Six win Kids Triple Crowns with freestyle titles at Kids Nationals in Utah

June 28, 2013, 5:06 p.m. (ET)
2013 USA Wrestling Kids Triple Crown winners, starting at back row from left: Abe Assad (IL, Novice 95), Jesse Vasquez (CA, Novice 85), Alfonso Martinez (AZ, Novice 90). Front row: Braedon Orrino (WA, Schoolboy 144), Cole Moody (UT, Schoolboy 105), Travis Wittlake (OR, Schoolboy 136). Ryan Johnson photo.

OREM, Utah - There six athletes who won the coveted USA Wrestling Kids Triple Crown in 2013, after scoring victories in freestyle at the 2013 Kids Freestyle and Greco-Roman Nationals on Tuesday. This award goes to any athlete who wins USA Wrestling folkstyle, Greco-Roman and freestyle the same year.

These athletes won the USA Wrestling Folkstyle Nationals in Cedar Falls, Iowa in April, the Greco-Roman Nationals on Tuesday and the Freestyle Nationals on Wednesday.

Three of the winners were on the Novice level - - Jesse Vasquez of California (85), Alfonso Martinez of Arizona (90) and Abe Assad of Illinois (95).

Three were on the Schoolboy level - Cole Moody of Utah (105), Travis Wittlake of Oregon (136) and Braedon Orrino of Washington (144).

For Wittlake, it was the third Kids Triple Crown of his career, to go along with Triple Crowns as an Intermediate in 2010 and a Novice in 2011. The other five winners won their first career Triple Crown.

Going into the day, 11 athletes had a chance for the Triple Crown after winning the Greco-Roman title on Tuesday, to go along with the folkstyle title in Iowa in April. All five reached the finals in freestyle, but lost the championship match, giving them second place in the freestyle event: Garrison Dendy (GA, 65 Intermediate), Jeremiah Hollen (AZ, 120 Novice), Santos Cantu (OR, 140+ Novice), Jace Koelzer (KS, 70 Schoolboy) and Brock Hardy (UT, 128 Schoolboy).

In total, there were 17 double champions this year, winners of both the Greco-Roman and freestyle in Orem only.

Included were Intermediate double champions Sefton Douglass of Wyoming (50), James Brown of Arizona (60), Rojas Manuel of Michigan (95), Camden Erickson of Alaska (120) and Earnest Gregory of Nevada (120++).

Novice double champions were Isaiah H. Gonzalez of Washington (70), Dominic Damon of Washington (100), Mario-Isaiah Padilla of Arizona (112), Erich Osteen of California (130) and Jacob Lightner of California (130)/

Schoolboy double champions were Malik Heinselman of Colorado (77), Theorius Robison of Colorado (98), Calvin Germinaro of Minnesota (112), Jake Allar of Minnesota (120), Jared Walker of Idaho (160), Brandon Closson of Utah (175) and Antonio Andrade of California (190)

At Orem, Utah, June 26

Intermediate Freestyle Champions

50- Sefton Douglass of Wyoming
55 - Aden Williams of Michigan
60 - James Brown of Arizona
65 - Alejandro Herrera-Rondon of Pennsylvania
70 - Brendon Abdon of Florida
75 - Diego Martinez of Idaho
80 - Alex Brown of Washington
87 - Parker Venz of Minnesota
95 - Rojas Manuel of Michigan
103 - Dalton Puckett of Oregon
120 - Camden Erickson of Alaska
120++ - Earnest Gregory of Nevada

Novice Freestyle Champions
60 - Maximo Renteria of California
65 - Kaden Kuenzi of Oregon
70 - Isaiah H. Gonzalez of Washington
75 - Carson Manville of Virginia
80 - Drew Eller of Colorado
85 - Jesse Vasquez of California
90 - Alfonso Martinez of Arizona
95 - Abe Assad of Illinois
100 - Dominic Damon of Washington
105 - Anthony Gould of Kansas
112 - Mario-Isaiah Padilla of Arizona
120 - Spencer Jones of Montana
130 - Erich Osteen of California
140 - Jacob Lightner of California
140+ - Victor Jaquez Jr. of California

Schoolboy Freestyle Champions
70 - Maxwell Crowe of Minnesota
77 - Malik Heinselman of Colorado
84 - Colton Yapoujian of Colorado
91 - Roman Bravo-Young of Arizona
98 - Theorius Robison of Colorado
105 - Cole Moody of Utah
112 - Calvin Germinaro of Minnesota
120 - Jake Allar of Minnesota
128 - Anthony Artalona of Florida
136 - Travis Wittlake of Oregon
144 - Braedon Orrino of Washington
152 - Drake McAdow of Nevada
160 - Jared Walker of Idaho
175 - Brandon Closson of Utah
190 - Antonio Andrade of California
210 - Parker Adair of Oregon

Bantam Festival Freestyle Champions
40- Antwan Jr Hernandez of Oklahoma
45- Agustin Gonzalez of Washington
50- Preston Smith of Washington
55- Sawyer Bartelt of Florida
60- Miguel Acuna of Nevada
65- Cayaen Smith of Utah
70- Landen Shurtleff of Utah
75- Billy Lewis of California
75+- Austin Miller of Oregon