For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.

USA Wrestling

U.S. lineups set for Jack Pinto Cup at Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo., Jan. 25

By USA Wrestling | Jan. 15, 2014, 4:25 p.m. (ET)

Photos of Spenser Mango and Jordan Holm of the USA at the 2013 World Championships by Tony Rotundo/Wrestlers Are Warriors. Mango and Holm will compete at the Jack Pinto Cup.

USA Wrestling has announced the tentative rosters for the four U.S. teams that will compete in the Jack Pinto Cup in Colorado Springs, Colorado on Saturday, January 25 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center.

The Jack Pinto Cup is an international Greco-Roman dual-meet event which features four U.S. teams and four teams from foreign nations.

The event was renamed last year in honor of six-year-old wrestler Jack Pinto, who was among the victims tragically killed in the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Conn. Jack was an enthusiastic young athlete who enjoyed wrestling, among many other sports. This event was previously named the Kiki Cup and the Kit Carson Cup.

Each U.S team will face China, Kazakhstan, India and a mixed International Team in a dual meet, but they will not face each other. The U.S. teams consist of many nationally ranked athletes and young stars with a bright future.

USA Team No. 1 features six past World or Olympic team members, led by Spenser Mango (Colorado Springs Colo. /Army WCAP) at 59 kg/130 lbs. Mango is a two-time Olympian who was fifth at the 2013 Worlds. Two other two-time World Team members, Joe Betterman (Colorado Springs, Colo. /Army WCAP) at 59 kg/130 lbs. and Andy Bisek, (Colorado Springs, Colo. /Minnesota Storm) at 75 kg/165 lbs. are on the team. 2013 World Team members Jordan Holm (Minneapolis, Minn. /Minnesota Storm) at 85 kg/187 lbs. and Robbie Smith (Colorado Springs, Colo. /NYAC) at 130 kg/286 lbs. are also on the roster.

Three current or past National Team members are featured on USA Team No. 2: Nate Engel (Colorado Springs, Colo./Army WCAP) at 59 kg/130 lbs.; Peter Hicks (Colorado Springs Colo. /Army WCAP) at 85 kg/187 lbs. and David Arendt (Camp Lejeune, N.C./U.S Marines) at 130 kg/286 lbs. Arendt was a 2013 U.S. Open champion
Team No. 3 includes current or past National Team members Max Nowry (Wheeling, Ill./USOEC/NYAC) at 59kg/130 lbs. and Jake Fisher (Minneapolis Minn. /Minnesota Storm) at 75 kg/165 lbs. Fisher was on the 2010 World Team, and Nowry is a past University World champion.
USA Team No. 4 is comprised of athletes from the U.S. Olympic Education Center at Northern Michigan, including 2011 Junior World bronze medalist Toby Erickson (East Helena, Montana/NYAC/USOEC at 130 kg/286 lbs. Also competing are past Junior World Team members Isaiah Varona (Miami, Fla. /USOEC) at 59 kg/130 lbs. and Parker Betts (St. Michael, Minn. /Minnesota Storm/USOEC) at 130 kg/286 lbs.

The international team rosters are being confirmed and will be announced shortly.

The Jack Pinto Cup will be held at Sports Center I at the U.S. Olympic Training Center, starting at 9:00 a.m. and running through 5:00 p.m. There will be eight rounds of dual meets, with a one-hour break for lunch.

Admission is free for the Jack Pinto Cup, and sports fans are encouraged to attend to see exciting Olympic-caliber wrestling.

At Colorado Springs, Colo., January 25

Tentative U.S. Team Rosters

USA Team, No. 1
59 kg/130 lbs. - Spenser Mango, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army WCAP)
59 kg/130 lbs. - Joe Betterman, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army WCAP)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Bryce Saddoris, Camp Lejeune, N.C. (U.S. Marines)
71 kg/156 lbs. - Kendrick Sanders, Homestead, Fla. (NYAC)
75 kg/165 lbs. - Andrew Bisek, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Minnesota Storm)
80 kg/187 lbs. – Corey Hope, Carol Stream, Ill (Mat Rats)
85 kg/187 lbs. - Jordan Holm, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
98 kg/215.5 lbs. - Marcus Finau, Ewa Beach, Haw. (NYCA USOEC)
130 kg/286 lbs. - Robbie Smith, Colorado Springs, Colo. (NYAC)

USA Team, No. 2
59 kg/130 lbs. - Nate Engel, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S Army)
59 kg/130 lbs. - Nikko Triggas, Moraga, Calif. (New York AC)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Jamel Johnson, Greensboro, N.C. (YES Wrestling)
71 kg/156 lbs. – Bo Beckman, Colorado Springs, Colo. (NYAC)
75 kg/165 lbs. - Geordan Speiller, Oviedo, Fla. (Florida Jets)
80 kg/176 lbs. - John Stefanowicz, Camp Lejeune, N.C. (U.S. Marines)
85 kg/187 lbs. - Peter Hicks, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army WCAP)
85 kg/187 lbs. - CJ Meyers, Camp Lejeune, N.C. (U.S. Marines)
98 kg/215.5 lbs. - Pete Gounaridis, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army WCAP)
130 kg/286 lbs. - David Arendt Jr., Camp Lejeune, N.C. (U.S Marines)

USA Team, No. 3
59 kg/130 lbs. - Max Nowry, Wheeling, Ill. (USOEC/NYAC)
59 kg/130 lbs. - Joey Denova, Fortson, Ga. (NYAC/USOEC)
66 kg/145.5lb. – Marco Lara, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Julian Gunnels, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
71 kg/156 lbs. - Devin Scott, Burnsville, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
71 kg/156 lbs. - Brian Graham, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
75 kg/165 lbs. - Jake Fisher, Minneapolis Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
80 kg/176 lbs. - Robby Neill, Camp Lejeune, N.C. (U.S. Marines)
85 kg/187 lbs. - Josef Rau, Chicago, Ill. (Minnesota Storm)
85 kg/187lbs. - Zac Nielson, Zimmerman, Minn. (Minnesota Storm/USOEC)
98 kg/215.5 lbs. - Patrick Carey, St Paul, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)
130 kg/286 lbs. - Erik Nye, Colorado Spring, Colo. (U.S. Army WCAP)

USA Team, No. 4
59 kg/130 lbs. - Isaiah Varona, Miami, Fla. (USOEC)
59 kg/130 lbs. - Dmitry Ryabchinsky, Brooklyn, N.Y. (NYAC USOEC)
59 kg/130 lbs. - Sammy Jones, Folsom, La. (USOEC)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Alex Sancho, Miami, Fla. (USOEC)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Chris Caldwell, Concord, Ca (USOEC)
71 kg/156 lbs. - Anthonie Linares, San Jose, Calif. (USOEC)
75 kg/165 lbs. – Curt Calovecchi, Marquette, Mich. (USOEC)
80 kg/176 lbs. – Caleb Smith, Patoka, Ind. (USOEC)
85 kg/187 lbs. - Khymba Johnson, Sacramento Calif. (NYAC)
98 kg/215.5 lbs. - Orry Elor, Walnut Creek, Calif. (USOEC)
130 kg/286 lbs. - Parker Betts, St Michael, Minn. (Minnesota Storm/USOEC
130 kg/286 lbs. - Toby Erickson, East Helena, Mont. (NYAC/USOEC)

Tentative Jack Pinto Cup Schedule

9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. - USA #3 vs. India and USA #4 vs. International Team
10:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. - USA #3 vs. International Team and USA #4 vs. India
11:00 a.m. to 12:00 Noon - USA #1 vs. China and USA #2 vs. Kazakhstan
12:00 Noon to 1:00 p.m. - USA #1 vs. Kazakhstan and USA #2 vs. China
1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. - BREAK
2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.- USA #3 vs. China and USA #4 vs. Kazakhstan
3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. - USA #3 vs. Kazakhstan and USA #4 vs. China
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. - USA #1 vs. International Team and USA #2 vs. India
5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. - USA #1 vs. India and USA #2 vs. International team