NCAA announces bid cities for future championships

By Craig Sesker USA Wrestling | Dec. 11, 2013, 1:44 p.m. (ET)

St. Louis, Cleveland, Cedar Rapids and New York City were among the big winners when the NCAA announced bids and sites for the Division I, II and III Wrestling Championships for 2015-18. 

St. Louis continued its recent run as the primary city to host this event by landing the 2015 and 2017 NCAA Division I Championships at the Scottrade Center.

It will mark the seventh and eighth time that St. Louis has hosted the event since it first hosted the NCAAs for wrestling in 2000. St. Louis also hosted this event in 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009 and 2012. 

New York City will host the NCAAs for the first time when the event comes to the newly remodeled Madison Square Garden in 2016. This will mark the first time the state of New York has hosted this event since 2002 and only the fourth time overall.

The tournament will return to Cleveland in 2018 with Quicken Loans Arena, home of the NBA’s Cleveland Cavaliers, serving as the venue. The NCAAs were previously held in Cleveland in 1998 at the Cleveland State University Convocation Center. Cleveland also landed the 2018 NCAA Division III Championships.

St. Louis also landed the 2015 NCAA Division II Championships, with the new program at Maryville University serving as the tournament host.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa will continue to host NCAA tournaments in Division III and Division II. The U.S. Cellular Center will play host to the Division III nationals in 2016 and the Division II nationals in 2018. 



2015 St. Louis (Scottrade Center)

2016 New York City (Madison Square Garden)

2017 St. Louis (Scottrade Center)

2018 Cleveland, Ohio (Quicken Loans Arena) 


2015 St. Louis

2016 Sioux Falls, S.D.

2017 Birmingham, Ala.

2018 Cedar Rapids, Iowa


2015 Hershey, Pa

2016 Cedar Rapids, Iowa

2017 La Crosse, Wis.

2018 Cleveland, Ohio