U.S. Women's National A2 Program Sets Charitable Scrimmage

May 17, 2009, 6:30 p.m. (ET)

Bill Kauffman
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: 719-228-6800
E-Mail: bill.kauffman@usav.org

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (May 17, 2009) – The U.S. Women’s National A2 Team program, composed of 24 elite athletes with remaining collegiate eligibility, will conduct an intrasquad scrimmage on Thursday, May 21, at 6 p.m. in the University of Minnesota Sports Pavilion.

The scrimmage, hosted locally by Minnesota One Volleyball Club and USA Volleyball, is open to the public costs $5 per person with proceeds going to benefit local Minnesota gymnast Meghan Bergman, daughter of Minnesota One and Lakeville North High School volleyball coach Doug Bergman. Meghan sustained severe injuries Jan. 17 while involved in a gymnastics meet in Arizona. Those injuries have resulted in nine surgeries to repair two broken legs and arterial damage, continued rehabilitation and other ongoing medical bills.

For more information regarding Meghan Bergman’s story, visit her Caring Bridge Web site at http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/meghanbergman.

During its week of training in Minneapolis, the 24 A2 players will be divided into two 12-player rosters for competition in the USA Adult Open Volleyball Championships. The 2009 A2 program includes four setters, 10 outside/opposite hitters, six middles and four liberos. The 24 players come from 19 different collegiate programs.

Middle blockers selected for the A2 National program are Johannah Bangert (University of Illinois, Washington, Mo.), Ashley Benson (University of Indiana, Bloomington, Ind.), Brittnee Cooper (LSU, Houston, Texas), Neticia Enesi (University of Oregon, The Dalles, Ore.), Lindsay Fletemier (University of Dayton, Garden City, Mich.) and Naomi Washington (Long Beach State University, New Orleans, La.).

Setters selected for the A2 squad are Carli Lloyd (University of California-Berkeley, Bonsall, Calif.), Kaylee Manns (Iowa State University, Topeka, Kan.), Sarah Rumely (University of Kentucky, New Palestine, Ind.) and Paige Weber (University of Arizona, Indianapolis, Ind.).

Liberos/Defensive specialists chosen for the A2 program are Haley Carroll (University of San Francisco, Gilroy, Calif.), Ashley Edinger (University of Illinois, Michigan City, Ind.), Laura Gonzalez (University of Albany, Carolina, Puerto Rico) and Christine Tan (University of Minnesota, Safety Harbor, Fla.).

Outside hitters and opposites named to the A2 team are Sarah Ammerman (Texas A&M, Parker, Colo.), Michelle Bartsch (University of Illinois, Maryville, Ill.), Ashlie Christenson (Baylor University, Cleburne, Texas), Laura DeBruler (University of Illinois, Downers Grove, Ill.), Whitney Dosty (University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.), Ellen Herman (Ohio University, Toledo, Ohio), Kristy Jaeckel (University of Florida, Littleton, Colo.), Ashleigh McCord (Rice University, Wylie, Texas), Tarah Murrey (University of California-Berkeley, El Cerrito, Calif.) and Brooks Webster (University of Alabama, Baltimore, Md.).

For additional information on the roster with player sketches, visit http://usavolleyball.org/news/article/10852.

2009 USA Women’s National A2 Team Roster
Name (Position, College, 2009 College Eligibility, Hometown)
Sarah Ammerman (Outside Hitter, Texas A&M, Sr., Parker, Colo.)
Johannah Bangert (Middle Blocker, Illinois, Jr., Washington, Mo.)
Michelle Bartsch (Outside Hitter, Illinois, So., Maryville, Ill.)
Ashley Benson (Middle Blocker, Indiana, Jr., Bloomington, Ind.)
Haley Carroll (Libero, San Francisco, Sr., Gilroy, Calif.)
Ashlie Christenson (Outside Hitter, Baylor, Jr., Cleburne, Texas)
Brittnee Cooper (Middle Blocker, LSU, Sr., Houston, Texas)
Laura DeBruler (Outside Hitter, Illinois, Jr., Downers Grove, Ill.)
Whitney Dosty (Outside Hitter, Arizona, Jr., Tucson, Ariz.)
Ashley Edinger (Libero, Illinois, Sr., Michigan City, Ind.)
Neticia Enesi (Middle Blocker, Oregon, Sr., The Dalles, Ore.)
Lindsay Fletemier (Middle Blocker, Dayton, Jr., Garden City, Mich.)
Laurie Gonzalez (Libero, Albany, So., Carolina, Puerto Rico)
Ellen Herman (Outside Hitter, Ohio, Sr., Toledo, Ohio)
Kristy Jaeckel (Outside Hitter, Florida, So., Littleton, Colo.)
Carli Lloyd (Setter, California, Jr., Bonsall, Calif.)
Kaylee Manns (Setter, Iowa State, Sr., Topeka, Kan.)
Ashleigh McCord (Outside Hitter, Rice, So., Wylie, Texas)
Tarah Murrey (Outside Hitter, California, So., El Cerrito, Calif.)
Sarah Rumely (Setter, Kentucky, Sr., New Palestine, Ind.)
Christine Tan (Libero, Minnesota, Sr., Safety Harbor, Fla.)
Naomi Washington (Middle Blocker, Long Beach State, Sr., New Orleans, La.)
Paige Weber (Setter, Arizona, Jr., Indianapolis, Ind.)
Brooks Webster (Outside Hitter, Alabama, Sr., Baltimore, Md.)

U.S. Women's National A2 Team Coaching Staff
Head Coaches: Suzie Fritz (Kansas State) and Jason Watson (Arizona State)
Assistant Coaches: Scott Swanson (Minnesota) and Aven Lee (Pacific)