Ten wrestlers win Kids Triple Crowns with freestyle golds at ASICS Kids Nationals in Utah

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | June 25, 2014, 6:23 p.m. (ET)
OREM, Utah - Ten talented wrestlers were awarded 2014 Kids Triple Crowns after winning the freestyle title at the ASICS Kids Nationals on Wednesday.

An athlete receives the Triple Crown by winning USA Wrestling national titles in folkstyle, Greco-Roman and freestyle during the same year

Only one Intermediate athlete won this year’s Triple Crown, Joshua Barr of Team Donahoe in Michigan at 75 pounds.

Three more Novice wrestlers are Triple Crown winners, Rocky Elam of Team Central Wrestling in Missouri at 100 pounds, Greyden Penner of Sudden Victory Wrestling in Missouri at 112 pounds and Sawyer Hobbs of EIWA Elite in Idaho at 120 pounds.

Six Schoolboy wrestlers completed the Triple Crown this year: Cullan Schriever of Sebolt Wrestling Academy in Iowa at 70 pounds, Colton Yapoujian of Mile High Wrestling Club in Colorado at 91 pounds, Theorius Robison of Sons of Thunder Academy in Colorado at 112 pounds. Brock Hardy of Team Utah at 136 pounds, Travis Wittlake of Team Bucs in Oregon at 152 pounds and Kaleb Reeves of Savage Wrestling in Iowa at 190 pounds.

Wittlake has now won four Triple Crowns, also winning as an Intermediate in 2010, a Novice in 2011 and a Schoolboy in 2013. Robison was a Triple Crown winner for the second time, along with his 2012 Triple Crown as a Novice.

In addition to the 10 Triple Crown winners, there were 15 other double champions, winners of both the Greco-Roman and freestyle titles in Orem.

Five Intermediate wrestlers were double champions: Brandon Morvari of Minnesota (50), Anton Chacon of Oregon (70), Paolo Salminen of Montana (95), Quentin Saunders of Kansas (103) and Navarro Schunke of Colorado (112).

Six Novice wrestlers earned double titles: Alejandro Herrera-Rondon of Pennsylvania (70), Robby Vaughn of Washington (75), Carson Manville of Virginia (80), Christopher Dugger of Oklahoma (130), Damarzhe Nelson of Oregon (140) and Spencer Tauteoli of Utah (140+)

Four Schoolboy wrestlers were double champions: Beau Ohlson of Colorado (77), Cole Matthews of Pennsylvania (128), Tyler Dow of Wisconsin (144) and Andy Garcia of Colorado (265).

There have been 152 Kids Triple Crowns awarded since the program was launched in 1997. Past winners have included U.S. Senior World Team members Brent Metcalf of Michigan, Angel Escobedo of Indiana, Jesse Thielke of Wisconsin and RaVaughn Perkins of Nebraska, plus NCAA champions Metcalf, Escobedo and Jon Reader of Michigan.

At Orem, Utah, June 25

Intermediate Freestyle Champions

50 - Brandon Morvari of Minnesota
55 - Kolby Warren of Missouri
60 - Clarence Moore of California
65 - Caden Horwath of Michigan
70 - Anton Chacon of Oregon
75 - Joshua Barr of Michigan
80 - Aden Attao of Idaho
87- Abel Nava of Washington
95 - Paolo Salminen of Montana
103 - Quentin Saunders of Kansas
112 - Navarro Schunke of Colorado

Novice Freestyle Champions
60 - Tristan Smith of Utah
65 - Carter Young of Oklahoma
70- Alejandro Herrera-Rondon of Pennsylvania
75- Robby Vaughn of Washington
80 - Carson Manville of Virginia
85- Luke Mechler of Wisconsin
90 - Dylan Kohn of Florida
95 - Tyler Scheurn of Utah
100 - Rocky Elam of Missouri
105- Riley Van Scoy of Washington
112 - Greyden Penner of Missouri
120 - Sawyer Hobbs of Idaho
130 - Christopher Dugger of Oklahoma
140 - Damarzhe Nelson of Oregon
140+ - Spencer Tauteoli of Utah

Schoolboy Freestyle champions
70- Cullan Schriever of Iowa
77 - Beau Ohlson of Colorado
84 - Ridge Lovett of Idaho
91 - Colton Yapoujian of Colorado
98 - Jaden Abas of California
105- Mason Phillips of Washington
112 - Theorius Robison of Colorado
120 - James Rogers of Washington
128 - Cole Matthews of Pennsylvania
136 - Brock Hardy of Utah
144 - Tyler Dow of Wisconsin
152 - Travis Wittlake of Oregon
160 - Gavin Hoffman of Pennsylvania
175- Jacob Lightner of California
190 - Kaleb Reeves of Iowa
265- Andy Garcia of Colorado

Note: A Bantam Festival is also held with the USA Wrestling ASICS Kids Nationals in Utah. These winners are not national champions, nor are they eligible for the Kids Triple Crown.

Bantam Festival Freestyle Champions
40- Karson Shelley of Utah*
45 - Jeremiah Wachsmuth of Oregon
50 - Kody Routledge of Oklahoma
55 - Hoyt Hvass of Washington
60 - Tucker Stangel of Iowa
65 - Matthew Martino of Idaho
70 - Hudson Rogers of Idaho*
75- J`Sean McIver of Oregon*
75+ - Joshua Meehl of North Dakota*
*- double champs, winners of both FS and GR at Festival