Freestyle pre-seeds announced for Las Vegas/ASICS Senior Open

By Craig Sesker USA Wrestling | April 15, 2014, 11:07 p.m. (ET)

Olympic gold medalist Jake Varner is the No. 2 pre-seed at 97 kilos for the U.S. Open. USAW file photo.

LAS VEGAS – Tournament pre-seeds have been set in freestyle wrestling for the Las Vegas/ASICS Senior Open Championships. 

The event is scheduled for Friday and Saturday at the Las Vegas Convention Center.

Olympic gold medalists Jordan Burroughs and Jake Varner have registered for the event along with Olympic bronze medalist Coleman Scott. 

A number of stars just coming off college seasons also are in the field, including three-time NCAA champions Ed Ruth and Logan Stieber along with two-time Hodge Trophy winner David Taylor.

Burroughs and Taylor are seeded 1-2 at 74 kg/163 lbs. Burroughs beat Taylor in the 2013 U.S. Open finals.

The number of athletes seeded by the committee was based on the depth of the weight class. 

The seeds are subject to change, based on Thursday’s weigh-ins.


57 kg/125.5 lbs.

1. Angel Escobedo, Columbus, Ohio (New York AC/Ohio RTC)

2. Andrew Hochstrasser, Boise, Idaho (Titan Mercury WC)

3. Tyler Graff, Loveland, Colo. (New York AC)

4. Sam Hazewinkel, Norman, Okla. (Sunkist Kids)

5. Brandon Precin, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Cliff Keen WC)

6. Frank Perrelli, Itahca, N.Y. (New York AC)

7. Zach Sanders, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)

8. Brad Pataky, West Point, N.Y. (New York AC)

9. Kyle Hutter, Norfolk, Va. (Titan Mercury WC)

10. Steve Mytych, Coplay, Pa. (Lehigh Valley AC)

11. Dan Mitcheff, Kent, Ohio (NEORTC)

12. Mark McKnight, State College, Pa. (Nittany Lion WC)

13. Ryan Mango, Palo Alto, Calif. (Cardinal WC)

61 kg/134 lbs.

1. Jimmy Kennedy, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Cliff Keen WC)

2. B.J. Futrell, Ann Arbor, Mich. (Titan Mercury WC/Cliff Keen WC)

3. Coleman Scott, Stillwater, Okla. (Titan Mercury WC/Cowboy RTC)

4. Matt McDonough, Iowa City, Iowa (Hawkeye WC)

5. Joe Colon, Cedar Falls, Iowa (Panther WC)

65 kg/143 lbs.

1. Brent Metcalf, Iowa City, Iowa (New York AC/Titan Mercury WC)

2. Kellen Russell, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Cliff Keen WC)

3. Jordan Oliver, Stillwater, Okla. (Titan Mercury WC/Cowboy RTC)

4. Reece Humphrey, Columbus, Ohio (New York AC/Ohio RTC)

5. Frank Molinaro, New Brunswick, N.J. (Nittany Lion WC)

6. Logan Stieber, Monroeville, Ohio (New York AC/Ohio RTC)

7. Jason Chamberlain, Lincoln, Neb. (Titan Mercury WC/Nebraska RTC)

8. Chase Pami, Champaign, Ill. (Sunkist Kids/Illinois RTC)

9. Montell Marion, College Park, Md. (Titan Mercury WC)

70 kg/154 lbs.

1. Nick Marable, Columbia, Mo. (Sunkist Kids/Missouri RTC)

2. Moza Fay, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army)

3. Kevin LeValley, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm)

4. Jason Welch, Evanston, Ill. (Chicago RTC)

5. James Green, Willingboro, N.J. (Titan Mercury WC/Nebraska Wrestling Training Center)

6. Dan Vallimont, Long Beach, N.Y. (Blue & Gold WC)

7. Kyle Ruschell, Madison, Wis. (Badger WC)

8. Adam Hall, New York, N.Y. (Titan Mercury WC)

9. Hunter Stieber, Monroeville, Ohio (Ohio RTC)

10. Nate Carr Jr., College Park, Md. (Titan Mercury WC)

11. Vladyslav Dombrovskiy, Rocklin, Calif. (U.S. Army)

74 kg/163 lbs.

1. Jordan Burroughs, Lincoln, Neb. (Sunkist Kids/Nebraska Wrestling Training Center)

2. David Taylor, St. Paris, Ohio (Nittany Lion WC)

3. Tyler Caldwell, Stillwater, Okla. (Sunkist Kids)

4. Quinton Godley, Greenville, N.C. (Wolfpack WC)

5. Taylor Massa, St. Johns, Mich. (Cliff Keen WC)

86 kg/189 lbs.

1. Keith Gavin, Columbus, Ohio (Titan Mercury WC/Ohio RTC)

2. Clayton Foster, Laramie, Wyo. (Cowboy WC/GRIT Athletics)

3. Phil Keddy, Iowa City, Iowa (Titan Mercury WC/Hawkeye WC)

4. Jon Reader, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids/OTC)

5. Raymond Jordan, Atlanta, Ga. (Sunkist Kids)

6. Ed Ruth, Harrisburg, Pa. (Nittany Lion WC)

7. Robert Hamlin, Bethlehem, Pa. (Lehigh Valley AC)

8. Enock Francois, New Windsor, N.Y. (West Point WC)

9. Austin Trotman, Boone, N.C. (Titan Mercury WC)

10. Quentin Wright, State College, Pa. (Nittany Lion WC)

11. Tyrel Todd, Chandler, Ariz. (Sunkist Kids)

12. Bryce Hasseman, Cheektowaga, N.Y. (New York AC)

13. Matt Brown, West Valley City, Utah (Nittany Lion WC)

97 kg/213 lbs.

1. J.D. Bergman, Columbus, Ohio (New York AC/Titan Mercury WC/Ohio RTC)

2. Jake Varner, State College, Pa. (Nittany Lion WC)

3. Chris Pendleton, Laramie, Wyo. (Titan Mercury WC)

4. Jack Jensen, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army)

5. Wynn Michalak, Champaign, Ill. (Titan Mercury WC/Illinois RTC)

6. Deron Winn, Ames, Iowa (Cyclone WC)

7. Cam Simaz, Ithaca, N.Y. (Finger Lakes WC)

8. David Zabriskie, Bethlehem, Pa. (Lehigh Valley AC)

9. Evan Brown, Dubuque, Iowa (Cyclone WC)

10. Micah Burak, Iowa City, Iowa (Hawkeye WC)

11. Cayle Byers, Chugiak, Alaska (Titan Mercury WC)

12. Kyven Gadson, Waterloo, Iowa (Cyclone WC)

13. Ryan Flores, Norman, Okla. (Sooner WC)

125 kg/275 lbs.

1. Tervel Dlagnev, Columbus, Ohio (Sunkist Kids/Ohio RTC)

2. Tyrell Fortune, Portland, Ore. (Titan Mercury WC)

3. Dom Bradley, Columbia, Mo. (Sunkist Kids)

4. Zach Rey, Hopatcong, N.J. (Lehigh Valley AC)

5. Matt Meuleners, Lincoln, Neb. (Titan Mercury WC)

6. Kyle Massey, Ann Arbor, Mich. (New York AC/Cliff Keen WC)

7. Jarod Trice, Mount Pleasant, Mich. (New York AC)