Western Wrestling Conference Honors 2007 08 Award Winners

By Colin McDonough | March 27, 2008, 4:39 p.m. (ET)
CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - The Western Wrestling Conference has announced its award winners for the 2007-08 season. Air Force's Joel Sharratt was voted Coach of the Year, UNI's Nick Pickerell was named Freshman of the Year and UNI's Moza Fay earned Wrestler of Year honors. The awards were voted on by the league's head coaches.

Sharratt, who is in his second season as the Falcons' head wrestling coach, has been named the 2007-08 WWC Coach of the Year. He led Air Force to a second-place finish at the 2008 NCAA West Regional and qualified four wrestlers for the NCAA Championships. The Falcons posted a 9-9 overall dual mark to go along with a 3-2 record in WWC dual action.

The Panthers' Pickerell (Albia, Iowa) has been named WWC Freshman of the Year. Pickerell posted a 21-9 overall record and won 149-pound West Regional title to earn a spot into the NCAA Championships. Pickerell lost an 8-6 decision to No. 12-seeded Morgan Atkinson (Cal State Fullerton) in his first-round NCAA match after leading 5-1. He scored a pair of wins over national qualifier Ryan Adam (NDSU) this season. Pickerell went 3-2 in dual action. He also picked up first-place honors in the 149-pound weight class at the Jim Fox Open on Dec. 8 and the Flash Flanagan Open on Jan. 5.

UNI's Fay (Anamosa, Iowa) has been named WWC Wrestler of the Year. Fay, 25-8 overall and 6-0 vs. WWC opponents, became the conference's first All-American after placing fifth at 165 pounds at the 2008 NCAA Championships. At the NCAAs, Fay went 5-2 with wins over ranked foes No. 5 Stephen Dwyer (Nebraska), No. 9 Trevor Stewert (Central Michigan) and No. 10 Michael Cannon (American). Fay earned his second trip to the NCAA Championships after winning the 165-pound NCAA West Regional title on March 8. Earlier this season he won the 165-pound title at the Loras Open on Nov. 10 and placed second at the Kaufman-Brand Open on Nov. 17. Fay led the Panthers this year with 11 pins.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley State and Wyoming. The conference formed in April 2006.