Nine Champions Crowned in 2013 NCVF Championships

By Bill Kauffman | April 08, 2013, 6:53 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman, USA Volleyball Communications, Phone: 719-228-6800, Email:
USAV Facebook - @USA_Volleyball

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (April 8, 2013) – The 2013 National Collegiate Volleyball Federation (NCVF) Collegiate Club Championships crowned nine champions on Saturday in Dallas. A total of 360 teams competed in the tournament within nine different divisions, five for men and four for women.

The championship event, run in cooperation with USA Volleyball for the fourth consecutive year, had 192 men’s teams competing in five divisions and 168 women’s teams competing in four different divisions. The men’s field has 48 Division I teams, 48 Division I-AA teams, 24 Division I-AAA teams , 48 Division II teams and 24 Division III teams. The women’s field has 48 Division I teams, 48 Division IAA teams, 36 Division IAAA teams and 36 Division II teams.

In the Men’s Division I, Fresno State University topped UC Santa Barbara 25-21, 25-16 in the championship match. Fresno State advance to the gold-medal match with a 25-20, 25-17 semifinal victory over UC San Diego. UCSB reached the championship match with a 25-17, 26-24 victory over University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.

In the Men’s Division IAA, sixth-seed University of Miami claimed the title with a 27-25, 25-15 victory over fourth-seed North Carolina State University in a contest of undefeated teams. Miami went through the tournament undefeated in nine matches and being extended to three sets just twice. Miami defeated second-seed Boston College 25-20, 25-15 in the semifinals, while NCSU advanced to the title match with a 25-17, 17-25, 15-9 victory over 11th-seed University of Nebraska.

In the Men’s Division IAAA, Iowa State University battled past Truman State University 25-20, 18-25, 16-14 to claim the gold medal. Iowa State trumped North Dakota State University 26-24, 27-25 in the semifinals to advance to the title match, while Truman State downed Vanderbilt University 25-16, 25-18 in the semifinals.

In the Men’s Division II, fourth-seed Messiah College came out on top with a 25-20, 25-23 victory over second-seed Sonoma State University in the championship match between undefeated teams. Messiah College won all nine of its tournament matches in straight sets, though its semifinal victory over eighth-seed Missouri State University was its toughest score-wise with a 29-27, 26-24 victory. Sonoma State advanced to the title match with a 14-25, 25-13, 15-7 victory over third-seed University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse in the semifinals.

In the Men’s Division III, University of Illinois B edged University of Arizona B 26-24, 24-26, 15-12 in the title match. Illinois B topped Cal Poly 25-18, 13-25, 15-11 in the semifinals, while Arizona B reached the gold-medal match with a 25-19, 25-19 win over University of California-Berkeley.

In the Women’s Division I, Marquette University A walked away with the gold after defeating University of Arizona A 24-26, 25-22, 15-10 in the title match. Marquette swept University of Texas A 25-18, 25-14 in the semifinals, while Arizona advanced to the title match by rallying past UC Santa Barbara A 13-25, 25-22, 15-5.

In the Women’s Division IAA, Ohio University swept Iowa State University A 25-22, 25-15 to win the gold medal. Ohio handled University of Washington 25-22, 25-19 in the semifinals, while Iowa State edged Northern Arizona University 25-23, 21-25, 15-9 in the semifinals.

In the Women’s Division IAAA, Washington State University rallied to defeat Kansas State University 22-25, 25-15, 15-11 in the gold-medal match. Washington State earlier defeated University of Miami 25-23, 25-21 in the semifinals, while Kansas State advanced to the title match with a 29-27, 25-19 win over University of Northern Iowa.

In the Women’s Division II, University of Texas B came back to defeat University of Arizona B 20-25, 25-22, 15-9 to win the gold medal. Texas claimed a 25-23, 25-16 semifinal win over Michigan State University, while Arizona edged Ohio State University B 25-15, 23-25, 15-11 to advance to the championship match.

The NCVF acts as the national governing body for organized collegiate club volleyball competitions. For over two decades, NCVF volunteers have provided a full range of support for student club teams by promoting year-long affordable, organized and competitive volleyball events, and supporting a season-ending national championship tournament. It is made up of students, volleyball conference commissioners, player representatives, coaches, officials, trainers, recreation sports directors and many volunteers. The organization devotes 100 percent of its resources and funding toward the support of quality collegiate club volleyball activities.

For additional information on the 2013 NCVF Collegiate Club Championships and the NCVF organization, visit