Cuervo Series Brings Beach Stars to Miami

Sept. 15, 2011, 8:08 p.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: (719) 228-6800

Men's Results * Women's Results

MIAMI (Sept. 15, 2011) – After a successful debut at the Manhattan Beach Open, the 2011 Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series, produced by USA Volleyball and IMG, moves on to Lummus Park in Miami Beach this weekend (Sept. 16-18).

The Miami Beach Pro boasts top U.S. beach volleyball players alongside Florida’s finest battling for a prize purse of $150,000 and the highly coveted Jose Cuervo championship trophy.

The top-seeded men’s team in Miami is 2008 Olympians Jake Gibb (Bountiful, Utah) and Sean Rosenthal (Redondo Beach, Calif.). The top-seeded women’s team is 2009 FIVB world champions Jen Kessy (San Juan Capistrano, Calif.) and April Ross (Costa Mesa, Calif.). Both teams are making their debut in the Jose Cuervo Series after spending most of the summer competing overseas.

Also making their Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series debuts are the second-seeded men’s team of Matt Fuerbringer (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and Nick Lucena (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) and the second-seeded women’s team Lauren Fendrick (Carlsbad, Calif.) and Brooke Hanson (Woodland Hills, Calif.) along with the third-seeded team of Nicole Branagh (Orinda, Calif.) and Brittany Hochevar (Fowler, Colo.).

Also competing are Manhattan Beach Open men’s champions Sean Scott (Redondo Beach, Calif.) and John Hyden (Sherman Oaks, Calif.) and women’s champions Jenny Kropp (Hawthorne, Calif.) and Whitney Pavlik (Laguna Beach, Calif.).

The Miami Beach Pro roster also includes Floridian brothers Mark Van Zwieten (Pompano Beach) and Steve Van Zwieten (Coconut Creek), Steve's wife Kendra Van Zwieten (Coconut Creek),Olaya Pazo (Miami), Kristen Batt (Venice), Brooke Sweat (Estero), Chara Harris (Sarasota) and Megan Wallin (Siesta Key).

"Miami Beach has bred several of the best beach volleyball players in the world and has always been a primary draw for volleyball fans," said senior VP, IMG James Leitz.  "IMG is thrilled to bring the Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series to Florida and have this opportunity to showcase several of these talented volleyball stars in their hometown."

The Miami Beach Pro includes a center court stadium with VIP skyboxes, courtside cabanas, bleacher seating for over 2,000 plus six ancillary courts. Additional highlights include a welcome center, merchandise store and festival village with an expected 40,000 in attendance over the three-day weekend. 

Tentative match times are Friday 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Saturday 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Sunday 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.

The semifinals are scheduled for Sunday at 1:15 p.m. The women's finals will be Sunday at 3 p.m. followed by the men’s finals at 5 p.m., which will be live on VERSUS.

The Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series kicked off at the $200,000 Manhattan Beach Open in Aug. 26-28.  Following the Miami Beach Pro, it moves to Hermosa Beach, Calif. on Sept. 23-25 for the $150,000 Jose Cuervo Pro Beach Volleyball Series National Championship.  The series offers a combined prize purse of $500,000, the most in the U.S. this year.

Tentative Match Times

Friday (Sept. 16): 11 a.m.-8 p.m.
Saturday (Sept. 17): 11 a.m.-8 p.m.
Sunday (Sept. 18): 10 a.m.-1 p.m.; Semifinals at 1:15 p.m.; Women’s final at 3 p.m.; Men’s final at 5 p.m. (Live on VERSUS)

Women’s Entry List by Seed
1 April Ross/Jen Kessy
2 Lauren Fendrick/Brooke Hanson
3 Nicole Branagh/Brittany Hochevar
4 Jenny Kropp/Whitney Pavlik
5 Brooke Sweat/Kristen Batt
6 Heather Hughes/Emily Day
7 Jen Fopma/Jess Gysin
8 Christal Engle/Jennifer Snyder
9 Heather Lowe/Tealle Hunkus
10 Chara Harris/Megan Wallin
11 Kathryn Babcock/Erin Gray
12 Lisa Rutledge/Kim DiCello
13 Priscilla Lima/Angela Lewis
14 Annett Davis/Jennifer Johnson Jordan
15 Olaya Pazo/Kendra Van Zwieten
16 Traci Weamer/Michelle Moriarty

Men’s Entry List by Seed
1 Sean Rosenthal/Jake Gibb
2 Nick Lucena/Matt Fuerbringer
3 John Hyden/Sean Scott
4 Billy Allen/Bradley Keenan
5 Kevin Wong/Jesse Rambis
6 John Mayer/Matt Prosser
7 Ty Loomis/Ty Tramblie
8 Adrian Carambula/ Steven Grotowski
9 Ed Ratledge/Ryan Mariano
10 Russ Marchewka/Adam Roberts
11 Braidy Halverson/Matt Olson
12 Josh Binstock/Mark Van Zwieten
13 Evan Engle/Stafford Slick
14 Joey Dykstra/Stevo VanderWerp
15 Stephen Van Zwieten/ Mike DiPierro
16 Matt Henderson/Diogo Sousa