2010 FIVB Women's World Championship Pools Set

Nov. 24, 2009, 12:42 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800
E-Mail: bill.kauffman@usav.org

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Nov. 24, 2009) – The U.S. Women’s National Volleyball Team was placed into Pool C of the 2010 FIVB Women’s World Championship Tournament that will be held Oct. 29 to Nov. 14 in various Japanese cities.

Team USA, ranked second in the world by the FIVB, joins NORCECA rival and No. 5 Cuba to headline Pool C being held Oct. 29 to Nov. 3 at Matsumoto, Japan. Other teams participating in Pool C are No. Germany, No. 13 Kazakhstan, No. 17 Thailand and No. 39 Croatia. The order of matches for the Americans will be Thailand on Oct. 29, Croatia on Oct. 30, Germany on Oct. 31, Kazakhstan on Nov. 2 and Cuba on Nov. 3.

“Pool C is a strong group to contend against - as are all of the teams who have earned the right to compete in the World Championship,” U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach Hugh McCutcheon (Christchurch, New Zealand) said. “We're excited to compete in this event and build on the foundation we established in 2009. While we hope to do well in this tournament, our initial focus and goal is to get out of our pool and qualify for the next round of competition.”

2010 FIVB Women's World Championship Logo Logo courtesy of FIVB Logo for the 2010 FIVB Women's World Championship to be held Oct. 29 to Nov. 14 in Japan. A total of 24 countries were drawn across four pools for the final round of the 16th edition of the FIVB Women’s World Championship, which will be held in six venues across five Japanese cities (Tokyo, Nagoya, Hamamatsu, Matsumoto and Osaka). The FIVB World Championship is held every four years in the second year of the Olympic quadrennial.

Pool A consists of host and seventh-ranked Japan, No. 8 Serbia, No. 9 Poland, No. 16 Peru, No. 19 Algeria and No. 30 Costa Rica. The six teams will play their matches in Tokyo.

Brazil, the 2008 Olympic Games champion, heads Pool B that includes 2009 FIVB Grand Champions Cup winner Italy. Brazil is the No. 1 team in the world, while Italy is ranked No. 5. Other countries in Pool B are No. 10 Netherlands, No. 15 Kenya, No. 18 Puerto Rico and No. 36 Czech Republic. All Pool B matches will be played at Hamamatsu.

Pool D is made up of No. 3 China, No. 4 and 2006 FIVB World Championship winner Russia, No. 12 Korea, No. 14 Dominican Republic, No. 20 Turkey and No. 23 Canada. The group will play its set of round-robin matches at Osaka.

The top four teams from Pool A and Pool D advance to Pool E, while the top four teams in Pool B and Pool C will comprise Pool F in the second round. The second round is a single round-robin format involving teams from opposing first-round pools for a total of four matches. The results and points obtained by countries in the first round carryover to the second round. The seventh- and eighth-ranked teams at the conclusion of Pool E and Pool F are eliminated from the tournament, while the remaining 12 teams advance to the semifinals for final classification.

The top two teams in each second-round pool advance to the gold-medal bracket, while the third-and fourth-place teams will battle for places five through eight. The playoff round for 9-12 will include the fifth- and sixth-place teams from the second round.

A record-breaking number of nations (101) participated in the year-long qualifying process before 22 countries joined hosts Japan and defending champions Russia in the final round. The host nation and the first 11 teams in the world ranking were automatically placed according to the serpentine system with the following 12 teams drawn into pools.

The U.S. qualified for the 2010 FIVB Women’s World Championship by winning the NORCECA third-round qualification tournament held in Orlando July 6-8, 2009. The Americans topped Costa Rica, Netherlands Antilles and Barbados in the four-team round-robin event.

In the previous FIVB World Championship, the U.S. finished in ninth place out of the 24-team field. Russia won the gold medal, while Brazil captured the silver. Serbia and Montenegro earned the bronze medal.

For additional information on the 2010 FIVB World Championship, click here.

2010 FIVB World Championship Pools
Pool A: Japan (7), Serbia (8), Poland (9), Peru (16), Algeria (19), Costa Rica (30)
Pool B: Brazil (1), Italy (5), Netherlands (10), Kenya (15), Puerto Rico (18), Czech Republic (36)
Pool C: United States (2), Cuba (5), Germany (11), Kazakhstan (13), Thailand (17), Croatia (39)
Pool D: China (3), Russia (4), Korea (12), Dominican Republic (14), Turkey (20), Canada (23)
Note: FIVB World Ranking in brackets

FIVB World Championship Pool C Schedule at Matsumoto (Times TBA)
Oct. 29: USA vs. Thailand
Oct. 29: Croatia vs. Cuba
Oct. 29: Germany vs. Kazakhstan
Oct. 30: Thailand vs. Kazakhstan
Oct. 30: Cuba vs. Germany
Oct. 30: USA vs. Croatia
Oct. 31: Croatia vs. Thailand
Oct. 31: Germany vs. USA
Oct. 31: Kazakhstan vs. Cuba
Nov. 2: Thailand vs. Cuba
Nov. 2: USA vs. Kazakhstan
Nov. 2: Croatia vs. Germany
Nov. 3: Germany vs. Thailand
Nov. 3: Kazakhstan vs. Croatia
Nov. 3: Cuba vs. USA