U.S. Women's National Volleyball A2 Program Starts Training

June 25, 2013, 6:01 p.m. (ET)

By Deb Stadick for USA Volleyball

DALLAS (June 25, 2013) - The University of Texas-Dallas was buzzing with activity on Tuesday as 47 college volleyball athletes from across the nation arrived for the 2013 U.S. Women’s National Volleyball Team A2 (WNTA2) program being held June 25-July 3 in conjunction with the 2013 USA Volleyball Girls’ Junior National Championships at the Dallas Convention Center.

The WNTA2 program, open to college athletes with eligibility remaining for the 2013 season, was selected through the 2013 U.S. Women’s National Volleyball Team Open Tryouts held Feb. 22-24 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. The tryout attracted a record 240 participants, 33 more than the previous attendance record set in 2012.

The 47 players will participate in a four-day training camp at the University of Texas-Dallas before dividing into four equal teams and relocating to the Dallas Convention Center for a five-day competition block.

The 2013 WNTA2 program has athlete representation from 29 different universities, and 12 schools had multiple players selected. Purdue University has four players in the program, while Iowa State University, University of Wisconsin, Michigan State University, University of Louisville and Loyola Marymount University have three athletes each in the program.

The WNTA2 program coaching staff includes Head Coaches Andy Banachowski, Mike Hebert, Ruth Nelson and Bill Neville. Assistant coaches with the WNTA2 program are Ashley Allen, Linda Hampton and Marci Sanders. Technical coordinators/assistant coaches for the A2 program are Nicki Holmes, Eugene Tichenor, Deb Stadick and Jay Van Vark.

During their nine days in Dallas, the WNTA2 athletes will be going social. Check out the #WNTA2 hash tag on Twitter to see their photos, results and event updates. Additionally, two athletes will be blogging their way through the experience.

DeLaina Sarden is a junior opposite hitter from the University of Central Florida and Hannah Johnson is a red-shirt sophomore setter from the University of New Mexico. Links to their blogs will be posted at the top of each WNTA2 release starting Wednesday, June 26.

Name (Position, School, Hometown, 2013 College Eligibility Remaining)
Carly Cramer (L/DS, Purdue University, Martinsville, Ind., 1)
Kristen Hahn (L/DS, Iowa State University, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 1)
Annemarie Hickey (L/DS, University of Wisconsin, Oswego, Ill., 1)
Veronica Lewis (L/DS, University of Arizona, San Jose, Calif., 2)
Kori Moster (L/DS, Michigan State University, Cincinnati, Ohio, 2)
Ellen Mullins (L/DS, University of Tennessee, Nashville, Tenn., 1)
Caitlin Welch (L/DS, University of Louisville, Louisville, Ky., 1)

Middle Blockers
Name (Position, School, Hometown, 2013 College Eligibility Remaining)
Simone Antwi (MB, University of Florida, Fairfax Station, Va., 3)
Adreene Elliott (MB, University of Maryland, Winston-Salem, N.C., 2)
Casey Hinger (MB, Cal State Northridge, Fullerton, Calif., 2)
Kierra Jones (MB, Purdue University, Fishers, Ind., 2)
Litara Keil (MB, Loyola Marymount University, Long Beach, Calif., 2)
Kathryn LeCheminant (MB, Brigham Young University, Layton, Utah, 1)
Alexis Mathews (MB, Michigan State University, Detroit, Mich., 1)
Brooke Mattingly (MB, University of Louisville, St. Henry, Ohio, 1)
Zoe Nightingale (MB, UCLA, Sacramento, Calif., 2)
DeLaina Sarden (MB, University of Central Florida, Lawrenceville, Ga., 2)
Ariana Williams (MB, University of Oregon, Riverside, Calif., 1)
Courtney Windham (MB, University of North Texas, Houston, Texas, 1)

Outside Hitters
Name (Position, School, Hometown, 2013 College Eligibility Remaining)
Ellen Chapman (OH, University of Wisconsin, Glenview, Ill., 2)
Kimberly Dahl (OH, Brigham Young University, Pleasant Grove, Utah, 3)
Victoria Hurtt (OH, Iowa State University, Kansas City, Mo., 2)
Maddy Klineman (OH, UCLA, Manhattan Beach, Calif., 3)
Kaitlyn Leary (OH, Ohio State University, Parma, Ohio, 1)
Kathleen Luft (OH, Loyola Marymount University, Thousand Oaks, Calif., 1)
Shar Manu-Olevao (OH, University of Hawaii, Honolulu, Hawaii, 3)
Morgan Odale (OH, University of Utah, Star, Idaho, 1)
Chelsey Schofield (OH, University of Utah, Provo, Utah, 2)
Taylor Simpson (OH, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, Colo., 2)
Nicole Walch (OH, Florida State University, Stuart, Fla., 3)
Lauren Wicinski (OH, Michigan State University, Geneva, Ill., 1)
Ashley Wittman (OH, University of Minnesota, Shakopee, Minn., 1)

Name (Position, School, Hometown, 2013 College Eligibility Remaining)
Ashley Battle (Opp, Virginia Tech, Apex, N.C., 4)
Mackenzie Bigbee (Opp, Iowa State University, Williamsburg, Iowa, 3)
Whitney Billings (Opp, University of Kentucky, Helena, Ala., 1)
Annie Drews (Opp, Purdue University, Elkhart, Ind., 3)
Moneshia Simmons (Opp, Clemson University, Buford, Ga., 1)
Valerie Nichol (Opp/S, Purdue University, Normal, Ill, 2)
Chantale Riddle (Opp, University of New Mexico, Roswell, N.M., 2)

Name (Position, School, Hometown, 2013 College Eligibility Remaining)
Deedra Foss (S, Colorado State University, McKenna, Wash., 2)
Hannah Johnson (S, University of New Mexico, Longview, Wash., 3)
Elizabeth Koberstein (S, Marquette University, Madison, Wis., 1)
Hannah Kvitle (S, University of Louisville, Quincy, Ill., 2)
Mackenzie Dagostino (S, University of Maryland, Tampa, Fla., 3)
Hannah Tedrow (S, Loyola Marymount University, Foothill Ranch, Calif., 3)
Courtney Thomas (S, University of Wisconsin, DeKalb, Ill., 2)
Rainette Uiato (S, University of Hawaii, Long Beach, Calif., 1)