Illinois caps Junior Duals with freestyle crown

By Richard Immel USA Wrestling | June 29, 2013, 1:38 p.m. (ET)
PHOTO: Austin Bernard -

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- It was a different day but the result was the same at the Junior Duals in Oklahoma City, Okla. as Illinois doubled up on national championships defeating Michigan for the second time this week 38-24 to win the freestyle national title.

Michigan started off strong with big man Adam Coon and 100-pounder Ian Parker both securing technical falls, putting Michigan up early 8-0.

Illinois would then reel off four straight victories courtesy of Miguel Silva Jr., Michael Cullen, Tommy Pawelski and Jered Cortez to take over the lead 16-9 and they would not look back.

Zac Hall and Jacob Schmitt provided a little hope for Michigan as they won back-to-back bouts at 132 lbs. and 138 lbs. respectively bringing the score closer at 17-15.

The nations top-ranked wrestler at 145 lbs. Bryce Brill was up next, and he had his hands full with Logan Massa in a high scoring match in the teens before Massa was forced to injury default due to an ankle injury.

Brian Murphy, Xavier Montalvo, Davonte Mahomes and Ricky Robertson would seal the deal for Illinois as they won four of the last five contested bouts before forfeiting 220 lbs. to end the dual with a 38-24 victory.

Oklahoma capped an excellent tournament beating California 34-32 and earning a third place finish. Fifth place went to Iowa after they defeated Missouri 35-30. Minnesota picked up seventh place after a win over Washington 34-33.

To see the Junior Duals Freestyle All-Tournament Team, CLICK HERE

For complete results from the 2013 Junior Greco-Roman National Duals please visit


At Oklahoma City, Okla. June 26-29

Freestyle Results

Gold/Silver Pool Results (Places 1-8)
1st place match
Illinois defeated Michigan Blue 38-24
3rd place match
Oklahoma Red defeated California 34-32
5th place match
Iowa Blue defeated Missouri 35-30
7th place match
Minnesota Black defeated Washington 34-33

FIRST PLACE -- Illinois 38 Michigan 24
100: IAN PARKER (Michigan Blue) over Kirk Johansen (Illinois) TF 10-0
106: Miguel Silva Jr (Illinois) over Joe Garcia (Michigan Blue) TF 13-4
113: Michael Cullen (Illinois) over CAMDEN BERTUCCI (Michigan Blue) TF 10-0
120: Tommy Pawelski (Illinois) over CHRIS POLAND (Michigan Blue) TF 12-2
126: Jered Cortez (Illinois) over COLE WEAVER (Michigan Blue) TF 11-0
132: ZAC HALL (Michigan Blue) over Jordan Laster (Illinois) Dec 1-0
138: JACOB SCHMITT (Michigan Blue) over Nick Gil (Illinois) Dec 6-2
145: Bryce Brill (Illinois) over LOGAN MASSA (Michigan Blue) Inj 5:34
152: Brian Murphy (Illinois) over JORDAN AMINE (Michigan Blue) TF 10-0
160: Xavier Montalvo (Illinois) over LOGAN MARCICKI (Michigan Blue) TF 10-0
170: Davonte Mahomes (Illinois) over JORDAN COOKS (Michigan Blue) TF 11-1
182: ANDREW GARCIA (Michigan Blue) over Joey Ariola (Illinois) Dec 7-0
195: Ricky Robertson (Illinois) over TYLER WILDMO (Michigan Blue) TF 11-0
220: PAYNE HAYDEN (Michigan Blue) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
285: ADAM COON (Michigan Blue) over Michael Hobbs (Illinois) TF 11-0

THIRD PLACE -- Oklahoma 34 California 32
100: Josh Copeland (Oklahoma Red) over andrew nelm (California) Pin 2:01
106: joey cisneros (California) over Montorie Bridges (Oklahoma Red) TF 10-0
113: Christian Moody (Oklahoma Red) over sean nickell (California) TF 10-0
120: Eli Hale (Oklahoma Red) over gionn peralta (California) TF 10-0
126: Zahid Valenica (California) over Cub Yeager (Oklahoma Red) Dec 12-8
132: Luke Wolfenberger (Oklahoma Red) over mason pengilly (California) TF 12-1
138: Ali Naser (California) over Gary Harding (Oklahoma Red) Pin 2:48
145: Joe Smith (Oklahoma Red) over Michael Longo (California) Dec 13-10
152: Anthony Valenica (California) over Keilan Torres (Oklahoma Red) TF 19-8
160: Jacobe Smith (Oklahoma Red) over Andrew Simmons (California) TF 22-12
170: Zach Beard (Oklahoma Red) over Anthony Anderson (California) TF 12-0
182: Lance Dixon (Oklahoma Red) over Sohrab Movahedi (California) TF 10-0
195: Taryn Christiansen (California) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
220: Trevor Smith (California) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
285: Hildelv Manzur (California) over Nathan Jackson (Oklahoma Red) Dec 3-0

FIFTH PLACE -- Missouri 30 Iowa 35
100: Jack Wagner (Iowa Blue) over Jet Tyron (Missouri) TF 11-0
106: Tanner Rohweder (Iowa Blue) over Sydney Oliver (Missouri) Dec 6-2
113: Nolan Hellickson (Iowa Blue) over Matt Barmann (Missouri) TF 10-0
120: KeShawn Hayes (Missouri) over Kaz Onoo (Iowa Blue) TF 12-0
126: Leighton Gaul (Iowa Blue) over John Erneste (Missouri) TF 19-9
132: Fredy Stroker (Iowa Blue) over Noah Teaney (Missouri) Dec 7-4
138: Logan Ryan (Iowa Blue) over Rodney Clevenger (Missouri) Dec 9-4
145: Connor Flynn (Missouri) over Bryce Steiert (Iowa Blue) TF 10-0
152: Darick Lapaglia (Missouri) over Brady Jennings (Iowa Blue) TF 10-0
160: Tim Miklus (Iowa Blue) over Braxxtin Todd (Missouri) TF 11-0
170: Austin Repp (Missouri) over Andrew Bartel (Iowa Blue) TF 11-1
182: Michael Pixley (Missouri) over Dylan Blackford (Iowa Blue) TF 12-2
195: Marcus Harrington (Iowa Blue) over JJ Filipek (Missouri) TF 21-11
220: Jaden Cox (Missouri) over Bryce Fisher (Iowa Blue) TF 11-0
285: Jacob Scanlan (Iowa Blue) over Jacob Semple (Missouri) TF 12-1

SEVENTH PLACE -- Minnesota 34 Washington 33
100: Nick Pastika (Minnesota Black) over Zac Hanson (Washington) Pin 0:45
106: Paul Fitterer (Minnesota Black) over Trenton Skelton (Washington) Dec 6-3
113: Jesse Barajas (Washington) over Austin Anderly (Minnesota Black) Pin 3:33
120: Skyler Petry (Minnesota Black) over Gabriel Martinez (Washington) Pin 1:26
126: Gannon Volk (Minnesota Black) over Jesse Marek (Washington) Dec 6-4
132: Josh Newberg (Washington) over Reid Lyden (Minnesota Black) TF 11-1
138: Tyler Wicken (Washington) over Logan Kass (Minnesota Black) Dec 15-14
145: Mitch Bengtson (Minnesota Black) over Joseph Grable (Washington) TF 10-0
152: Jake Deutschlander (Minnesota Black) over Cody Kiourkas (Washington) Dec 12-7
160: Tyler McLean (Washington) over Zach Carlson (Minnesota Black) TF 25-13
170: Chandler Rogers (Washington) over Dayton Racer (Minnesota Black) TF 12-2
182: Ryan Christensen (Washington) over Daniel Marquette (Minnesota Black) TF 10-0
195: Will Balow (Minnesota Black) over Tanner Orndorff (Washington) TF 10-0
220: Matt Voss (Washington) over Nathan Preston (Minnesota Black) Pin 1:53
285: Jerrad Nieland (Minnesota Black) over Edwin Torres (Washington) Dec 8-3

Bronze/Copper Pool Results (Places 9-16)
9th Place Match
Kansas defeated Georgia 35-33
11th Place Match
Texas Blue defeated Nebraska 45-22
13th Place Match
Utah defeated Ohio Red 41-27
15th Place Match
Colorado defeated Pennsylvania 36-35

Red/Blue Pool Results (Places 17-24)
17th Place Match
New York defeated North Dakota Blue 35-34
19th Place Match
Florida defeated Michigan Red 47-16
21st Place Match
Tennessee defeated New Jersey 30-27
23rd Place Match
Iowa Red defeated Ohio Blue 50-18