Three Beach Teams Bound for 2nd Round

By BJ Evans | Dec. 13, 2013, 2:30 p.m. (ET)

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Dec. 13, 2013) – Three U.S. teams reached the second rounds of the FIVB Beach Volleyball Durban Open in South Africa on Friday.

 Jennifer Kessy dives for the ball in Durban, South Africa
  Jennifer Kessy dives for the ball.

On the women’s side, Whitney Pavlik (Long Beach, Calif.) and Jennifer Kessy (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.), seeded No. 3 overall, went 3-0 in pool play and advanced straight to the second round of single elimination where they will play China’s No. 22 Fan Wang and Yixin Zheng on Saturday.

The No. 10 seeded team of Lane Carico (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) and Heather Hughes (Fallbrook, Calif.) also went 3-0 in pool play and advanced to Round 2 where they will play Russia’s No. 6 Alexandra Shiryaeva and Ekaterina Syrtseva on Saturday.

For the men, Derek Olson (San Diego, Calif.) and Tri Bourne (Aiea, Hawaii), who had to qualify for the main draw and were seeded 29th, won their final pool play match on Friday to go 1-2and advance to the first round of single elimination. There, they defeated Norway’s No. 17 Morten Kvamsdal and Oivind Hordvik, 21-19, 25-27, 15-9 in 58 minutes to advance to the second round.

On Saturday, Olson and Bourne will play Venezuela’s No. 10 Igor Hernandez and Jesus Villafañe for the chance to advance to the third round.

The U.S. women’s team of Sarah Day (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Kim McGiven (San Diego, Calif.), seeded 27th, went 0-3 in pool play and did not advance.

In Friday’s final pool play matches, Pavlik and Kessy defeated Austria’s No. 14 Lena Plesiutschnig and Katharina Schützenhöfer (21-18, 24-22; 41 minutes) while Carico and Hughes beat Germany’s No. 7 Teresa Mersmann and Isabel Schneider (21-15, 24-22; 46 minutes).

Day and McGiven took China’s No. 22 Fan Wang and Yixin Zheng to three sets, but lost (26-24, 16-21, 15-13; 53 minutes).

Olson and Bourne beat Russia’s No. 20 Alexey Pastukhov and Grigoriy Goncharov (12-21, 21-11, 15-12; 43 minutes).

Pool play concludes on Friday and will be followed by the first two rounds of single elimination matches. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will all take place on Saturday, Dec. 14.