USAV Selects National Beach Training Teams

June 18, 2009, 10:43 a.m. (ET)

B.J. Hoeptner Evans
Manager, Media Relations and Publications
Phone: (719) 228-6800

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 17, 2009) – USA Volleyball has announced its national beach volleyball training teams for the 2009 FIVB Youth (Under-19) and Junior (Under-21) World Championships and the A2 (Under-26) Training Team for the SWATCH FIVB World Tour stop in Aland, Finland.

The players on the training teams were chosen from a pool of 177 athletes, each of whom tried out at one of five different events. Three were held in Southern California, one in Florida and one in Michigan.

The beach athletes will start training this week in Southern California with Eduardo “Anjinho” Bacil, USA Volleyball’s head beach volleyball coach who will be assisted by Jon Aharoni, USAV’s coordinator of beach coaching and development. By mid-July teams will be narrowed down to four athletes per gender per age to travel.

The SWATCH FIVB Youth (U-19) World Championships will be held Aug. 19-23 in Alanya, Turkey. Dates and site for the Junior (U-21) World Championships have not yet been announced. The SWATCH FIVB World Tour stop in Aland, Finland will be Aug. 17-22.

“It is so exciting to see our beach volleyball pipeline come together,” said Ali Wood Lamberson, USAV’s Director of Beach Programs. “The athletes we have selected represent the U.S. beach volleyball stars of tomorrow.”

There are some familiar names on the teams.

The A2 (U-26) Men’s Training Team includes Mark Van Zwieten (Pompano Beach, Fla.), who won the bronze medal with partner Joey Dykstra (Hermosa Beach, Calif.) at the 2008 World University Championship for beach volleyball. Van Zwieten and Dykstra also won the silver medal at the FIVB Youth World Championship in 2005. 

Also on the U-26 roster, Duncan Budinger (Encinitas, Calif.) who finished fifth at the 2008 World University Championships with partner Clint Coe (Long Beach, Calif.).

The Women’s Junior Training Team includes Caitlin Ledoux (Phelan, Calif.) and Jocelyn Neely (La Habra, CA), who both competed at the 2008 FIVB Youth World Championship.

Tony Ciarelli (Huntington Beach, Calif.) and Jeff Carlson (Newport Beach, Calif.) are both on the Men’s Junior Training Team. The pair won the silver medal at the 2008 FIVB Youth World Championships. Ciarelli is set for a busy summer as he is also a member of the indoor U.S. Men’s Junior National Team that will compete at the FIVB indoor world championship.

Also on the U-21 roster, Will Montgomery (Santa Barbara, Calif.) who competed at the 2008 Youth World Championships with Maddison McKibbin (Honolulu, Hawai’i), and 2007 Youth World Championships with Devon “Hawk” Hatcher (Hermosa Beach, Calif.), and the 2007 Junior World Championships with Andy McGuire (Manhattan Beach, Calif.). Chase Ross (Carlsbad, Calif.) who competed at the 2009 Junior World Championships with Christopher “Grant” Hilling (Newport Beach, Calif.)

Jane Croson (Lakewood, Calif.) and Summer Ross (Carlsbad, Calif.) competed together at the 2008 Junior World Championship as the youngest team ever to compete at the Junior Worlds, but are on the 2009 Youth Training Team. Ross also won the gold medal with partner Tara Roenicke (Alta Loma, Calif.) at the Australian Youth Olympic Festival in January of 2009.

U.S. Youth (U-19) Beach National Training Team

Dillon Auxier (Fountain Valley, Calif.)
Eric Barber (Santa Monica, Calif.)
Hunter Hovland (El Segundo , Calif.)
Jordan Dyer (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Kyle Stevenson (Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.)
Noah Davisson (Placentia, Calif.)
Parker Kalmbach (Coto De Caza, Calif.)
Tien Le (Carlsbad, Calif.)
Jace Olsen (Manhattan Beach, Calif.)

Alie LaPierre (La Verne, Calif.)
Betsi Metter (Phoenix, Ariz.)
Dalas Dodd (Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Eve Ettinger (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Jane Croson (Lakewood, Calif.)
Mary Vaccaro (Orinda, Calif.)
Natalie Hagglund (Encinitas, Calif.)
Rebecca Strehlow (Long Beach, Calif.)
Sammie Brown (Santa Barbara, Calif.)
Summer Ross (Carlsbad, Calif.)

U.S. Junior (U-21) Beach National Training Team

Chase Ross (Carlsbad, Calif.)
Cody Watten (Long Beach, Calif.)
Colten Echave (Ladera Ranch, Calif.)
Dane Worley (Tustin, Calif.)
Jeff Carlson (Newport Beach, Calif.)
Steven VanderWerp (Grand Haven, Mich.)
Tony Ciarelli (Huntington Beach, Calif.)
Will Montgomery (Santa Barbara, Calif.)

Ashley Lee (La Habra Heights, Calif.)
Caitlin Ledoux (Phelan, Calif.)
Chelsea Rashoff (Huntington Beach, Calif.)
Geena Urango (Los Alamitos, Calif.)
Mbebui Chafeh (Fontana, Calif.)
Jazmin Machado (Encinitas, Calif.)
Jocelyn Neely (La Habra, Calif.)
Kari Pestolesi (Huntington Beach, Calif.)
Camille Smith (Norco, Calif.)

U.S. A2 (U-26) Beach National Training Team

Bill Chenowith (Orlando, Fla.)
Dane Jensen (Redondo Beach, Calif.)
Duncan Budinger (Encinitas, Calif.)
Jesse Rambis (Playa Vista, Calif.)
Kevin McColloch (Solana Beach, Calif.)
Mark VanZwieten (Pompano Beach, Fla.)
Stafford Slick (St. Paul, Minn.)
Theo Brunner (Ridgefield, Conn.)
Matt Ceran (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Kevin Lynch (Playa Vista, Calif.)

Briana Hinga (Irvine, Calif.)
Brooke Sweat (Estero, Fla.)
Capri Hillgendorf (West Palm Beach, Fla.)
Cayley Thurlby (Lisle, Ill.)
Christal Morrison (Costa Mesa, Calif.)
Emily Day (Torrance, Calif.)
Katie Carter (Venice Beach, Calif.)
Tealle Hunkus (Redondo Beach, Calif.)
Julie Knytch (Hermosa Beach, Calif.)
Emily Stockman (Colorado Springs, Colo.)

Head Coach: Eduardo “Anjinho” Bacil                 
Director, Beach Programs: Ali Wood Lambersoni                               
Coach Coordinator: Jon Aharoni                                  
Substitute Coach: Brian Corso       
Administrative Assistant: Stephen Caselli