USOEC wrestlers Jones, Elor win gold medals at Junior Malar Cup in Sweden

By Gary Abbott USA Wrestling | Nov. 05, 2013, 3:49 p.m. (ET)

Sammy Jones (left) and Orry Elor (right) won gold medals in Sweden. USOEC photos.

VASTERAS, Sweden – Two U.S. Greco-Roman wrestlers from the U.S. Olympic Education Center program at Northern Michigan University claimed gold medals at the Junior Malar Cup, Nov. 2-3.

Capturing titles were Sammy Jones (Folsum, La./USOEC) at 60 kg/132 lbs. and Orry Elor (Walnut Creek, Calif./USOEC) at 120 kg/264.5 lbs

Jones, a sophomore at Northern Michigan, won five straight matches on the way to the title, including a victory over runner-up Niklas Ohff of Sweden.

Elor, a freshman at Northern Michigan, won all three of his bouts, including a victory over runner-up Tuomas Lahti of Sweden.

Just missing a medal by placing fourth at 74 kg/163 lbs. was Anthonie Linares (San Jose, Calif./USOEC), who finished with a 4-3 record in a weight class with 26 entries.

Alex Noa (Lombard, Ill./USOEC), a sophomore, and his USOEC teammate, freshman Kyndall Rutz (Englewood, Colo./USOEC) were the only entries at 55 kg/121 lbs. Both entered the 60 kg/132 lbs. class to receive some competition, with Rutz placing eighth and Noah 10th.

“Sammy Jones and Orry Elor won the tournament but everyone else had a great showing. We even avenged some loses from the dual meet we had earlier in the week,” said USOEC head coach Rob Hermann.

At Vasteras, Sweden, Nov. 2-3

55kg/121 lbs.
Gold - Alec Noa (USOEC)
Silver - Kyndall Rutz (USOEC)

60 kg/132 lbs.
Gold – Sammy Jones (USOEC)
Silver – Niklas Ohff (Sweden-Team Bradenburg)
Bronze – Edwin Dominguez (Sweden-Arboga AK)

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
Gold – Simon Erlandsson (Sweden-BK Pan Arboga AK)
Silver – Artur Vardanyan (Sweden-Sparvagens BK)
Bronze – Jerry Pitkanen (Sweden-Team Nyland)

74 kg/163 lbs.
Gold – Eric Drews (Sweden-BK Loke)
Silver – Daniel Mollerop (Sweden-Uraedd BK)
Bronze – Daniel Soini (Sweden-Huddings BK)

84 kg/185 lbs.
Gold – Emil Sandahl (Sweden-HBK-Bergania)
Silver – Zakarias Berg (Sweden-Huddings BK)
Bronze – Bogdan Kourinnoi (Sweden-Huddings BK)

96 kg/211.5 lbs.
Gold – Anton Euren (Sweden-Goteborgs Stadslag)
Silver – Anton Tenmyr (Sweden-Goteborgs Stadslag)
Bronze – Antii Makinen (Sweden – Team Nyland)

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
Gold – Orry Elor (USOEC)
Silver – Tuomas Lahti (Team Nyland)
Bronze – Jusso Hyovinen (Team Nyland)

U.S. Greco-Roman performances

55 kg/121 lbs. – Alec Noa, Lombard, Ill., 1st

55 kg/121 lbs. – Kyndall Rutz, Englewood, Colo., 2nd

60 kg/132 lbs. – Sammy Jones, Folsum, La. 1st
WIN Daniel Terkidsen (Sweden)
WIN Robin Johnsson (Sweden)
WIN Edwin Dominquez (Sweden)
WIN Travis Rice (USA)
WIN Niklas Ohff (Sweden)

60 kg/132 lbs. – Travis Rice, Washington, Ill., 5th
LOSS Edwin Dominguez (Sweden)
WIN Daniel Terkildsen (Sweden)
WIN Abdul Aziz Hussein (Sweden)
LOSS Sammy Jones (USA)
WIN Mikael Gunther (Sweden)

60 kg/132 lbs. - Kyndall Rutz, Englewood, Colo., 8th
LOSS Niklas Ohff (Sweden)
LOSS Jesse Kauppinen (Sweden)

60 kg/132 lbs. - Alec Noa, Lombard, Ill., 10th
LOSS Jesse Kauppinen (Sweden)
LOSS Mikael Gunther (Sweden)

66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Deondre Sparks, Pasco, Wash., 5th
WIN Max Tommerdal (Sweden)
LOSS Jerry Pitkanen (Sweden)
LOSS Artur Vardanyan (Sweden)
WIN Austin Morrow (USA)

66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Austin Morrow, Wenatchee, Wash., 6th
LOSS Lucas Bast (Sweden)
WIN Phil Spencer (USA)
WIN Abdeloneim Affane (Sweden)
LOSS Simon Erlandsson (Sweden)
LOSS Deondre Sparks (USA)

66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Paul Rodriguez, San Jose, Calif., 9th
LOSS Jerry Pitanen (Sweden)
LOSS Alexander Bjerborn (Sweden)

66 kg/145.5 lbs. – Phil Spencer, McLean, Va.,dnp/11th
LOSS Simon Erlandsson (Sweden)
LOSS Austin Morrow (USA)

74 kg/163 lbs. – Anthonie Linares, San Jose, Calif., 4th
WIN Jim Gustavsson (Sweden)
WIN Andre Isberg (Sweden)
LOSS Jacob Brink (Sweden)
WIN Tobias Bekk (Sweden)
WIN Alex Bjurberg (Sweden)
LOSS Daniel Mollerop (Sweden)
LOSS Daniel Seini (Sweden)

74 kg/163 lbs. – Colin Schubert, Brussel, Wis., dnp/12th
LOSS Viktor Stenqvist (Sweden)
WIN Miro Sanonsaimi (Sweden)
LOSS Portus Bergstrom (Sweden)

84 kg/185 lbs. – Curt Calovecchi, Marquette, Mich., dnp/12th
LOSS Hannes Chronvall (Sweden)
LOSS Aber Amiri (Sweden)

120 kg/264.5 lbs. – Orry Elor, Walnut Creek, Calif., 1st
WIN Jusso Huovinen (Sweden)
WIN Tuomas Lahti (Sweden)
WIN Mattia Viiatanen (Sweden)