Black and Flatt selected as 2013 President's Award Winners

July 09, 2013, 11:47 a.m. (ET)
Black (left) and Flatt (right) were recognized by USA Wrestling president Jim Ravannack for their exemplary work in their respective state organizations.

Colorado Springs, Colo. -- USA Wrestling has selected two of its volunteer leaders, Dave Black and Anthony Flatt, as recipients of the 2013 President's Award winners. As recipients of the award, which was created by USA Wrestling President Jim Ravannack in 2006 to recognize exemplary state chairpersons, both Black and Flatt will travel to the 2013 World Championships as part of the US delegation.

The World Championships, which will showcase the top wrestlers in the world, including reigning 2011 World Champion and 2012 Olympic Gold Medalist Jordan Burroughs. The event will take place from September 16-22 in Budapest, Hungary.

"As chairmen in Georgia and Wisconsin, both Anthony and Dave have done a great job providing opportunities for wrestlers and coaches" said Jim Ravannack. "Both states have experienced increased membership and success on the national level, so it was easy to select both of them for this award."

Dave Black, a native of River Falls, Wisconsin, is the chairperson of the Wisconsin Wrestling Federation. He also serves on the Junior Olympic Wrestling Committee and is an at-large member of the USA Wrestling Board of Directors. Black was also selected as the 2002 State Chairperson of the Year for USA Wrestling, and is a member of the George Martin Hall of Fame.

The Wisconsin Wrestling Federation, which is the third largest state in terms of membership in USA Wrestling, has a history of producing both World and Olympic team members. At the 2013 World Championships, the US will be represented by two Wisconsin natives, Jesse Thielke and Alyssa Lampe. Both Lampe and Thielke competed on Wisconsin teams at national competitions while coming up through the USA Wrestling ranks.

Black's involvement with wrestling has been a family affair for him and his wife, Mary, for over three decades. One of their sons, Kevin, USA Wrestling's 2011 Women's Wrestling Coach of the Year, will be coaching the US Women's World Team in Budapest.

"This is a great honor to be selected for the President's Award" Black said. I'm humbled by this, as it really is a reflection of the volunteers in the Wisconsin Wrestling Federation. Without their and my family's support, in particular my wife Mary, our organization wouldn't experience the same level of success we've been able to achieve. It's also great that two wrestlers, Jesse and Alyssa, who competed for the WWF as youth will be representing the US in Hungary."

Anthony Flatt of Lawrenceville, Georgia, is the chairperson of Team Georgia Wrestling, a position that he has held since 2007. Flatt is also the chairman of USA Wrestling's Folkstyle Committee, which was formed in 2011.

In 2010, Anthony was selected as the State Chairperson of the Year for USA Wrestling. During his tenure as chairman, Team Georgia's membership has grown by over 46%, and is now the 7th largest state in terms of membership in USA Wrestling. Under his lead, Team Georgia has utilized technology in all facets of their program, which has fueled growth in the state.

Flatt has also been instrumental in key USA Wrestling events held in Georgia. With the support of Flatt and Team Georgia, the Georgia Grind has become one of the premier folkstyle events in the southeast and the Southeast Regional has grown into the second-largest freestyle and Greco-Roman regional in the nation.

Along with Cheryl, his wife of 16 years, Flatt recognizes how wrestling has become a large part of life in his household. Most recently, their son Adam competed on Team Georgia at the Junior National Duals in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

"This is an awesome privilege and honor" said Flatt. "I am humbled by the opportunity to be part of the US delegation at the Worlds. What is most exciting for me is Georgia has young men and women now training and competing for USA Wrestling internationally. I can see a day not too long from now that we have a Georgia wrestler representing USA Wrestling and our country at the World Championships."

Previous President's Award Winners: 2006 - Jim Considine (Illinois), 2007 - Mike Juby (Kansas), 2008 - Duane Morgan (California), 2009 - Archie Randall (Oklahoma), 2010 - Mark Reiland (Iowa) and Ned Zollinger (Idaho), 2011 - Loren Vigil (New Mexico), 2012 - Louis Rosbottom (Indiana)