Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award winner Logan Stieber

By National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum | June 04, 2010, 9:52 a.m. (ET)
Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award
Logan Stieber, Monroeville, Ohio

Four-time Ohio champion Logan Stieber is the 2010 Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award winner. The Dave Schultz Award is given annually to the one wrestler in the nation who best embodies excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship and community service.

Stieber, the Ohio Wrestler of the Year for 2010, compiled a 184-1 record competing for Monroeville High School. In addition to his four state championships, he won four straight sectional and district titles and was named the Most Valuable wrestler on his team all four years. He is a two-time winner of the prestigious Ironman tournament and was its 2009 Outstanding Wrestler. He was chosen for the 2009 Asics All-America team.

In the international styles, he has also made his mark, winning multiple national championships in both freestyle and Greco-Roman at the cadet and junior levels. He also won the FILA Junior Freestyle National Championship and was third at the U.S. Open and fourth at the Senior World Team Trials as a junior in high school.

An outstanding student, Stieber has a 3.78 grade point average and is ranked 12th of 63 in his graduating class. He will graduate with an honors diploma this spring. He was chosen for the All-Ohio Academic Wrestling Team and received the Presidential Education Academic Award and the Wendy's Heisman Award.

He is an active member of the Spanish Club, FFA, Renaissance, and the Student Council. He served as senior class Vice President for the 2009-2010 academic year and is a long-time participant in 4-H. He will attend Ohio State University in the fall.