Final results from the 2000 University GR Championships April 7

By Gary Abbott | April 07, 2000, 12 a.m. (ET)
Sonnen is the lone returning champion at the 2000 University Greco-Roman Championships at Evanston, Ill., April 7

Outstanding wrestler Chael Sonnen (Tualatin, Ore./Dave Schultz WC) is the lone returning champion at the 2000 University Greco-Roman Championships at Evanston, Ill., April 7.

Sonnen decisioned Mike Mathers (Canby, Ore./U.S. Army), 4-0, to claim the title at 187.25 pounds.

In a re-match of last year's finals, Joey Clark (Woodbridge, Va./U.S. Marine Corps) went against Cory Posey (East Lansing, Mich./NYAC) at 152 pounds. In the 1999 finals, Posey was victorious in a 6-4 decision. This year, Clark won the title in a 7-5 decision.

Other champions include: Davey Starks (Stoughton, Wis./Unattached) at 110 pounds, Camilo Gonzales (Mont Clair, Calif./USA Pounders) at 119 pounds, Kenny Cox (Eugene, Ore./Oregon WC) at 127.75 pounds, Scott Munsey (Triangle, Va./U.S. Marine Corps) at 138.75, Tom Ciezki (Evanston, Ill./Wildcat WC) at 167.5 pounds, Christopher Moen (Fargo, N.D./NDSU) at 213.75 pounds and Josh Etu (Charlottesville, Va./NYAC) at 286 pounds.

The event was held alongside the 2000 FILA Cadet Greco-Roman Nationals for men. For the third year, a women's freestyle division will be held.


Final results

at Evanston, Ill., April 7

50 kg/110 lbs. - 1st - Davey Starks, Stoughton, Wis. (Unattached) dec. Casey Kotter, Portland, Ore. (Portland State WC), 5-4; 3rd - Denny Arriaga, Chino, Calif. (USA Pounders) dec. Jon Lanning, Morris, Ill. (Fighting Illini WC), 13-12; 5th - Corey Taylor, Woodbridge, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps) won by forfeit

54 kg/119 lbs. - 1st - Camilo Gonzales, Mont Clair, Calif. (USA Pounders) pinned Anthony Wilkes, Colorado Springs, Colo. (U.S. Army), 4:42; 3rd - Chris Williams, East Lansing, Mich. (Michigan State WC) dec. Brian Revord, Quantico, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps), 5-0; 5th - Pascual Arriaga, Chino, Calif. (U.S. Marine Corps) won by forfeit over Kristian Stewart, Snowhill, N.C. (Backyard WC); 7th - Curtis Ray, Mesa, Ariz. (Unattached) pinned Oscar Gutierrez, Holloman, N.M. (U.S. Air Force), 3:35

58 kg/127.75 lbs. - 1st - Kenny Cox, Eugene, Ore. (Oregon WC) dec. Brian Watson, Eugene, Ore. (Oregon WC), 2-0, ot, 9:00; 3rd - Zach Allen, Morgantown, W. Va. (Unattached) pinned Kelly Madden, Champaign, Ill. (Fighting Illini WC), 0:47; 5th - Nathan Dau, Algona, Iowa (U.S. Marine Corps) dec. Don Fleitz, Fort Carson, Colo. (U.S. Army), 9-5; 7th - Jason Chao, Coos Bay, Ore. (Southwestern Oregon WC) dec. Nate Navarro, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush), 8-0

63 kg/138.75 lbs. - 1st - Scott Munsey, Triangle, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps) dec. Alex Popovich, Minneapolis, Minn. (Minnesota Storm), 3-2; 3rd - Casey Hunt, Eugene, Ore. (Oregon WC) dec. Mark Rial, Cedar Falls, Iowa (Cat WC), 15-10; 5th - Ben Cameron, Quantico, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps) pinned Shane Cunanan, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush), 1:25; 7th - Casey Horn, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush) pinned James Piereira, Portland, Ore. (Portland State WC), 2:46

69 kg/152 lbs. - 1st - Joey Clark, Woodbridge, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps) dec. Cory Posey, East Lansing, Mich. (NYAC), 7-5; 3rd - Zac Dominguez, Marquette, Mich. (OEC) won by tech. fall over Joe Paun, South Holland, Ill. (Illinois WC), 14-2; 5th - Glenn Pero, Tempe, Ariz. (Unattached) dec. Jess Hargrove, Quantico, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps), 5-4; 7th - Bruce Robinson, Fort Carson, Colo. (U.S. Army) dec. Thomas Juarez, Bakersfield, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC), 4-1

76 kg/167.5 lbs. - 1st - Tom Ciezki, Evanston, Ill. (Wildcat) dec. John Lorenz, Marquette, Mich. (OEC), 9-8; 3rd - Jake Clark, Woodbridge, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps) dec. Nathan Coy, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush), 8-3; 5th - Markese Nelson, Memphis, Tenn. (U.S. Army) won by dft. over Josh Hensen, Lincoln, Neb. (Unattached); 7th - Jason Nunn, Marquette, Mich. (OEC) dec. Ian Nelms, Bakersfield, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC), 5-3

85 kg/187.25 lbs. - 1st - Chael Sonnen, Tualatin, Ore. (Dave Schultz WC) dec. Mike Mathers, Canby, Ore. (U.S. Army), 4-0; 3rd - Deon Hicks, Triangle, Va. (U.S. Marine Corps) won by tech. fall over Dustin Swanson, Fargo, N.D. (Bison WC), 18-7; 5th - Jeremy Wilson, Portland, Ore. (Portland State WC) dec. William Halsey, Oceanside, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC), 11-3; 7th - Robert O'Dell, Bakersfield, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC) dec. Brent Blackwell, Lowpens, S.C. (U.S. Marine Corps), 13-11

97 kg/213.75 lbs. - 1st - Christopher Moen, Fargo, N.D. (NDSU) dec. Josh Hall, Fort Carson, Colo. (U.S. Army), 7-5; 3rd - Brian Kraemer, Cold Spring, Minn. (NDSU) won by tech. fall over Nicholas Curby, Champaign, Ill. (Fighting Illini WC), 18-8; 5th - Wes Anderson, Round Lake, Ill. (Unattached) dec. John Winters, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush), 11-3; 7th - Wesley Balensifer, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush) won by tech. fall over Chad Blomgren, Pittsburgh, Pa. (Ironman WC), 13-3

130 kg/286 lbs. - 1st - Josh Etu, Charlottesville, Va. (NYAC) pinned Andy Bowlby, Corvallis, Ore. (Orange Crush), 2:00; 3rd - J.R. Plienis, Lincoln, Neb. (Husker WC) pinned Paul Devlin, Fort Carson, Colo. (U.S. Army), 5:21; 5th - D.J. Radnovich, Fort Branch, Ind. (Lynx WC) won by forfeit over Isaiah Larson, Mankato, Minn. (Unattached); 7th - Russ Davie, Cleveland, Ohio (Cleveland State WC) dec. John Devine, Bakersfield, Calif. (Dave Schultz WC), 11-3

Outstanding Wrestler - Chael Sonnen, Tualatin, Ore. (Dave Schultz WC) at 187.25 pounds

Most Falls - Nicholas Curby, Champaign, Ill. (Fighting Illini WC) at 213.75 pounds

Team Standings - 1. U.S. Marine Corps - 69 pts.; 2. U.S. Army - 46 pts.; 3. Orange Crush - 37 pts.; 4. Bison - 25 pts.