Coast Stops WAVE to Win 18 Opens

By Jessica Hall | July 01, 2014, 7:07 p.m. (ET)

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (July 1, 2014) – Coast 18 Mizuno Ozhan out of San Diego, Calif., defeated WAVE 18 Brent, 15-25, 25-9, 15-10, on Tuesday to win the 18 Open division at the USA Volleyball Girls’ Junior National Championships at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

18 Open Final
  Coast players jump for joy after defeating WAVE.

Coast (Southern California Region) went undefeated throughout the tournament and went 20-5 in sets. Despite dropping the first set against Wave (Southern California Region), Coast bounced back with tough blocking and aggressive serving.

“They started out really strong and we got kind of worried we weren’t going to be able to bounce back,” Coast Captain Kendra Dahlk said. “But we did and it was a great match.”

Head coach Ozhan Bahrambeygui credited his team for controlling their emotions to get back into the match.

“Wave is really good out of the back row, probably the best we’ve seen, so we were trying to slow that down,” Bahrambeygui said. “We’ve played each other twice before but the girls all play together in high school so there weren’t a whole lot of surprises.”

Tying for third was Circle City 18 Purple out of Plainfield, Ind. and A5 Mizuno 18-1 out of Atlanta, Ga. Circle City fell to Coast in the semifinals, 30-28, 25-19. A5 Mizuno fell to Wave, 25-22, 25-20.

Other winners in the 18 age group on Tuesday were Bakersfield 18-Judy out of Bakersfield, Calif., in the USA division, CIS 18M out of Des Moines, Iowa, in the National division and Southwest Minnesota Juniors 18-1 out of St.Joseph, Minn., in the American division.

Play continues Wednesday with finals for the 17s age group division. The USAV Girls’ National Championships will conclude on July 3.

18 Open All Tournament
MVP: Kendra Dahlke (Coast 18 Mizuno Ozhan)
Brittany Abercrombie (Coast 18 Mizuno Ozhan)
Sidney Brown (Wave 18 Brent)
Reily Buechler (Wave 18 Brent)
Danielle Cuttino (Circle City 18 Purple)
Lily Johnson (Rockwood Thunder 18 Mizuno)
Susannah Muno (Mizuno Long Beach Rockstar 18-1)
Annika Olsen (A5 Mizuno 18-1)
Amanda Pederson-Henry (Coast 18 Mizuno Ozhan)
Savannah Rennie (Wave 18 Brent)j
Maggie Scott (Rockwood Thunder 18 Mizuno)
Azariah Stahl (Circle City 18 Purple)
Ronika Stone (Vision Gold 18-1)
Samantha Selinger Swenson (Mizuno Northern Lights 18-1)
Haley Templeton (A5 Mizuno 18-1)