Archie Randall named 2013 USA Wrestling Women’s Coach of the Year

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | June 13, 2014, 9:59 a.m. (ET)
Photos of Archie Randall coaching by Rich Tortorelli/Oklahoma City University.

Archie Randall (Mustang, Okla./OKCU Gator Women’s RTC) has been named 2013 Women's Coach of the Year by USA Wrestling. It is the first time that Randall has won this award.

Randall served as coach for the 2013 U.S. Junior Pan American Coach, which won the team title with six medalists.

He is the coach of the OKCU Gator Women’s Regional Training Center, one of the most successful club programs on the Senior and age-group levels. At the 2013 U.S. Senior Open, the OKCU Gator Women’s RTC placed second in the Div. I teams standings, led by eight individual All-Americans. In addition, two athletes who have competed for Randall earned spots on the women’s national team.

Randall serves as the head wrestling coach at Oklahoma City University, overseeing both the men’s and women’s team. The men’s team competes at the NAIA level, while the women’s team is a member of the WCWA, the organization which oversees women’s college wrestling. The men’s team has been a top-20 program during Randall’s tenure with the program.

Under Randall’s leadership, the Oklahoma City women’s program has become a powerhouse in women’s college wrestling. OCU won four straight women’s college national team titles (2009-2012) and has placed second three times. Randall founded the OCU women’s program and has been a leader within the WCWA in helping build women’s college wrestling opportunities.

Randall has coached numerous USA Wrestling teams on international tours, travelling to Denmark, Germany, China, Bulgaria, Russian and other locations.

Randall serves as event director for two major women’s wrestling competitions, the University Women’s Nationals and the USA Wrestling Girls Folkstyle National Championships, which are held side-by-side on the OCU campus each March. Both competitions have grown during the years at OCU, and play an important role in the development of women’s wrestling at many levels.

Randall has been a long-time coach, with success on the college, high school and state association levels. He has over 400 career coaching wins, combining all levels.

He guided El Reno High School in Oklahoma to 11 consecutive team tournament championships and 10 dual state championships in a row. Randall went 232-16 in duals in 13 years at El Reno. He coached 44 wrestlers who went on to the college ranks. Randall has coached 54 state champions, 57 state tournament placers, 22 all-staters and a four-time state champion. Among those he coached in high school was Olympic Trials runner-up Tyrone Lewis.

Randall was seven-time Oklahoma Coaches Association coach of the year and three-time Oklahoman all-city coach of the year.

Randall has served as a coach for Oklahoma USA Wrestling’s age-group national teams for decades, coaching young athletes at the ASICS/Vaughan Junior and Cadet Nationals, as well as both the Junior and Cadet National Duals. His Oklahoma teams have won numerous team awards on the national level.

For 23 years, Randall served as the state chairperson for Oklahoma USA Wrestling. He has served on the USA Wrestling Board of Directors and on many committees, including a number of years as the Chair of the State Chairpersons Council. He played an important role in helping USA Wrestling expand its activities and grow as an organization.

In addition to the women’s events which he has served as event director, he has also run the National Junior Duals in Oklahoma for many years. Another event hosted in Oklahoma under his direction has been the World Team Trials.

Randall has received numerous other awards from USA Wrestling, including the 1996 State Chairperson of the Year, the 2002 Developmental Coach of the Year and the 2009 President’s Award.

2013 – Archie Randall, Mustang, Okla., OKCU Gator Women’s RTC
2012 – Vladislav “Izzy” Izboinikov, Colorado Springs, Colo., USA Wrestling
2011 – Kevin Black, River Falls, Wis., New York AC
2010 – Keith Wilson, Colorado Springs, Colo., Sunkist Kids
2009 – Kevin Black, River Falls, Wis., New York AC
2008 - Tadaaki Hatta, Elyria, Ohio, New York AC
2007 - Troy Steiner, Corvallis, Ore.
2006 - Joe Corso, Metairie, La. ,Gator WC
2005 - Bill Scherr, Glenview, Ill., Sunkist Kids
2004 - Tricia Saunders, Phoenix, Ariz., Sunkist Kids
2003 - Townsend Saunders, Phoenix, Ariz., Sunkist Kids
2002 - Joe Corso, Des Moines, Iowa, Sunkist Kids