UPDATED: Colorado defeats Illinois to win Schoolboy Duals in Greco

By Craig Sesker USA Wrestling | June 06, 2014, 5:32 p.m. (ET)
INDIANAPOLIS – Team Colorado is your champion at the 2014 USA Wrestling Schoolboy Duals in Greco-Roman wrestling.

Colorado defeated Illinois 36-31 to earn the championship on Friday.

The coaches for the Colorado squad are past Olympian T.C. Dantzler, past U.S. World Team member Keith Sieracki, Corey Hope and Christian Flavin.

"It was just like the movies - it came down to the last match, we were behind, we pulled it out and everybody went crazy," said Dantzler, an Illinois native. "The team not only wrestled hard, but we were more physical than the teams we wrestled. Coming from altitude, I think it made a difference. Our conditioning was superior. It was exciting and historic for Colorado to win this. The kids did a great job."

Minnesota downed Pennsylvania 33-30 in the third-place dual. Washington defeated Wisconsin 48-29 for fifth. Ohio defeated Kansas 41-34 in the seventh-place dual.

The Schoolboy Duals in freestyle are scheduled for Saturday and Sunday in Indianapolis.


70 lbs. – Wyatt Yapoujian (Colorado Red G) over Brody Norman (Illinois G) Dec 2-0
77 – Beau Ohlson (Colorado Red G) over Dylan Ragusin (Illinois G) Dec 7-7
84 – Drew Eller (Colorado Red G) over Justin Cardani (Illinois G) TF 11-1
91 – Travis Ford-Melton (Illinois G) over Colton Yapoujian (Colorado Red G) Dec 5-4
98 – Job Greenwood (Colorado Red G) over Nathan Cummings (Illinois G) TF 11-0
105 – Will Lewan (Illinois G) over Xander Rens (Colorado Red G) Dec 8-6
112 – Therious Robison (Colorado Red G) over Matt Ortiz (Illinois G), TF 13-0
120 – Michael Gunther (Illinois G) over Steve Mattorano (Colorado Red G) Fall 1:32
128 – Anthony Ulaszek (Colorado Red G) over Baylor Fernandez (Illinois G) Fall 1:24
136 – Sam Durfey (Illinois G) over Thomas Dantzler (Colorado Red G) Dec. 12-7
144 – Drew Hoselton (Illinois G) over Keegan Feenstra (Colorado Red G) Fall 1:22
152 – Xavier Herrera (Colorado Red G) over Danny Benoit (Illinois G) Dec 5-1
160 – Nate Jimenez (Illinois G) over Dom Robles (Colorado Red G) TF 12-1
175 - Tino Lopez (Colorado Red G) over Jayce Punke (Illinois G) Fall 2:53
190 - Sergio Villalobos (Illinois G) over Damon Gossett (Colorado Red G) Fall 0:56
210 - Taylor Fleetwood (Illinois G) over Garrett Jackson (Colorado Red G) Dec 9-0
265 - Andy Garcia (Colorado Red G) over Ronald Tucker (Illinois G) Fall 3:42