Six elected to positions on FILA Bureau wrestling s governing council

By USA Wrestling | Sept. 04, 2010, 3 p.m. (ET)
MOSCOW, Russia - FILA, the international wrestling federation, held elections for positions on the FILA Bureau, the governing council for international wrestling, during the FILA Congress held at the Crown Plaza Hotel on Saturday.

Three FILA Bureau members were re-elected to new terms on the Bureau: Michel Dusson of France, Matteo Pellicone of Italy and Ahmet Ayik of Turkey.

Three new FILA Bureau members were elected: Namig Aliyev of Azerbaijan, Theodoros Hamakos of Greece and Rodica Yaksi of Turkey.

Yaksi earned the position representing women's wrestling on the Bureau. Hamakos is a former FILA Bureau member.

Tricia Saunders of the United States was one of three candidates for the women's wrestling position but was not elected for the spot.

Stan Dziedzic of the United States serves on the FILA Bureau. His position was not up for election this year.