Hermosa Jose Cuervo Beach Update

July 20, 2012, 12 a.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Communications
Phone: (719) 228-6800
E-Mail: bj.evans@usav.org
@USA_Volleyball - @USAV Beach USAV Facebook

HERMOSA BEACH, Calif. (July 20, 2012) – Some low-seeded teams finished on top on Friday during qualifying at the Hermosa Beach Open, part of the Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Tour.

Main draw play will begin on Saturday and continue Sunday with the semifinals and finals. The event is free and open to the public.

On the women’s side, the No. 20-seeded team of Lane Carico (Manhattan Beach, Calif.) and Ashley Lee (La Habra Heights, Calif.) upset No. 13 Stephanie Scheele (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and Geena Urango (Los Alamitos, Calif.), 21-18, 17-21, 15-8. Carico and Lee then defeated No. 4 Jessica Jones (Boardman, Ohio) and Molly Menard (Eau Claire, Wis.), 21-14, 21-12 to qualify for Saturday’s main draw.

Both Carico and Lee have been part of USA Volleyball’s beach high performance program. Carico competed in the 2007 Beach Youth World Championships while Lee competed in 2006.

For the men, the No. 22 seeded team of Bartosz Bachorski (Poland) and Danko Lordanov (Varna, Bulgaria) upset No. 11 Matt Davis (Burke, Va.) and Kevin Gregan (White Plains, Md.), 22-20, 21-16. In the next round, Bachorski and Lordanov beat No. 6 Tri Bourne (Aiea, Hawaii) and Jeff Carlson (Newport Beach, Calif.), 21-17, 21-18 to reach the main draw.

The No. 21 team of Kevin Beukema (Redondo Beach, Calif.) and Brad Torsone (Rochester, N.Y.) made it to the main draw by upsetting No. 12 Matt Heagy (Phoenix, Md.) and Alex Pepke (Rock Island, Ill.), 21-18, 21-14 then defeating No. 28 Dillon Auxier (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Conner Hughes (Costa Mesa, Calif.), 23-21, 21-11.

On Saturday, 32 men’s teams and 32 women’s teams will begin competing for the $100,000 total prize purse.

The women’s final is scheduled for 2:15 p.m. on Sunday while the men’s is scheduled for 4 p.m. The finals will be shown on NBC Sports Network at 8 p.m. PT on Aug. 5. Other matches will be streamed live on the Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Tour web site.

Among the teams scheduled to compete are 7-foot-1 Ryan Doherty (Toms River, N.J.) and partner Casey Patterson (Van Nuys, Calif.), who have won the last two Jose Cuervo events in Belmar, N.J., and Chicago, pulling some major upset in the process.

Also scheduled to compete are Olympian John Hyden (Sherman Oaks, Calif.) and Sean Scott (Redondo Beach, Calif.), who won the first event of the season in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
The team of Stein Metzger (Honolulu) and Mark Williams (Australia), both Olympians, will also provide excitement.

On the women’s side, Jenny Kropp (Hawthorne, Calif.) and Whitney Pavlik (Laguna Beach, Calif.), who finished second at Hermosa in 2011 and have won the first three Jose Cuervo events of 2012, will try to add Hermosa’s jewel to their crown.