Two U.S. Women's Red-Blue Scrimmages Added

July 17, 2013, 8:52 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman, USA Volleyball Senior Manager of Communications, Phone: 719-228-6800, Email:
USAV Facebook * @USA_Volleyball

COLORAO SPRINGS, Colo. (July 17, 2013) – The U.S. Women’s National Volleyball Team has scheduled two Red-Blue intrasquad scrimmages for this month as part of final preparations heading into the 2013 FIVB World Grand Prix.

The next Red-Blue scrimmage will be held July 19 at 7 p.m. PT at Harvard Westlake Upper School in Studio City, Calif., followed by a July 26 scrimmage at 7 p.m. PT at Los Osos High School in Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. Both matches are open to the public with the contest on July 19 as free admission, while the July 26 event is $1.

The U.S. Women’s National Volleyball Team, ranked No. 1 in the world, recently completed a successful inaugural edition of the USA Volleyball Cup in which it hosted No. 3 Japan. The Americans won all three matches with the first two coming in four sets at UC San Diego (July 10) and Long Beach State University (July 12), followed by a five-set win at JSerra Catholic High School in San Juan Capistrano (July 13). Two of the three matches were officially sold out, while the other match nearly was sold out. Team USA is now 8-0 on the season, including a 5-0 record in winning the XII Pan American Cup for the second year in a row.

The U.S. opens the FIVB World Grand Prix, an event that the Americans have won the past three years, on Aug. 2 versus Russia in a Pool A match at Campinas, Brazil. The Americans face Poland on Aug 3 and host Brazil on Aug. 4 in other Pool A matches. For the second preliminary round weekend, Team USA travels to Belgrade, Serbia, to face Algeria on Aug. 9, Netherlands on Aug. 10 and host Serbia on Aug. 11. The Americans conclude the preliminary schedule at Sendai, Japan, in Pool M with matches on Aug. 16 versus Czech Republic, Aug. 17 against the host Japanese and Aug. 18 versus Bulgaria.

The FIVB World Grand Prix Final Round will take place Aug. 28 to Sept. 1 in Sapporo, Japan. The top five teams from the preliminary round plus Japan will comprise the six-team Final Round field.