USA Volleyball Announces Officials’ Commission Appointments

By Bill Kauffman | Nov. 15, 2012, 10:42 a.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman
USA Volleyball Communications
Phone: 719-228-6800
@USA_Volleyball - USAV Facebook

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Nov. 15, 2012) – USA Volleyball is pleased to announce the individuals who will serve on its Officials’ Commission for the upcoming Olympic quadrennial representing indoor and beach volleyball on both national and international levels.

Michael McPoyle has been appointed as the chair for the National Indoor Officials' Commission replacing Glenn Sapp, while Mike Carter moves into the associate chair position of the commission replacing Kathy Ferraraccio. Michelle Prater will serve as the director of referee evaluations, taking over the position vacated by Brian Hemelgarn. Michael O’Connor has accepted the position of assistant director of referee evaluation and certification.

Margie Ray replaces Prater as the director of RVA referee development, while Marcia Costley will serve as director of RVA junior officials’ development in place of O’Connor. Thomas Hoy will continue as the director of camp development and Hemelgarn will transition into the director of national clinic development in place of McPoyle.

Nancy Funk will continue as associate chair of the national indoor scorers, while Jennifer Williams has accepted the role of director of scorer evaluation and certification in place of Funk. Ric Washburn replaces Steve Crane as director of RVA scorer development.

Internationally, Steve Robb has been appointed as chair of the International Indoor Officials' Commission, replacing Tom Blue. Donna Wigton will continue as the director of international indoor scorers.

No changes have been made to the International/National Beach Officials' Commission as Steve Owen will continue to serve as chair of the International/National Beach Officials' Commission, Keith Murlless as director of beach officials’ certification and evaluation, and Steven Kenyon as director of RVA development.

Kathy Ferraraccio will continue to serve as the USA Volleyball indoor officials’ consultant. Steve Owen will serve as the USA Volleyball beach officials’ consultant.

The commission is appointed for the 2013-2016 Olympic quadrennial.

USA Volleyball National Indoor Officials’ Commission
Chair: Michael McPoyle
Associate Chair, National Indoor Referees: Mike Carter
Director, Referee Evaluation and Certification: Michelle Prater
Assistant Director, Referee Evaluation and Certification: Michael O’Connor
Director, RVA Referee Development: Margie Ray
Director, RVA Junior Officials Development: Marcia Costley
Director: Camp Development: Thomas Hoy
Director: National Clinic Development: Brian Hemelgarn
Associate Chair: National Indoor Scorers: Nancy Funk
Director, Scorer Evaluation and Certification: Jennifer Williams
Director, RVA Scorer Development: Ric Washburn

USA Volleyball International Indoor Officials Commission
Chair: Steve Robb
Director, International Indoor Scorers: Donna Wigton

USA Volleyball International/National Beach Officials’ Commission
Chair: Steve Owen
Director, Beach Officials Certification and Evaluation: Keith Murless
Director, RVA Development: Steve Kenyon