MAC teams pull upsets in first round of EAS Sports Nutrition/NWCA Div. I National Duals

By Jason Bryant NWCA | Feb. 16, 2014, 6:46 p.m. (ET)
Teams from the Mid-American Conference pulled two upsets in the first round EAS Sports Nutrition/NWCA Division I National Duals presented by Hibiclens and the United States Marine Corps in honor of Cliff Keen on Sunday at St. John Arena in Columbus, Ohio.

Kent State and Central Michigan upended opponents from the Big 12 and Big Ten to advance to Sunday night’s quarterfinals. Kent State (11-9) knocked off No. 17 Iowa State 19-16, while Central Michigan (9-8) upended No. 18 Illinois 19-13.

Mimmo Lyttle’s 3-2 win over Quean Smith at heavyweight gave Kent State the final victory, but performances by Tyler Small at 141 pounds and Caleb Marsh at 174 pounds were notable.

Small picked crucial bonus points with his second-period fall over Iowa State’s Gabe Moreno, while Marsh upended eighth-ranked Tanner Weatherman 8-7. What was even more impressive was Kent State was able to pull out the win without suspended 184-pounder Sam Wheeler.

Central Michigan picked up two crucial wins at 141 and 184 pounds to move the Chippewas into a quarterfinal with No. 11 Oklahoma. Centra Michigan’s Zach Horan beat Illinois’ Steven Rodrigues 7-5 in sudden victory at 141 pounds, while Craig Kelliher upended Nikko Reyes 4-3 at 184 pounds.

Mike Ottinger, the Chippewas’ ninth-ranked 174 pounds, rallied from an early deficit to defeat Illinois’ Tony Dallago 12-7 in a bout with seemingly endless scrambles. The biggest win came from 18th-ranked Luke Smith. He earned an 8-0 major decision over 13th-ranked Zach Brunson at 157 pounds.

“We’ve been pretty inconsistent this year,” said Central Michigan coach Tom Borrelli. “Sometimes dual meets are a little deceiving. It’s about matchups and not giving up bonus points. We wrestled better today.

“We just need to keep improving and keep building confidence, this might help,” said Borrelli.

Kent State advanced to face Ohio State. The Buckeyes (10-4) had little trouble with coach Tom Ryan’s old team, Hofstra. After a win by Nick Roberts over Jamie Franco at 125 pounds and a forfeit victory by Johnni DiJulius, two-time NCAA champion Logan Stieber, ranked second in the most recent NCAA coaches panel rankings, teched ninth-ranked Luke Vaith 16-1. Hofstra would claw to within 17-10 after wins by Jahlani Callender, Joe Booth and Frank Affonti. The Buckeyes would pull away after wins by Kenny Courts at 184 pounds and a fall by Nick Heflin at 197.

It will be the second time this season the Golden Flashes and Buckeyes have wrestled. Ohio State won a December 19 meeting 27-9 at Kent State.

“It’s funny, people don’t realize how good our conference is,” said Borrelli.

Top-ranked Minnesota and fourth-ranked Cornell drew first-round byes. Minnesota will face 20th-ranked North Dakota State (10-4) in the quarterfinals. North Dakota State scored a slight upset, beating No. 19 Chattanooga 28-10. North Dakota State head coach Roger Kish and assistant coach Manny Rivera are former Golden Gophers.

The Bison won seven out of 10 matches, highlighted by falls from 125-pounder Hunter Weber and 197-pounder Tyler Lehmann. Justin LaValle, a fifth-year senior transfer, upset No. 11 Nick Soto 6-4 in sudden victory at 133 pounds.

Oklahoma (10-3) built a big lead over unranked Bloomsburg and won 21-15 to advance to face Central Michigan. Sixth-ranked Richard Perry of Bloomsburg avenged his only loss of the season, pinning fifth-ranked Travis Rutt at 197 pounds.

No. 16 Virginia Tech (16-3) will advance to face unbeaten Cornell in a bottom bracket quarterfinal. The Hokies jumped out to a 15-0 lead after four weights and held on to win 18-16. Freshman Joey Dance earned a fall at 125 pounds, while 17th-ranked Zach Neibert upset No. 10 Scott Sakaguchi 10-6 at 149 pounds in a matchup of returning All-Americans. Oregon State’s Toney Chay used a riding time point to beat No. 23 Chris Moon 2-1 at 165 pounds.

Quarterfinals will begin at 7 p.m. Sunday at St. John Arena.


125 – Hunter Weber (North Dakota State) over Byron Smith (Chattanooga) Fall 2:58
133 – Justin LaValle (North Dakota State) over Nick Soto (Chattanooga) SV-1 6-4
141 – Mike Pongracz (Chattanooga) over Clayton Cathey (North Dakota State) Dec 4-3
149 – Tanner Carlisle (North Dakota State) over Shawn Greevy (Chattanooga) Dec 9-5
157 – Alex Hudson (Chattanooga) over Nicholas Olejnik (North Dakota State) Maj 12-2
165 – Steven Monk (North Dakota State) over Corey Mock (Chattanooga) Dec 4-0
174 – Hayden Zillmer (North Dakota State) over Levi Clemons (Chattanooga) Maj 11-3
184 – Kurtis Julson (North Dakota State) over John Lampe (Chattanooga) Dec 6-2
197 – Tyler Lehmann (North Dakota State) over Scottie Boykin (Chattanooga) Fall 1:16
285 – Dawson Peck (Chattanooga) over Evan Knutson (North Dakota State) Dec 8-2

125 – Nick Roberts (Ohio State) over Jamie Franco (Hofstra) Dec 5-2
133 – Johnni DiJulius (Ohio State) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
141 – Logan Stieber (Ohio State) over Luke Vaith (Hofstra) TF 16-1
149 – Ian Paddock (Ohio State) over Cody Ruggirello (Hofstra) SV-1 5-3
157 – Jahlani Callender (Hofstra) over Randall Languis (Ohio State) SV-1 7-5
165 – Joseph Booth (Hofstra) over Joe Grandominico (Ohio State) Dec 10-4
174 – Frank Affronti (Hofstra) over Jacob Bresciani (Ohio State) Maj 13-2
184 – Kenny Courts (Ohio State) over Victor Pozsonyi (Hofstra) Dec 10-3
197 – Nick Heflin (Ohio State) over Zeal McGrew (Hofstra) Fall 0:59
285 – Nick Tavanello (Ohio State) over Michael Hughes (Hofstra) Dec 3-1

125 – Earl Hall (Iowa State) over Alfredo Gray (Kent State) Dec 6-1
133 – Mackenzie McGuire (Kent State) over Shayden Terukina (Iowa State) Maj 9-0
141 – Tyler Small (Kent State) over Gabe Moreno (Iowa State) Fall 3:50
149 – Luke Goettl (Iowa State) over Kyle Bauer (Kent State) Dec 11-8
157 – Ian Miller (Kent State) over John Nicholson (Iowa State) Dec 10-4
165 – Michael Moreno (Iowa State) over Thaddeus Keklak (Kent State) Maj 17-5
174 – Caleb Marsh (Kent State) over Tanner Weatherman (Iowa State) Dec 8-7
184 – Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State) over Cory Campbell (Kent State) Dec 6-5
197 – Kyven Gadson (Iowa State) over Cole Baxter (Kent State) Dec 7-3
285 – Mimmo Lytle (Kent State) over Quean Smith (Iowa State) Dec 3-2

125 – Joey Dance (Virginia Tech) over Pat Rollins (Oregon State) Fall 5:38
133 – Dennis Gustafson (Virginia Tech) over Drew Van Anrooy (Oregon State) Dec 6-4
141 – Erik Spjut (Virginia Tech) over Joey Delgado (Oregon State) Dec 4-3
149 – Zach Neibert (Virginia Tech) over Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State) Dec 10-6
157 – Roger Pena (Oregon State) over Sal Mastriani (Virginia Tech) Dec 10-7
165 – Toney Chay (Oregon State) over Chris Moon (Virginia Tech) Dec 2-1
174 – Joe Latham (Oregon State) over John Dickson (Virginia Tech) Dec 7-4
184 – Nick Vetterlein (Virginia Tech) over Austin Morehead (Oregon State) Dec 9-8
197 – Taylor Meeks (Oregon State) over Chris Penny (Virginia Tech) Maj 15-1
285 – Amarveer Dhesi (Oregon State) over Ty Walz (Virginia Tech) Dec 6-3

125 – Jarrod Patterson (Oklahoma) over Sean Boylan (Bloomsburg) Dec 5-0
133 – Cody Brewer (Oklahoma) over Nick Wilcox (Bloomsburg) Dec 11-4
141 – Nick Lester (Oklahoma) over Elliot Zackoski (Bloomsburg) Maj 11-2
149 – Kendric Maple (Oklahoma) over Brian Nelson (Bloomsburg) Maj 17-3
157 – Justin DeAngelis (Oklahoma) over Kevin Hartnett (Bloomsburg) Dec 12-11
165 – Josh Veltre (Bloomsburg) over Clark Glass (Oklahoma) TB-1 5-2
174 – Mike Dessino (Bloomsburg) over Derek Geiges (Oklahoma) Dec 6-0
184 – Andrew Howe (Oklahoma) over Sam Shirey (Bloomsburg) Maj 20-7
197 – Richard Perry (Bloomsburg) over Travis Rutt (Oklahoma) Fall 4:17
285 – Justin Grant (Bloomsburg) over Ross Larson (Oklahoma) SV-1 4-2