Zach Errett named 2010 USA Wrestling Official of the Year

By Gary Abbott | Aug. 30, 2010, 7:55 a.m. (ET)
Zach Errett of Plainfield, Ind. was named 2010 USA Wrestling Official of the Year. This award is presented annually to an outstanding official within USA Wrestling for achievements and service to the sport.

Errett is ranked as a USA M1 official, and has received the FILA Olympic category rating.

Zach has been officiating since he was in middle school, working tournaments in which he competed as an athlete. He received his first official's license in 1993.

Among the top international events he has worked are the European Championships, the Pan American Games, the Junior World Championships and the Freestyle World Cup. He has travelled to Venezuela, Brazil, Poland, Uzbekistan, Turkey and Azerbaijan as a referee.

"After receiving the Olympic category as an official, one of the requirements was to work the European Championships in Baku, Azerbaijan" said USWOA President Rick Tucci. "In his first European Championships, he performed admirably. He is well respected. I expect even better things from him in the future. He is one of our bright and rising stars."

He has worked the World Team Trials and Olympic Team Trials for the last nine years. Included were the 2004 Olympic Trials in Indianapolis, Ind. and the 2008 Olympic Trials in Las Vegas, Nev.

Errett has worked the U.S. Open for the last 12 years. He has officiated for many years at the Junior and Cadet Nationals in Fargo, N.D., only missing a few years when he had international assignments. He also worked the Espoir National Championships, in additional to numerous Regional and local competitions.

His father Dave Errett received the USA Wrestling Official of the Year in 1996.

Zach is a teacher at Mooresville High School, where has served as the head wrestling coach for nine years. He is also a football coach there. He competed in wrestling in high school and as a youth.

"I am honored to receive this award, and become the sixth Indiana official to have received it" said Errett. "There have been so many great officials to receive this award. To be acknowledged alongside them is humbling. It has been exciting for me during the last few years as I have had so many opportunities. I have so many people to thank, including my dad, Rick Tucci, Bill Stecklein, Tom Clark, Jack Bowman, Tony Melosci and so many others. They have all helped me to get to where I am at as an official."

Official of the Year Award
1971 - Vince Zuaro, New York
1972 - Wes Hogland, Oregon
1973 - Dennis Fankhouser
1974 - Pat Lovell, California
1975 - Pat Lovell, California
1976 - Sam Williams. New York
1977 - Mick Pickford, Iowa
1978 - Charlie White, Colorado
1979 - Jon Schaus, Illinois
1980 - Don Sondgeroth, Colorado
1981 - Steve Bernhardt, Virginia
1982 - Gordon Weeks, Michigan
1983 - Bernie Norris, Illinois
1984 - Leroy Evans, California
1985 - Carolyn White, Colorado
1986 - Tony Melosci, New York
1987 - Santos Cageao, Ohio
1988 - Bob Dellinger, Oklahoma
1989 - Chuck Almeida, Florida
1990 - Eric Kopsch, Michigan
1991 - Sue Siar, Pennsylvania
1992 - Rick Tucci, Florida
1993 - Bill Stecklein, Pennsylvania
1994 - Jack Bowman, Indiana
1995 - Bob Siar, Sr., Pennsylvania
1996 - David Errett, Indiana
1997 - Chris Curtis, New Jersey
1998 - Tom Clark, Indiana
1999 - Mort Geller, Florida
2000 - Mike Hess, Washington
2001 - Tom Siar, Pennsylvania
2002 - Jan Hesser, Indiana
2003 - Douglas Molin, Indiana
2004 - John Branch, California
2005 - John Heyman, Florida
2006 - Jerry Kuntz, Oklahoma
2007 - Bill Hinchley, Minnesota
2008 - Toby Tobiasson, Utah
2009 - Zach Errett, Indiana