Beach Teams Qualify for NORCECA Tour Slots

By BJ Evans | June 25, 2014, 10:50 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 25, 2014) - The U.S. beach volleyball teams of Kim DiCello and Tealle Hunkus and also Billy Allen and Trevor Crabb won their respective NORCECA qualification tournaments on Wednesday at the Annenberg Beach House in Santa Monica, Calif.

The victories give the U.S. teams the first choice of competing in the NORCECA Beach Tour events in Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic (July 30-Aug. 4), Veradero, Cuba (Aug. 20-25), St. Lucia (Sept. 10-15) and Puerto Rico (Sept. 17-22).

In the women’s final, Kim DiCello (San Diego, Calif.) and Tealle Hunkus (Girard, Ohio) defeated Sarah Day (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Briana Hinga (Santa Cruz, Calif.), 21-12, 21-15.

In the third-place match, Kelly Schumacher (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Aurora Davis (Groveland, Fla.) beat Heather Hughes (Fallbrook, Calif.) and Kelly Claes (Placentia, Calif.), 21-19, 21-18.

On the men’s side, Allen (Fallbrook, Calif.) and Crabb (Honolulu, Hawaii) defeated Derek Olson (Eugene, Ore.) and Kevin McColloch (Solano Beach, Calif.) in the final, 21-19, 21-19.

In the third-place match, Todd Rogers (Santa Barbara, Calif.) and Theo Brunner (Ridgefield, Conn.) forfeited the match automatically giving Brad Keenan (Westminster, Calif.) and John Mayer (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) the victory..

Women’s Results
First round:
Hughes/Claes def Carico/Hochevar, 14-21, 21-15, 15-12
DiCello/Hunkus def Bensend/Stockman, 21-16, 21-15
Day/Hinga def Mereszczak/Wallin, 21-17, 21-10
Schumacher/Davis def VanZwieten/Daley, 21-19, 18-21, 15-8

Second Round:
Day/Hinga def Hughes/Claes, 21-19, 20-22, 15-12
DiCello/Hunkus def Schumacher/Davis, 21-19, 21-18

Championship: DiCello/Hunkus def Day/Hinga, 21-12, 21-15
Third place: Schumacher/Davis def Hughes/Claes, 21-19, 21-18

Men’s Results
First round:
Keenan/Mayer def Drost/Tramblie, 21-17, 21-12
McColloch/Olson def Slick/Montgomery, 21-19, 21-18
Rogers/Brunner def Dykstra/Burik, 21-16, 25-27, 15-12
Allen/Crabb def Jennings/Casebeer, 17-21, 21-17, 15-13

Second Round:
Allen/Crabb def Keenan/Mayer, 21-14, 21-14
Olson/McColloch def Brunner/Rogers, 21-14, 14-21, 15-20

Championship: Allen/Crabb def Olson/McColloch, 21-19, 21-19
Third Place: Rogers/Brunner forfeit vs. Keenan/Mayer