Rock Aqua Jays Win D1 Show Nationals

Aug. 15, 2011, 11:35 a.m. (ET)
The Rock Aqua Jays Water Ski Show Team (Janesville, Wis.) won the national team title at the 37th Indmar Marine Engines Division 1 Show Ski National Championships, Aug. 12-14, on the Rock River at Traxler Park in Janesville, Wis. It was the Rock Aqua Jays' 16th national team title.

The Rock Aqua Jays tallied 2,021.16 points in sweeping the traditional box scores for Dock & Equipment Crew, Pick-Up Boat Driving, Towboat Driving and Sound Crew, and earning top-scoring awards for Pyramid, Swivel, Doubles, Showmanship, Overall Show and High Individual Club Act. It was the Rock Aqua Jays' first national team title since 2005.

The defending champion Wonder Lake Water Ski Show Team (Wonder Lake, Ill.) finished second with 1,961.32 points and the Mad City Ski Team (Madison, Wis.) placed third with 1,914.04 points. The Backwater Gamblers (Rock Island, Ill.), which scored 1,801.68 points, and Badgerland (Waukesha, Wis.), which tallied 1,723.50 points, rounded out the top-five placements.

The tournament featured 14 teams and more than 1,500 athletes competing for the coveted show ski national title. In competitive show skiing, each club has one hour to present a theatrical performance on water skis. Judges score acts by awarding points based on originality, presentation and execution. Elaborate costumes and staging intermix with music and fast action on the water as an announcer leads the audience through the show.

Jacklyn Kumlien (Janesville, Wis.) and Bob Panter (Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.) received the Willa Cook and Skip Gilkerson awards, respectively. The awards are given to the tournament’s top female and male performers, as voted on by the tournament officials.

In addition to the overall team competition, athletes competed individually in swivel, adagio doubles, freestyle jumping and team jumping. Breanne Pollard Czerniewski (St. Paul, Mo.) won swivel; Kim Logiudice (Milwaukee, Wis.) and Jon DeBelak (Grafton, Wis.) won double; the Rock Aqua Jays (Janesville Wis.) won team jumping; and Joe Sawaska (Oldsmar, Fla.) won freestyle jumping.

For complete team results, click here (PDF). Complete individual results will be posted here as soon as they become available.