U S to send talented teams to 27th University Summer Games in Kazan Russia July 10 16

By Bryan Baumgartner USA Wrestling | June 27, 2013, 7:31 p.m. (ET)
The United States will send a talented group of wrestlers to the 27th University Summer Games in Kazan, Russia July 10-16. This is a major multi-sport event featuring many sports which are part of the Olympic program

The men's freestyle and Greco-Roman teams were set during the ASICS University Nationals in Akron, Ohio in late May. The women's freestyle team was set during the Women's University Nationals in Oklahoma City in late March.

Men's freestyle starts the action on July 12-13, women's freestyle is contested July 13-14 and Greco-Roman competition is held on July 15-16.

Leading the men's freestyle team will be 2012 NCAA champion and Hodge Trophy winner David Taylor at 74 kg/163 lbs. and two-time NCAA champion Ed Ruth at 84 kg/185 lbs., both of Penn State University. Tyrell Fortune will represent the U.S. at 120 kg/264.5 lbs. and was a 2013 Division II NCAA Champion for Grand Canyon and Division II Wrestler of the Year. Fortune will also compete for the U.S. at 120 kg/264.5 lbs. on the Greco-Roman team.

Wisconsin's Tyler Graff will represent the U.S. at 60 kg/132 lbs. Graff placed third at the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials and placed third for Wisconsin at the 2013 Division I NCAA National Championships.

Leading the women's team will be two-time Junior World Champion and three-time WCWA Women's College National champion Victoria Anthony at 48 kg/105.5 lbs. Anthony placed second at the 2013 U.S. Open and the 2013 World Team Trials at 48 kg/105.5 lbs. losing in the finals of both events to past World Medalist Alyssa Lampe.

Alli Ragan, another 2013 WCWA Champion, will be looking for a strong showing in Kazan at 59 kg/130 lbs. after winning the 2013 U.S. Open and placing third at the 2013 World Team Trials. Veronica Carlson will represent the U.S. at 67 kg/147.5 lbs. at the University Games. Carlson won the 2013 U.S. Open and was a 2009 Junior World silver medalist.

The U.S. Greco-Roman squad will be led by 2012 Olympic Team Trials runner-up Max Nowry at 55 kg/121 lbs. Nowry was a champion at the 2013 Pan American Championships, second at the 2013 U.S. Open and a 2012 University World champion.

Geordan Speiller will look for a strong showing at the University Games after winning the 2013 Junior World Team Trials at 74 kg/163 lbs. Speiller placed eighth at the 2013 U.S. Open before dominating the field on his way to a first place finish at the 2013 ASICS University Nationals. He was seventh at the 2012 Junior World Championships.

Nikko Triggas will represent the U.S. at 60 kg/132 lbs. Triggas placed fourth at the 2012 Olympic Team Trials and at the 2013 U.S. Open before taking the title at the 2013 ASICS University Nationals.

Andy Hrovat and Bill Zadick will coach the men's freestyle team, while Sam Schmitz and Vladislav Izboinikov will coach the women's team. Jay Antonelli and Shawn Sheldon will coach the Greco-Roman squad. Ken Honig will serve as the Team Leader for the United States and Jay Terry will be the United States' represented official.

Wrestling debuted as an optional sport in the University Summer Games in 1973 in Moscow, and remains an optional sport on the University Summer Games program. The host country of the Games decides whether or not wrestling will be one of the sports on the program. The last time wrestling was on the program for the Games was in 2005 in Izmir, Turkey. The University Summer Games are different from the University Wrestling Championships in that the Games are a multi-sport event where as the University Championships are strictly a wrestling event.

The United States has had five World University Games champions, all in men's freestyle: Wade Schalles (74 kg, 1977), Bruce Baumgartner (HWT, 1981), Nate Gallick (60 kg, 2005), Jesse Jantzen (66 kg, 2005) and Tommy Rowlands (96 kg, 2005).

At Kazan, Russia, July 10-16

U.S. men's freestyle roster
55 kg/121 lbs. - Nico Megaludis, Murraysville, Pa., (Nittany Lion WC)
60 kg/132 lbs. -Tyler Graff, Loveland, Colo., (Badger WC)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - James Green, Willingboro, N.J., (NWTC)
74 kg/163 lbs. - David Taylor, St. Paris, Ohio, (Nittany Lion WC)
84 kg/185 lbs. - Ed Ruth, Harrisburg, Pa., (Nittany Lion WC)
96 kg/211.5 lbs. - Micah Burak, Colorado Springs, Colo., (Hawkeye WC)
120 kg/264.5 lbs. - Tyrell Fortune, Portland, Ore., (Grand Canyon WC)
Coaches - National Freestyle Developmental Coach Bill Zadick of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Andy Hrovat of Ann Arbor, Mich.

U.S. women's freestyle roster
48 kg/105.5 lbs. - Victoria Anthony, Huntington Beach, Calif. (New York AC)
51 kg/112.25 lbs. - Candace Workman, Colorado Springs, Colo., (OTC)
55 kg/121 lbs. - Sarah Hildebrandt, Granger, Ind., (King College)
59 kg/130 lbs. - Alli Ragan, Carbondale, Ill., (NYAC/King College)
63 kg/138.75 lbs. - Jennifer Page, Orangevale, Calif., (Titan Mercury WC)
67 kg/145.5 lbs. - Veronica Carlson, Colorado Springs, Colo., (NYAC)
72 kg/158.5 lbs. - Brittney Roberts, Santa Fe, Texas, (OKCU/Gator RTC)
Coaches - Sam Schmitz of Belleville, Ill., Vladislav Izboinikov of Colorado Springs, Colo.

U.S. Greco-Roman roster
55 kg/121 lbs. - Max Nowry, Wheeling, Ill. (NYAC/USOEC)
60 kg/132 lbs. - Nikko Triggas, Moraga, Calif., (NYAC)
66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Joe Locksmith (Navy Mat Club)
74 kg/163 lbs. - Geordan Speiller, Oviedo, Fla., (Florida Jets)
84 kg/185 lbs. - Dan Olsen, Algonquin, Ill., (Team Thunder)
96 kg/211.5 lbs. - Beau Wenger, Navarre, Ohio, (TRWC)
120 kg/264.5 lbs. - Tyrell Fortune, Portland, Ore., (Grand Canyon WC)
Coaches - Jay Antonelli of Quantico, Va.; Shawn Sheldon of West Palm Beach, Fla.

Team Leader - Ken Honig of Newport Beach, Calif.
Referee - Jay Terry of Chehalis, Wash.