U.S. Beach Teams Find Success on First Day

Sept. 12, 2012, 10:30 p.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Communications
Phone: (719) 228-6800
E-Mail: bj.evans@usav.org
@USA_Volleyball - @USAV Beach USAV Facebook

To view Wednesday's full results, click here

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 12, 2012) – The U.S. women’s under-26 beach volleyball teams competing at the World University Championships went undefeated on their first day of competition on Wednesday in Maceio, Brazil.

Will Montgomery sets during a 2010 NORCECA Beach Tour event

The U.S. men’s under-26 beach teams each went 1-1.

The weather was sunny in Maceio with temperatures in the mid-80s as the teams opened pool play.

The U.S. women’s team of Emily Day (Torrance, Calif./Loyola Marymount) and Summer Ross (San Diego, Calif./Pepperdine) went 2-0, defeating Yghirda Sanabria and Karina Morel of Paraguay, 21-11, 21-8, and Anjiera Ishida and Chiyo Suzuki of Japan, 21-16, 21-11.

The U.S. women’s team of Caitlin Ledoux (Phelan, Calif./Long Beach State) and Geena Urango (Los Alamitos, Calif./Univ. of Southern California) defeated Canada’s Julia Hamer and Caleigh Whitaker, 21-17, 21-16.

On the men’s side, the U.S. team of Jeremy Casebeer (Santa Barbara, Calif./UCLA) and Will Montgomery (Santa Barbara, Calif./UC Irvine) defeated Basuhaib and Faltath of Saudi Arabia, 21-13, 21-17. Casebeer and Montgomery fell to Brazil’s Benjamin Álvaro Filho and Luciano Gilmário, 22-20, 21-18.

The U.S. team of Adam Cabbage (Rio Rancho, N.M./Univ. of New Mexico) and Connor Hughes (Costa Mesa, Calif./UC Irvine) fell to Jan Dumek and Robert Kufa of Czech Republic, 21-15, 18-21, 15-11. They came back to defeat Switzerland’s Andreas Catschegn and Raffael Buehler, 21-18, 17-21, 18-16.

More than 40 teams representing 17 countries from the Americas, Europe and Asia are participating in this International University Sports Federation (FISU) event. Players from Brazil, Canada, Chile, Paraguay, Japan, Poland, China, Slovakia, Thailand, Russia, Spain, United States, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Saudi Arabia, Austria and Chinese Taipei are competing.

The U.S. women’s team of Chrissie Zartman and Tracy Lindquist won the gold medal at the World University Championships in 2004. The U.S. men’s team of Mark VanZweiten and Joey Dykstra won the bronze medal at the 2008 Championships while John Mayer and Matt Prosser took bronze in 2006.

For more tournament information, click here.

Photo information: Will Montgomery sets during a 2010 NORCECA Beach Tour event in Chula Vista, Calif. Photo by B.J. Hoeptner Evans copyrighted by USA Volleyball.