Dave Schultz Memorial International set for Jan. 30-Feb. 1 in Colorado Springs, Colo.

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | Jan. 27, 2014, 12:43 p.m. (ET)
Photos posted feature World silver medalist and 2013 Dave Schultz Memorial champion and Outstanding Wrestler Helen Maroulis of the United States by Tony Rotundo, Wrestlers Are Warriors.

Online registration for Dave Schultz Memorial

The 16th annual Dave Schultz Memorial International Wrestling Championships will be held at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. on Jan. 30-Feb. 1, 2014, featuring teams from around the world for all three Olympic wrestling styles: men’s freestyle, Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle.

Day one of the championship, Thursday, Jan. 30, is reserved for Greco-Roman matches; men’s freestyle wrestlers will compete on Friday, January 31 and Saturday, February 1 will feature women’s freestyle.

As many as 23 international teams are expected to compete including Argentina, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Great Britain, Honduras, India, Israel, Ivory Coast, Japan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Poland, Peru, Russia, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, United States and Uruguay.

Year after year, the Dave Schultz Memorial hosts outstanding athletes from around the world.

2013 Schultz Memorial champions from the United States included three past Olympic and World-team members, including 2012 World champion and three-time World medalist Elena Pirozhkova (Colorado Springs, Colo./Titan Mercury WC) and 2012 World silver medalist Helen Maroulis (Rockville, Md./Sunkist Kids) in the women’s freestyle division and 2013 World Team member Jordan Holm (Minneapolis, Minn./Minnesota Storm) in Greco-Roman.

The Outstanding Wrestlers from last year’s event included Maroulis in women’s freestyle, Devin Carter (Blacksburg, Va./Hokie Mat Club) in men’s freestyle and China’s Shihu Wang of China in Greco-Roman.

This year’s field is expected to be outstanding, with numerous World and Olympic Team members from a variety of nations scheduled to compete. Details on the participating athletes from all nations will be released later this week.

Traditionally, many great stars from around the world have won this event in the past, including Olympic champions Brandon Slay, Rulon Gardner and Jordan Burroughs from the United States along with Olympic champions from other nations including Armen Nazarian of Bulgaria, Filiberto Azcuy of Cuba, Mijian Lopez of Cuba, Carol Huyhn of Canada, Andrea Minguzzi of Italy and Khadjimurat Magomedov of Russia. Numerous World champions, as well as dozens of World and Olympic medalists have also won this competition.

To participate in this event, a FILA license is required per new regulations. Information on registration can be found at the Dave Schultz Memorial International event website at:

Online registration for the event is available at TrackWrestling at: http://www.trackwrestling.com/tw/registration/BasicPreReg1.jsp?tournamentGroupId=92215009

Entry fee for online registration costs $46 per athlete. The deadline to register online is Tuesday, January 28 at 5:00 p.m. MST. Athletes wishing to register on-site must pay $60. No refunds are given to athletes who fail to compete in the tournament.

Tickets are available at the gate. Prices include $20 Adult All-Session Pass; $15 per day for Adults; $10 per session for Adults; $5 per day for High School students (with ID); $5 per day for Seniors (62+); $4 per day for youth 5-14 years old. Coaches are free with five paid wrestlers.

At Colorado Springs, Colo., Jan. 30 – Feb. 1

Event Schedule

Thursday, January 30
Greco-Roman: 59 kg, 66 kg, 71 kg, 75 kg, 80 kg, 85 kg, 98 kg, 130 kg
Session I: 9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Session II: 4:00 p.m. – Conclusion

Friday, January 31
Men’s Freestyle: 57 kg, 61 kg, 65 kg, 70 kg, 74 kg, 86 kg, 97 kg, 125 kg
Session I: 9:00 a.m. – 2:15 p.m.
Session II: 4:00 p.m. – Conclusion

Saturday, February 1
Women’s Freestyle: 53 kg, 55 kg, 58 kg, 60 kg, 63 kg, 69 kg, 75 kg
Session I: 9:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Session II: 2:30 p.m. - Conclusion

2013 Dave Schultz Memorial International Champions

Men's freestyle champions

55 kg/121 lbs.- Mamoru Handa (Japan)
60 kg/132 lbs. - Devin Carter, Blacksburg, Va. (Hokie Mat Club)
66 kg/145.5 lbs.- Magomed Kurbanaliev (Russia)
74 kg/163 lbs. - Aliamaz Sanakoev (Russia)
84 kg/185 lbs. - Jon Reader, Ames, Iowa (Sunkist Kids)
96 kg/211.5 lbs. - Wynn Michalak, Champaign, Ill. (Titan Mercury WC)
120 kg/264.5 lbs. - Zachery Rey, Bethlehem, Pa. (Lehigh Valley AC)
Outstanding Wrestler - Devin Carter (Hokie Mat Club)

55 kg/121 lbs. - Awen Fan (China)
60 kg/132 lbs. - Almat Kebispayev (Kazakhatan)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Shihu Wang (China)
74 kg/163 lbs. - Doszhan Kartikov (Kazakhstan)
84 kg/185 lbs. - Jordan Holm, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
96 kg/211.5 lbs. - Vilius Laurinaitis (Lithuania)
120 kg/264.5 lbs. - Johan Euren (Sweden)
Outstanding Wrestler - Shihu Wang (China)

Women's freestyle
48 kg/105.5 lbs. - Sun Yanan (China)
51 kg/112.25 lbs. - Shasha Kong (China)
55 kg/121 lbs.- Helen Maroulis, Rockville, Md. (Sunkist Kids)
59 kg/130 lbs.- Hui Li (China)
63 kg/138.75 lbs.- Elena Pirozhkova, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Titan Mercury WC)
67 kg/147.5 lbs. - Feng Zhou (China)
72 kg/158.5 lbs. - Fengliu Zhang (China)
Outstanding Wrestler - Helen Maroulis, Rockville, Md. (Sunkist Kids)