Four U.S. wrestlers medal on day one of Henri Deglane Challenge

By Richard Immel USA Wrestling | Nov. 29, 2013, 5:05 p.m. (ET)
 Elena Pirozhkova picked up the gold medal
at the 2013 Henri Deglane Challenge.
Tony Rotundo Photo

NICE, France - Four U.S. athletes came away with medals in day one of competition at the Henri Deglane Challenge in Nice, France.

2012 World Champion Elena Pirozhkova picked up her second gold medal in as many weeks at 67 kg/147.5 lbs., winning by technical fall in all of her matches but one at the Henri Deglane Challenge including a technical fall victory over her opponent from Latvia in the finals.

Pirozhkova also earned the gold medal at the FILA Golden Grand Prix held in Baku, Azerbaijan last week.

Amy Fearnside earned a second medal for the U.S. women in Nice, picking up the silver medal at 51 kg/112.25 lbs.

Olympic Training Center men’s freestyle residents Brooks Climmons and Garrett Ryan started things off for the men, each earning a medal in their respective weight categories.

Climmons earned a bronze medal at 84 kg/185 lbs. boasting a 3-1 record on the day including a win by fall over Canada’s Riley Otto in the bronze medal bout.

Garrett Ryan finished with the bronze medal at 120 kg/264.5 lbs. losing to Iranian Ahmedreza Abedini Cham and Canadian Sunny Dhinsa in round robin format.

Competing tomorrow for the Americans are 2013 Junior World Champion Kyle Snyder and Army WCAP standout Jack Jensen both at 96 kg/211.5 lbs.

Competition day two at the Henri Deglane Challenge will begin tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. local time.

2013 Henri Deglane Challenge Results

November 29 in Nice, France

Men’s Freestyle Results

84 kg

Brooks Climmons-Bronze 

win v GEO Davit Khutsishvilli, 6-6, INJ DF

win v GEO Giorgi Tigishvili, 3-2

loss v LAT Armands Zvirbulis, 0-7, in the semi's

win v CAN Riley Otto, 5-1, Pin, in the bronze match

120 kg

Garrett Ryan-Bronze 

loss v IRI Ahmedreza Abedini Cham, 2-10

loss v CAN, Sunny Dhinsa, 0-7

Women’s Freestyle Results

51 kg

Amy Fearnside-Silver

67 kg

Elena Pirozhkova-Gold