th - John Erneste (Missouri) vs. Mitchell Mckee (Minnesota)
7th – Korbin Myers (Edinboro) vs. Colby Smith (Appalachian State)

3rd - George Dicamillo (Virginia) vs. Joey Mckenna (Stanford)
5th - Jaydin Eierman (Missouri) vs. Tristan Moran (Oklahoma State)
7th - Zach Synon (Missouri) vs. Thomas Thorn (Minnesota)

3rd - Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa) vs. Patricio Lugo (Edinboro)
5th - Matt Cimato (Drexel) vs. Laike Gardner (Lehigh)
7th – Nick Montgomery (Cleveland State) vs. Matthew Zovistoski (Appalachian State)

3rd - Joey Lavallee (Missouri) vs. Andrew Atkinson (Virginia)
5th - Jake Short (Minnesota) vs. Taylor Simaz (Cornell)
7th - Mitch Finesilver (Duke) vs. Chase Delande (Edinboro)

3rd - Bryce Steiert (Northern Iowa) vs. Nick Wanzek (Minnesota)
5th - Cole Walter (Lehigh) vs. Keilan Torres (Northern Colorado)
7th - Chad Pyke (NC State) vs. Drew Longo (Lehigh)

3rd - Ethan Ramos (North Carolina) vs. Ryan Preisch (Lehigh)
5th - Casey Kent (Penn) vs. Connor Bass (Duke)
7th – Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa) vs. Jaeden Bernstein (Navy)

3rd - Dakota Geer (Edinboro) vs. Bryce Carr (Chattanooga)
5th - Drew Foster (Northern Iowa) vs. Hunter Gamble (Gardner Webb)
7th - Chip Ness (North Carolina) vs. Dylan Gabel (Northern Colorado)

3rd - Derek White (Oklahoma State) vs. Preston Weigel (Oklahoma State)
5th - Frank Mattiace (Penn) vs. Owen Scott (Cornell)
7th - Ben Honis (Cornell) vs. Ben Darmstadt (Finger Lakes Prep)

3rd - Austin Schafer (Oklahoma State) vs. Nathan Butler (Stanford)
5th - Jared Johnson (Chattanooga) vs. Mike Hughes (Hofstra)
7th - Billy Miller (Edinboro) vs. Denzel Dejournette (Appalachian State)

Team Standings heading into medal rounds
1 Oklahoma State 176
2 Lehigh 116.5
3 Missouri 116
4 Minnesota 111
5 Northern Iowa 83.5
6 Edinboro 71
7 Virginia 64
8 Cornell 59
9 North Carolina 56
10 Stanford 51.5
11 Chattanooga 45
12 Drexel 43.5
13 Duke 36.5
14 Appalachian St 35
15 Northern Colorado 29.5 -
16 Campbell 26
17 Gardner Webb 24.5
18 Penn 24
19 Navy 22
20 Utah Valley 21
(of 26 teams)

Semifinals results

No. 5 Jack Mueller (Virginia) pin unseeded Gabe Townsell (Stanford), 1:50
No. 7 Ethan Lizak (Minnesota) maj. dec. No. 6 Nick Piccininni (Oklahoma State), 15-5

No. 1 Kaid Brock (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 5 Mitchell McKee (Minnesota), 10-7
No. 2 Scott Parker (Lehigh) pin No. 6 Josh Alber (Northern Iowa), 6:22

No. 1 Dean Heil (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 5 George Dicamillo (Virginia), 3-1
No. 3 Joey Ward (North Carolina) dec. No. 2 Joey McKenna (Stanford), 7-1, sv

No. 1 Lavion Mayes (Missouri) dec. No. 5 Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa), 4-2
No. 2 Anthony Collica (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 3 Patricio Lugo (Edinboro), 6-1

No. 1 Joe Smith (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 5 Andrew Atkinson (Virginia), 5-4
No. 3 Jordan Kutler (Lehigh) dec. No. 2 Joey Lavallee (Missouri), 3-1

No. 1 Daniel Lewis (Missouri) dec. No. 5 Bryce Steiert (Northern Iowa), 7-2
No. 3 Chandler Rogers (Oklahoma State) pin unseeded Keilan Torres (Northern Colorado), 4:21

unseeded Mark Hall (Penn State) pin No. 5 Ryan Preisch (Lehigh), 6:29
No. 2 Kyle Crutchmer (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 3 Ethan Ramos (North Carolina), 12-8

No. 1 Gabe Dean (Cornell) pin No. 5 Hunter Gamble (Gardner Webb), 4:36
No. 2 Nolan Boyd (Oklahoma State) dec. No. 3 Drew Foster (Northern Iowa), 10-5

No. 1 J'den Cox (Missouri) maj. dec. No. 4 Frank Mattiace (Penn), 11-2
No. 2 Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) vs. No. 3 Preston Weigel (Oklahoma State), 7-2

No. 5 Jacob Kasper (Duke) dec. No. 1 Austin Schafer (Oklahoma State), 10-3
No. 2 Michael Kroells (Minnesota) dec. No. 3 Nathan Butler (Stanford), 6-2