For a better browsing experience please switch your browser out of compatability mode.
USA Volleyball Logo

USA Volleyball

USAV Selects Players for U.S. Girls’ Youth National Volleyball Team Second Tryout

By Bill Kauffman | May 09, 2013, 7:05 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman, USA Volleyball Senior Manager of Communications, Phone: 719-228-6800, Email:
USAV Facebook * @USA_Volleyball

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (May 9, 2013) – USA Volleyball Indoor High Performance announced today that it has invited 27 players to participate in a second tryout for the U.S. Girls’ Youth National Volleyball Team (GYNT), which will ultimately compete in the 2013 FIVB Volleyball Girls’ Youth World Championships July 25 to Aug. 4 at Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand.

The GYNT consists of players born in either 1996 or 1997. The program’s second tryout will take place June 13-16 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. Following the tryout, the roster will be pared down to the 12 athletes who will compete in the FIVB Volleyball Girls’ Youth World Championship event. Prior to leaving for Thailand, the dozen players will train July 8-21 primarily at the American Sports Centers in Anaheim, Calif., the host city for the U.S. Men’s and Women’s National Volleyball Teams.

The invited second tryout group consists of 10 outside hitters/opposites, six middle blockers, six setters, and five liberos. Selected outside/opposite hitters are Ali Frantti (Spring Grove, Ill.), Molly Haggerty (Glen Ellyn, Ill.), Hayley Hodson (Newport Beach, Calif.), Simone Lee (Menomonee Falls, Wis.), Nia Reed (Fort Lee, N.J.), Tia Scambray (Monarch Beach, Calif.), Luisa Schirmer (Pittsford, N.Y.), Courtney Schwan (Milton, Wash.), Alexa Smith (Colorado Springs) and Carli Snyder (Macomb, Mich.). The middle blockers chosen for the second tryout are Rhamat Alhassan (Glenarder, Md.), Audrianna Fitzmorris (Overland Park, Kan.), Danielle Cuttino (Indianapolis, Ind.), Mikaela Foecke (West Point, Iowa), Christian Jones (Lakewood, Calif.) and Savannah Rennie (San Diego).

The setters in the tryout group are Jordyn Poulter (Aurora, Colo.), Samantha Seliger Swenson (Minnetonka, Minn.), Gabrielle Simpson (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Taylor Tashima (Wilmette, Ill.) and Bryanna Weiskircher (Loves Park, Ill.). Setter Stephanie Aiple (Round Rock, Texas) was invited to attend the tryout, but is unable to participate due to injury. The libero position includes Caroline Knop (Pasadenda, Calif.), Kenzie Maloney (Louisville, Ky.), Cat McCoy (Southlake, Texas), Jordan Pingel (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Molly Sauer (Louisville, Ky.).

Jim Stone will serve as the head coach for the 2013 U.S. Girls’ Youth National Volleyball Team, and he will be assisted by Nick Cheronis. Denise Sheldon will serve as the team leader.

The U.S. qualified for the 2013 FIVB Volleyball Girls’ Youth World Championship by winning the 2012 NORCECA Girls’ Youth Continental Championship held in Mexico last August. All 12 members from the 2012 squad has been invited to this second tryout including Aiple, Fitzmorris, Hodson, Jones, Lee, Pingel, Rennie, Scambray, Schirmer, Schwan, Snyder and Tashima. However, those 12 players are not guaranteed spots for the 2013 U.S. Girls’ Youth National Volleyball Team.

Player (Position, Grad Year, Hometown, Club, Region)
Stephanie Aiple* (S, 2014, Round Rock, Texas, Austin Junior Volleyball, Lone Star)
Rhamat Alhassan (MB, 2014, Glenarder, Md., Metro American, Chesapeake)
Danielle Cuttino (MB, 2014, Indianapolis, Ind., CCVBC, Hoosier)
Audriana Fitzmorris (MB, 2016, Overland Park, Kan., Asics MAVS, Heart of America)
Mikaela Foecke (MB, 2015, West Point, Iowa, Iowa Rockets, Iowa)
Ali Frantti (OH, 2014, Spring Grove, Ill., Fusion, Great Lakes)
Molly Haggerty (OH, 2016, Glen Ellyn, Ill., Sports Performance, Great Lakes)
Hayley Hodson (OH, 2015, Newport Beach, Calif., T Street, Southern California)
Christian Jones (MB, 2014, Lakewood, Calif., T Street, Southern California)
Caroline Knop (L, 2014, Pasadena, Calif., San Gabriel Elite, Southern California)
Simone Lee (OH, 2014, Menomonee Falls, Wis., Club Fusion, Great Lakes)
Kenzie Maloney (L, 2015, Louisville, Ky., KIVA, Pioneer)
Cat McCoy (L, 2014, Southlake, Texas, Texas Advantage, North Texas)
Jordan Pingel (L, 2015, Colorado Springs, Colo., Colorado Juniors, Rocky Mountain)
Jordyn Poulter (S, 2015, Aurora, Colo., Front Range, Rocky Mountain)
Nia Reed (OH, 2014, Fort Lee, N.J., DIGS, Garden Empire)
Savannah Rennie (MB, 2015, San Diego, Calif., Wave, Southern California)
Molly Sauer (L, 2015, Louisville, Ky., KIVA, Pioneer)
Tia Scambray (OH, 2014, Monarch Beach, Calif., T Street, Southern California)
Luisa Schirmer (OH, 2014, Pittsford, N.Y., Volley FX, Western Empire)
Courtney Schwan (OH, 2014, Milton, Wash., Kent Juniors, Puget Sound)
Samantha Seliger Swenson (S, 2015, Minnetonka, Minn., Northern Lights, North Country)
Gabrielle Simpson (S, 2014, Colorado Springs, Colo., Colorado Juniors, Rocky Mountain)
Alexa Smith (OH, 2015, Colorado Springs, Colo., Colorado Juniors, Rocky Mountain)
Carli Snyder (OH, 2014, Macomb, Mich., Michigan Elite, Lakeshore)
Taylor Tashima (S, 2014, Wilmette, Ill., Wildcat Juniors, Great Lakes)
Bryanna Weiskircher (S, 2014, Loves Park, Ill., Club Fusion, Great Lakes)
* Note: Stephanie Aiple was invited to tryout but unable to participated due to injury

Head Coach: Jim Stone
Assistant Coach: Nick Cheronis
Technical Assistant: Spike Summers
Team Leader: Denise Sheldon