Carthage to Host 2010 Molten Division III Men's Invitational Volleyball Championship

Oct. 19, 2009, 3:23 p.m. (ET)

Will Engle, AVCA Assistant Director of Events and Public Relations
Phone: 859-226-4315

B.J. Evans or Bill Kauffman, USA Volleyball Managers of Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800

PDF of Release

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Oct. 19, 2009) – The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) and USA Volleyball (USAV), in conjunction with Molten U.S.A., Inc., are pleased to announce that Carthage College in Kenosha, Wis., has been selected as the host institution for the 2010 Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship, to be played April 16-17, 2010.  This marks only the second time in Molten Championship history that it has been hosted by a school in the Midwest or West region; Clarke College in Dubuque, Iowa, played host in 1999.

The tournament will be held at Tarble Arena on the Carthage campus, which recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation, and is considered one of the preeminent facilities in all of NCAA Division III. As the host institution, Carthage will receive an automatic berth to the four-team tournament, which will be its third appearance in the Molten Championship. The field will also include the champion from the Eastern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association (EIVA) and the North East Collegiate Volleyball Association (NECVA). The fourth team will be an at-large selection from either the Midwest or West region. 

“Being chosen to host the 2010 Molten championship is a great honor for Carthage and the outstanding young men that have worked so hard in this program,” said L.J. Marx, Carthage men’s volleyball head coach. “I know that Carthage and its strong community will put on a first class event showcasing our great facilities of which everyone can be proud.  This is not just a great opportunity for Carthage but for men’s volleyball in the Midwest.”

Now in its 14th year, the Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship has grown in scope and stature during its first 13 seasons. The championship was formed due to a need for a culminating event for NCAA Division III men’s volleyball. While the NCAA sponsors a national collegiate championship for men’s volleyball, programs from all three divisions compete for just four berths into the yearly tournament.

Juniata College won its record sixth Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship in 2009, and has now won five of the last six Molten Championships.  Either Juniata or Springfield College has won all but two of the Molten Championships, dating back to the tournament’s beginning in 1997.

The Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship committee consists of Kathy DeBoer (AVCA executive director); Doug Beal (USA Volleyball chief executive officer); Ivan Marquez (EIVA Commissioner/EIVA representative); Bob Newcomb (UC Irvine/at-large representative); John Speraw (UC Irvine/AVCA board of directors men’s representative); Jerry Matacotta (NECVA); Stuart Robinson (SUNY New Paltz athletics director/NECVA) and Dan Harris (Milwaukee School of Engineering athletics director/Midwest-West representative).

Molten U.S.A., Inc. is the “Official Volleyball of the Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship.”   Sports Imports is the “Official Net System Supplier of the Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship.”  Mizuno USA is the “Official Apparel & Shoe Sponsor of the Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship."

Past Molten Division III Men’s Invitational Volleyball Championship Results
2009: 1. Juniata; 2. Stevens; 3. UC Santa Cruz; 4. Ramapo
2008: 1. Springfield; 2. Vassar; 3. UC Santa Cruz; 4. Juniata
2007: 1. Juniata; 2. Carthage; 3. Springfield; 4. Stevens
2006: 1. Juniata; 2. UC Santa Cruz; 3. Stevens; 4. Rivier
2005: 1. Juniata; 2. Carthage, 3. Stevens; 4. Medaille
2004: 1. Juniata; 2. Medaille; 3. UC Santa Cruz; 4. Eastern Mennonite
2003: 1. Springfield; 2. Juniata; 3. La Verne; 4. Stevens
2002: 1. Springfield; 2. La Verne; 3. NYU; 4. Lehman
2001: 1. Springfield; 2. D’Youville; 3. Clarke; 4. Vassar
2000: 1. UC San Diego; 2. NYU; 3. D’Youville; 4. Stevens
1999: 1. La Verne; 2. D’Youville; 3. Clarke; 4. Juniata
1998: 1. Juniata; 2. La Verne; 3. Springfield; 4. Eastern Mennonite
1997: 1. Springfield; 2. New Jersey Institute of Technology; 3. Juniata; 4. UC San Diego