Women's Sitting Team Plays in Moscow

Aug. 15, 2013, 10:30 p.m. (ET)
The U.S. Women's Sitting Team in Moscow
  The U.S. Women's Sitting Volleyball Team poses at the Russian Olympic training site.

B.J. Hoeptner Evans, Manager, Communications, Phone: (719) 228-6800, E-Mail: bj.evans@usav.org
USAV Facebook - @USA_Volleyball

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Aug. 15, 2013) – The U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team is in Moscow this week for the Moscow Open Cup on Aug. 16-18.

Teams from China, Netherlands, Japan, Slovenia, and Russia are scheduled to compete. The United States is the No. 2 ranked team in the world behind China according to the World Organization of Volleyball Disabled (WOVD).

The U.S. has sent a veteran team to compete in the event, including eight players returning from the 2012 Paralympic Games team that won the silver medal in London: Monique Burkland (Ardmore, Okla.), Heather Erickson (Fayetteville, N.C.), Katie Holloway (Lake Stevens, Wash.), Kaleo Kanahele (Oklahoma City, Okla.), Kendra Lancaster (Westfield, Ind.), Nichole Millage (Champaign, Ill.), Kari Miller (Washington, D.C.) and Michelle Schiffler (Lake Wales, Fla.).

Other U.S. players competing in Moscow are Abby Mueller (Houston, Texas), Nicky Nieves (Kissimmee, Fla.), Lexi Shifflett (Waseca, Minn.) and Bethany Zummo (Dublin, Calif.).

The U.S. will be led by Head Coach Bill Hamiter (Bethany, Okla.).

The U.S. will open in Pool A along with China, Finland and a club team of young players from Moscow. Pool B will include Slovenia, Japan, Netherlands and CSP Izmailovo, a team made up of players from the Russian national team.

Team USA will face Moscow and China on Aug. 16. It will play Finland on Aug. 17 and then the quarterfinals and semifinals will also be played. The matches for finals placements, including bronze and gold, will take play Aug. 18.

To view the tournament home page, click here.

To view the matches online, click here.

U.S. Women’s Sitting Volleyball Team
Monique Burkland (Ardmore, Okla.)
Heather Erickson (Fayetteville, N.C.)
Katie Holloway (Lake Stevens, Wash.)
Kaleo Kanahele (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
Kendra Lancaster (Westfield, Ind.)
Nichole Millage (Champaign, Ill.)
Kari Miller (Washington, D.C.)
Abby Mueller (Houston, Texas)
Nicky Nieves (Kissimmee, Fla.)
Michelle Schiffler (Lake Wales, Fla.)
Lexi Shifflett (Waseca, Minn.)
Bethany Zummo (Dublin, Calif.)

Head Coach: Bill Hamiter (Bethany, Okla.)
Assistant Coach: Cara Lang (Sartell, Minn.)
Assistant Coach: Jeffery Hicks (Charlotte, N.C.)
Physiotherapist: Kazuma Akehi (Japan)

Match Schedule (All times CT)
Aug. 16
2:30 a.m.: Moscow vs. United States
2:30 a.m.: Slovenia vs. Japan
5 a.m.: China vs. USA
5 a.m.: Netherlands vs. CSP Izmailovo
6:30 a.m.: Finland vs. Moscow
6:30 a.m.: CSP Izmailovo vs. Japan
8 a.m.: China vs. Finland
8 a.m.: Netherlands vs. Slovenia
9:30 a.m.: Moscow vs. China
9:30 a.m.: Japan vs. Netherlands

Aug. 17
1 a.m.: United States vs. Finland
1 a.m.: Slovenia vs. CSP Izmailovo
2:30 a.m.: Quarterfinal (A1 vs. B4)
2:30 a.m.: Quarterfinal (B1 vs. A4)
4 a.m.: Quarterfinal (A2 vs. B3)
4 a.m.: Quarterfinal (A3 vs. B4)
6:30 a.m.: Semifinal
6:30 a.m.: Classification 5-8
8 a.m.: Semifinal
8 a.m.: Classification 5-8

Aug. 18
1 a.m.: Seventh place
1 a.m.: Fifth place
2:30 a.m.: Third place
2:30 a.m.: First place