Freestyle World Cup field features numerous World and Olympic medalists in Los Angeles, March 15-16

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | March 12, 2014, 11:23 p.m. (ET)
Two-time World champion Reza Yazdani of Iran, pictured, is one of the stars expected to compete in Los Angeles.

The Freestyle Wrestling World Cup, set for the Forum in Los Angeles, Calif., March 15-16, is a team dual meet tournament. However, it is also one of the most impressive displays of individual talent within the sport.

The field includes a pair of Olympic champions, Jordan Burroughs of the USA at 74 kg and Khadjimurat Gatsalov of Russia at 97 kg.

There are seven World champions in the field, including Gatsalov, who has won five World titles and Burroughs, who has won two World golds. Other two-time World champions include Ibrahim Altadov of Ukraine at 86 kg and Viktor Lebedev of Russia at 57 kg and Reza Yazdani of Iran at 97 kg.

One-time World champions in the expected field include Hassan Rahimi of Iran at 57 kg and Sayed Ahmad Mohammadi Pahnehkolaie of Iran at 61 kg

This loaded field also includes four more Olympic medalists, 10 more World medalists, eight Junior World champions and two University World champions. There are dozens of other medalists in the event on the continental and age-group levels.

FILA awards medals at the Freestyle World Cup, based upon the results in each weight class. Winning a World Cup medal is prestigious. However, at heart, this is a team dual meet event, and these individual stars are seeking to do their part in helping their nation win dual meets and take home the Freestyle World Cup trophy.

Of the teams entered in the 2014 Freestyle World Cup, the United States has won 13 team titles, with Russia winning six and Iran claiming four. The nation with the most World Cup titles is the former Soviet Union with 15 titles. The World Cup has been held annually since 1973, when it was founded in Toledo, Ohio.

Tickets remain available via Ticketmaster, through,, and The Forum Box Office. The phone number for Ticketmaster is 800-745-3000. All Ticketmaster purchases are subject to a convenience fee.

There will be two sessions of wrestling action each day of the Freestyle World Cup. On Saturday, March 15, there will be sessions held at 11:00 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. On Sunday, March 16, the first session is at 11:00 a.m., with the First Place and Third Place Championship Duals set for 5:00 p.m.

For more information on the Freestyle World Cup, visit

At Los Angeles, Calif., March 15-16


• Jordan Burroughs (USA/74 kg) - 2012 Olympic champion
• Khadjimurat Gatsalov (Russia/97 kg) - 2004 Olympic champion

• Vasyl Fedoryshyn (Ukraine/61 kg) - 2008 Olympic silver medalist
• Sayed Ahmad Mohammadi Pahnehkolaie (Iran/61 kg) - 2008 Olympic bronze medalist
• Ehsan Lashgari (Iran/86 kg) - 2012 Olympic bronze medalist
• Komeil Ghasemi (Iran/125 kg) - 2012 Olympic bronze medalist

• Khadjimurat Gatsalov (Russia/97 kg) - Five-time World champion (2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2013), 2010 World silver medalist
• Ibragim Aldatov (Ukraine/86 kg) - 2006 and 2013 World champion, 2007 and 2011 World silver medalist, Championships, 2009 World bronze medalist
• Jordan Burroughs (USA/74 kg) - 2011 and 2013 World champion
• Viktor Lebedev (Russia/57 kg) - 2010 and 2011 World champion, 2009 World bronze medalist
• Reza Yazdani (Iran/97 kg) - 2011 and 2013 World champion, 2006 and 2007 World bronze medalist
• Hassan Rahimi (Iran/57 kg) - 2013 World champion, 2011 World bronze medalist
• Sayed Ahmad Mohammadi Pahnehkolaie (Iran/61 kg) - 2006 World champion, 2005 and 2010 World bronze medalist

• Vasyl Fedoryshyn (Ukraine/61 kg) - 2010 World silver medalist, 2009 World bronze medalist
• Ezzatollah Akbari Zarinkolaei (Iran/74 kg) - 2013 World silver medalist
• Alen Zaseev (Ukraine/125 kg) - 2013 World silver medalist
• Amit Kumar (India/57 kg) - 2013 World silver medalist
• Tervel Dlagnev (USA/125 kg) - 2009 World bronze medalist
• Masoud Esmailpoor Jouybari (Iran/61 kg) - 2013 World bronze medalist
• Ehsan Lashgari (Iran/86 kg) - 2013 World bronze medalist
• Geno Petriashvili (Georgia/125 kg) - 2013 World bronze medalist
• Pavlo Oliinyk (Ukraine/97 kg) - 2013 World bronze medalist
• Ganzorig Mandakhnaran (Mongolia/65 kg) - 2013 World bronze medalist

• Khetik Tsabolov (Russia/70 kg) - 2011 Junior World champion
• Khadjimurat Gatsalov (Russia/97 kg) - 2001 Junior World champion
• Hassan Rahimi (Iran/57 kg) - 2009 Junior World champion
• Masoud Esmailpoor Jouybari (Iran/61 kg) - 2008 Junior World champion
• Geno Petriashvili (Georgia/125 kg) - 2013 Junior World champion
• Erdenebat Bekhbayar (Mongolia/57 kg) - 2012 Junior World champion
• Selahattin Kilicsallayan (Turkey/70 kg) - 2013 Junior World champion
• Hamed Talebi Zarinkamar (Iran/97 kg) - 2011 Junior World champion

• Tomotsugu Ishida (Japan/65 kg) - 2010 World University champion
• Tervel Dlagnev (USA/125 kg) – 2008 World University