Cuervo Series Heads for Hermosa Beach

Sept. 20, 2011, 5:41 p.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: (719) 228-6800

Men's Results * Women's Results

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 20, 2011) – The Hermosa Beach Open, which serves as the national championship and finale of the 2011 Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series produced by USA Volleyball and IMG, will take place Sept. 23-25 on the north side of the Hermosa Beach Pier.

The three-day competition, which is free to spectators, will open with qualifying on Friday (Sept. 23) with 32 teams per gender competing in a double-elimination tournament on Saturday and Sunday. The women’s final will be played 1-3 p.m. on Sunday, followed by the men’s final at 3-5 p.m., which will be live on VERSUS.

Detailed series information is available at

Top U.S. beach volleyball players and teams are registered for the event, including John Hyden (Sherman Oaks, Calif.) and Sean Scott (Redondo Beach, Calif.), who won the men’s title in the first two events of the series in Manhattan Beach, Calif., and Miami. Also registered are Jenny Kropp (Hawthorne, Calif.) and Whitney Pavlik (Laguna Beach, Calif.), who won the women’s championship in Manhattan Beach and Lauren Fendrick (Carlsbad, Calif.) and Brooke Hanson (Woodland Hills, Calif.), who took the title in Miami.

Making his Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series debut will be Casey Jennings (Las Vegas, Nev.) who will be partnered with Brazil’s Pedro Salgado. Another top player scheduled to make her Jose Cuervo debut in Hermosa is Angie Akers (Fort Wayne, Ind.), who is set to play with Angela Lewis (Redondo Beach, Calif.).

Akers has been playing on the FIVB World Tour this season with Nicole Branagh (Orinda, Calif.). Branagh, who made it to the semifinals in Miami with Brittany Hochevar (Fowler, Colo.), will play in Hermosa with Lisa Rutledge (San Diego, Calif.).

Also on the roster are the other Miami semifinal teams of Jen Kessy (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.)/April Ross (Costa Mesa, Calif.), Jake Gibb (Bountiful, Utah)/Sean Rosenthal (Redondo Beach, Calif.), Matt Fuerbringer (Costa Mesa, Calif.)/Nick Lucena (Santa Barbara, Calif.) and John Mayer (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)/Matt Prosser (Ventura, Calif.).

The Hermosa Beach prize purse is $150,000 paid out to all 32 teams in each gender.

Volunteers are still needed. Visit to register. Volunteers get a T-shirt, lunch and can meet the players and get autographs. They could also be seen on the live broadcast on Versus for the finals.

Hermosa Beach Open
Date: Sept 24-25 (Friday Sept 23 Qualifier)
Location: North side of the Hermosa Beach Pier
Format: 32 Team Double Elimination – 22 Automatic berths and two wildcards
Qualifier Format: Single elimination to qualify the final eight teams
Prize Money: $150,000 – All 32 teams paid

Friday, Sept. 23
9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Festival Area Open
9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 24
Main Draw - 32 Teams per Gender
8 a.m. - 7 p.m.
Festival Area Open
9 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 25
9 a.m. - 1 p.m.
Festival Area Open
9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
Women's Finals
1-3 p.m.
Men's Finals - LIVE on VERSUS
3-5 p.m.

Click here to volunteer: