Young wrestlers shine on big stage at 2013 Preseason Nationals

By Richard Immel USA Wrestling | Nov. 03, 2013, 8:02 p.m. (ET)

Day two of the USA Wrestling/Cliff Keen Preseason Nationals featured some of the nations brightest young wrestlers competing for a national championship at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls, IA.

Age groups for day two are as follows: 1st-2nd grade, 3rd-4th grade, 5th-6th grade and 7th-8th grade.

The 7th-8th grade (Middle School) competition was highlighted by an overtime finals bout at 105 lbs. as Jared Frank of West Fargo defeated Caleb Brooks of Canal Winchester 1-0 on a rideout.

Frank was named the tournament’s outstanding wrestler for his efforts on the day.

In the 144-pound finals Travis Wittlake soared to what might have been the most impressive finals performance with a 15-0 technical fall over Brock Bushfield.

Also emerging with a bonus point finals victory was Peak Wrestling’s Trevor Jeffries, picking up an 8-0 major decision over Michael Crockett of Might Bluebirds.

Brayton Lee of Red Cobra won a hotly contested bout over Alexander Lloyd of PINnacle in the 120-pound finals 1-0. Lee scored the only point of the match courtesy of a Lloyd cut from the top position.

Additional Middle School Division Champions include Logan Ashton at 70 lbs., Jace Koelzer at 77 lbs., Kyle Biscoglia at 84 lbs., Dylan D`Emilio at 91 lbs., Josh Breeding at 98 lbs., Kenny O`Neil at 128 lbs., Cody Cochran at 136 lbs., Mason Parris at 152 lbs., Anthony Sherry at 160 lbs., Anthony Cassioppi at 190 lbs. and Spencer Trenary at 265 lbs.

For complete brackets and results from every division at the 2013 USAW/Cliff Keen Preseason Nationals please visit

2013 USA Wrestling/Cliff Keen Preseason Nationals Results

7th-8th Grade Finals

70: Logan Ashton (Compound Wrestling) won by decision over Matthew Ramos (Bolingbrook JR Raiders) (Dec 3-0)

77: Jace Koelzer (Team Kansas) won by decision over Brandon Kaylor (Team Aggression) (Dec 4-2)

84: Kyle Biscoglia (Waukee Warriors) won by decision over Benji Peak (Ringers) (Dec 7-0)

91: Dylan D`Emilio (Burnett Trained Wrestling Club) won by decision over Sean McKenna (Martinez Fox Valley Elite) (Dec 6-0)

98: Josh Breeding (Burnett Trained Wrestling Club) won by decision over Peyton Robb (PINnacle) (Dec 7-2)

105:  Jared Franek (West Fargo) won in tiebreaker - 1 over Caleb Brooks (Canal Winchester) (TB-1 1-0)

112: Trevor Jeffries (Peak Wrestling) won by major decision over Michael Crockett (Mighty Bluebirds) (Maj 8-0)

120: Brayton Lee (Red Cobra) won by decision over Alexander Lloyd (PINnacle) (Dec 1-0)

128: Kenny O`Neil (Prior Lake Wrestling Club) won by decision over Brian Case (Inflict) (Dec 1-0)

136: Cody Cochran (Minions) won by decision over Cole Smith (CELTIC ELITE) (Dec 7-0)

144:  Travis Wittlake (TEAM BUCS) won by tech fall over Brock Bushfield (Billings Heights Wrestling) (TF 15-0)

152: Caden Steffen (Brota Valley Wildcats) won by decision over Braiden Ruffin (Midwest Destroyers) (Dec 8-7)

160: Anthony Sherry (Meneely School of Wrestling) won in sudden victory - 1 over Nate Jimenez (Team Overtime) (SV-1 1-1)

190: Anthony Cassioppi (Hononegah Wrestiling Club) won by decision over Nic Jarvis (Minions) (Dec 1-0)

265: Spencer Trenary (Team Valley) won in sudden victory - 1 over Cooper Lawson (Webster City) (SV-1 8-6)