Iowa Ice Freezes Team Florida Wave in Women's PVL Final

May 28, 2013, 7:04 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman, USA Volleyball Senior Manager of Communications, Phone: 719-228-6800, Email:
USAV Facebook * @USA_Volleyball


LOUISVILLE, Ky. (May 28, 2013) – Team Iowa Ice captured the 2nd Annual Women’s Premier Volleyball League (PVL) title following a 25-18, 25-21, 25-17 victory over Team Florida Wave on Tuesday evening at the Kentucky Expo Center in Louisville, Ky.

Team Iowa Ice had reached the championship match in the inaugural event in 2012, but lost to Hoosier Exterminators. The PVL is a grassroots professional volleyball league using USA Volleyball’s 40 Regional Volleyball Associations as the foundation for the 15-team league.

Team Iowa Ice opened the first set with a 13-9 advantage and rolled to a 25-18 victory. Team Florida Wave built an early 11-7 margin in the second set, only to have Team Iowa Ice rattle off eight of the next nine points to establish a 15-12 lead en route to a 25-21 victory. In the third set, Team Iowa Ice maintained a slim lead through 17-14, then powered to a 25-17 win to cap the match.

Team Iowa Ice was in danger of not qualifying for the gold bracket semifinals just one day earlier. It had upset defending champion Hoosier Exterminators in four sets, but fell to Great Plains Tornados in four sets. With Hoosier Exterminators coming back to defeat Great Plains, Pool 1 of the second round finished in a three-way tie. However, Team Iowa Ice won the tiebreaker with a slim 1.09 to 1.04 margin over Hoosier Exterminators to reach the gold semifinals.

Breann Payton of Team Iowa Ice was selected as the Women’s PVL most valuable player and she was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Megan Schipper, Brittany Brimmage and Justine Landi. For Team Florida Wave, Benavia Jenkins and Kristy Jaeckel were selected to the all-tournament team.