Wisconsin Oshkosh Wins 2 of 9 NCVF Gold Medals

April 05, 2014, 10:58 a.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 5, 2014) – The 2014 NCVF Collegiate Club Volleyball Championships concluded Saturday night with nine teams claiming tournament titles in five men’s and four women’s divisions at the Reno-Sparks Convention Center in Reno, Nev.

Two teams from University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh earned men’s titles to highlight the day’s championship matches, while, Oregon State University, University of Illinois B and Messiah College also won division championships in men’s competition. On the women’s side, Marquette University, University of Minnesota A, Northern Arizona University and Cal Poly B picked up gold medals.

Wisconsin-Oshkosh won the men’s top division with a 25-10, 25-14 victory over UC Irvine in the Men’s Division I bracket. Wisconsin-Oshkosh battled past Illinois State A 25-14, 23-25, 15-13 to reach the title match. UC Irvine won a marathon 32-30, 24-26, 17-15 match against Cal Poly in the semifinals. Travis Hudson of Wisconsin-Oshkosh was named the division’s most valuable player.

Oregon State blanked Northern Arizona 25-21, 25-23 to claim the Men’s Division IAA gold medal. Oregon State, which did not lose a set in the gold-medal bracket, advanced to the title match by stopping Duke 25-15, 25-23. Northern Arizona swept Miami (Fla.) 25-20, 25-15 in the semifinals. Mik Berzins of Oregon State was tabbed the division’s most valuable player.

Illinois B won the Men’s Division IAAA title with a 25-18, 25-23 victory over Tennessee in the gold-medal match. Illinois B advanced to the championship match by defeating UC Riverside 25-21, 25-21 in the semifinals. Tennessee reached the title match by blanking Wisconsin 25-21, 25-21 in its semifinal match. Illinois B’s Matt Wilkins was selected as the division’s most valuable player.

Messiah captured the Men’s Division II title with a 25-23, 25-21 sweep of Wisconsin-Lacrosse in the gold-medal match. Messiah, which did not drop a single match in the gold-medal bracket, advanced to the title match with a 27-25, 25-18 win over Wisconsin-Stout in the semifinals. Wisconsin-Lacrosse earned its championship match ticket by sweeping Missouri State 25-19, 31-29. Messiah’s John Feldmann was chosen the division’s most valuable player award.

Wisconsin-Oshkosh held back Cal Poly B 25-17, 16-25, 15-13 to win the Men’s Division III title match. Wisconsin-Oshkosh rallied past Penn State B 24-26, 25-18, 15-13 in the semifinals to reach the championship match. Cal Poly edged Illinois State B 25-20, 19-25, 15-7 in its semifinal match to advance to the title contest. Wisconsin-Oshkosh’s Brandon Wagner was tabbed the division’s most valuable player.

In the top women’s bracket, Marquette A rallied past Ohio State A 15-25, 25-14, 16-14 to win the Women’s Division I gold medal. Marquette reached the title match by sweeping Grand Valley State A 25-22, 25-21 in the semifinals. Ohio State downed Florida A 25-15, 25-20 in its semifinal match. Jenny Ciriacks of Marquette A was named the division’s most valuable player.

Minnesota A edged Tennessee 25-22, 24-26, 15-8 in the Women’s Division IAA gold-medal match after having three match-points in the second set. Minnesota overcame a first-set loss in the semifinals to defeat Wisconsin Stevens Point 17-25, 25-17, 15-9 to reach the championship match. Tennessee battled to a 25-23, 14-25, 15-10 victory over Houston in its semifinal match. Minnesota’s Abby Manitz earned the division’s most valuable player award.

Northern Arizona edged Kansas State 25-23, 25-19 in the Women’s Division II gold-medal match. Northern Arizona reached the title match by rallying past Appalachian State 18-25, 25-18, 15-12 in the semifinals. Kansas State blanked Xavier 25-21, 25-17 in the semifinals to advance to the gold-medal match. Northern Arizona’s Courtney Atkinson was selected the division’s most valuable player.

Cal Poly B captured the Women’s Division III title with a 25-17, 25-19 victory over Marquette B in the championship match. Cal Poly needed to rally for a 27-29, 27-25, 15-11 victory over Michigan State B in the semifinals to reach the title contest. Marquette topped Arizona B in a marathon 25-13, 17-25, 19-17 semifinal match. Marquette’s Kelly Clarke was named the division’s most valuable player.

The NCVF acts as the national governing body for organized collegiate club volleyball competitions. For over two decades, NCVF volunteers have provided a full range of support for student club teams by promoting year-long affordable, organized and competitive volleyball events, and supporting a season-ending national championship tournament. It is made up of students, volleyball conference commissioners, player representatives, coaches, officials, trainers, recreation sports directors and many volunteers. The organization devotes 100 percent of its resources and funding toward the support of quality collegiate club volleyball activities.

The 2015 NCVF Collegiate Club Volleyball Championships will be held April 9-11 in Kansas City, Mo.

For additional information on the NCVF Collegiate Club Championships and the NCVF organization, visit ncvfvolleyball.org.

2014 NCVF College Club Volleyball Championships All-Tournament Teams
Men’s Division I: MVP-Travis Hudson (Wisconsin-Oshkosh), Mitch Baumgartner (Illinois State A), Tyler Range (Wisconsin-Oshkosh), Adrian Williams (Cal Poly), Matt Morinishi (UC Irvine), Nick England (UC Irvine), Josh Avery (Cal Poly), Dylan Shigekawa (UC Irvine)
Men’s Division IAA: MVP-Mik Berzins (Oregon State), James Lenhan (Duke), Georges Cuissart de Grelle (Duke), Pedro Schneider (Univ. of Miami), Ian Parson (Oregon State), Chase McKinzie (Texas), Tyler Sayne (Northern Arizona), Ryan Adams (Northern Arizona)
Men’s Division IAAA: MVP-Matt Wilkins (Illinois-B), Matt Conway (Tennessee), Chris Ojermark (Illinois B), Mike Ficaro (Illinois B), Jon Fuqua (Wisconsin), Chris Morris (UC Riverside), Lawrence Tran (UC Riverside), Clay Chow (UC Riverside)
Men’s Division II: MVP-John Feldmann (Messiah), Justin Beachy (Messiah), Ben Bovenzi (Messiah), Caleb Miller (Messiah), Dan Landwehr (Missouri State), John Jablonowski (Wisconsin-Lacrosse), Riley Stone (Wisconsin-Lacrosse), Matt Schmidt (UMBC)
Men’s Division III: MVP-Brandon Wagner (Wisconsin-Oshkosh), Ryan Bergsma (Arizona B), Dan Linde (Illinois State B), Drew Eastman (Wisconsin-Oshkosh B), Sam Moua (Wisconsin-Oshkosh B), Cameron Rexwinkel (Cal Poly), Krasts Krasts (Cal Poly), Ib Almoaiqel (Penn State B)
Women’s Division I: MVP-Jenny Ciriacks (Marquette A), Katelyn Versen (Ohio State A), Jen Kowalski (Ohio State A), Kim Meyers (Santa Clara), Carol Henney (Marquette A), Caroline Redmond (Florida A), Alyssa Dunne (UC Davis), Nicole Hahn (Grand Valley State)
Women’s Division IAA: MVP-Abby Manitz (Minnesota A), Kayla Schuh (Wisconsin-Stevens Point), Bri Adams (Minnesota), Jenna Conkin (Tennessee), Emily Van Grinsven (Tennessee), Jess Grill (Minnesota A), Annie Goerdt (Minnesota A), Cynthia Lewis (Houston)
Women’s Division II: MVP-Courtney Atkinson (Northern Arizona), Megan Edwards (North Carolina State), Allie Hutcheson (Iowa State B), Chelsea Johns (Northern Arizona), Krista Bennett (Northern Arizona), Kayla Murphy (Appalachian State), Molly Huggard (Kansas State), Jordan Shearer (Kansas State)
Women’s Division III: MVP-Kelly Clarke (Marquette B), Marisa Ejups (Michigan State B), Sara Romberg (Michigan B), Susanna Lluria (Arizona B), Rachel Allen (Marquette B), Megan Gasper (Wisconsin), Holly Parminter (Cal Poly).